From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Kinya

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at Kinya, a quick-service restaurant concept based in New Jersey, are controlled at the headquarters level. The most recent Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) from 2023 does not list any mandated or recommended technology systems. With a total of 4 company-owned units and no franchised locations reported, the addressable market for a vendor is currently limited to the corporate entity.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
4
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
2%
of gross sales
Ad fund
—
national + local
Initial fee
$20K
per unit
Investment range
$389K–$1.56M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

2%+of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 2% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 2%. Total 2% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

similar to the Proprietary Marks. You are not permitted to promote your Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, Foursquare,

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

ut the Restaurant or the System, other than on a website established or authorized by us (“social media” includes personal blogs, common social networks like Facebook, Foursquare, Instagram and MySpac

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

ebsite established or authorized by us (“social media” includes personal blogs, common social networks like Facebook, Foursquare, Instagram and MySpace, professional networks like LinkedIn, live-blogg

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

permitted to promote your Restaurant or use any of the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking websites, such as Facebook, Foursquare, Instagram, LinkedIn or Twitter, without our p

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The computer system is designed to enable us to have immediate and independent access to the information monitored by the system, and there is no contractual limitation on our access or use of the information we obtain.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall, at your expense, submit to us, in the form prescribed by us, a report of Gross Sales and a profit and loss statement for each month (which may be unaudited) for you within ten (10) days after the end of each month during the term hereof.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently we or our Affiliate are the sole approved suppliers for our proprietary soup bases, food packaging and paper products and uniforms, and we reserve the right to earn a profit from the sale of these items to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to adopt new technology at any time, which may result in additional fees to you that are not currently known.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the fiscal year ending December 31, 2022, our Affiliate earned $0.00 in revenue from the sale of these items to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You understand and acknowledge that we may periodically receive payments from approved suppliers, such as in the form of rebates, based on such approved suppliers’ sales of products and services to our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

80

Item 8

approximately 80% of your total purchases in the continuing operation of the Restaurant.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay our then-current evaluation fee for each product or supplier you request to have approved, and you must reimburse our reasonable costs related to our testing and inspection.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase, lease or use any products that we have not previously approved, or purchase or lease from a supplier we have not previously approved, you must submit a written request for approval or you must request the supplier to do so.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee hereby grants to Franchisor the power and right to do the following: 2.3.1 Direct the Telephone Companies to transfer all Franchisee’s Interest in and to the Telephone Numbers and Listings to Franchisor;

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You shall participate in all customer surveys and satisfaction audits, which may require that you provide discounted or complimentary products, provided that such discounted or complimentary sales shall not be included in the Gross Sales of the Restaurant.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

As we reasonably determine necessary, visits to and evaluations of the Restaurant and the products and services provided to make sure that our high standards of quality, appearance and service of the System are maintained.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may from time to time revise the contents of the Manuals and the contents of any other manuals and materials created or approved for use in the operation of the Franchised Business.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No site may be used for the location of the Restaurant unless it is first accepted in writing by us.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not maintain your own website; otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the internet or any other mode of electronic commerce in connection with your Restaurant; establish a link to any website we establish at or from any other website or page; or at any time establish any other website, electronic…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you shall be required to spend Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) on a grand opening marketing campaign to promote the opening of the Restaurant.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

you must spend at least $1,000 each month on local marketing for your Restaurant.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

ITEM 8 RESTRICTIONS ON SOURCES OF PRODUCTS AND SERVICES You must purchase or lease and install all fixtures, furnishings, equipment (including point of sales system), uniforms, décor items, signs and related items we require, all of which must conform to the standards and specifications stated in our Manual or…

Payments

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

7.5.10 To sell or otherwise issue gift cards or certificates (together “Gift Cards”) that have been prepared utilizing the standard form of Gift Card provided or designated by us, and only in the manner specified by us in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

While your Restaurant is open, you must have at least one certified manager on-site.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease and install all fixtures, furnishings, equipment (including point of sales system), uniforms, décor items, signs and related items we require, all of which must conform to the standards and specifications stated in our Manual or otherwise in writing, unless you have first obtained our…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase or lease and use certain point of sale systems, computer hardware and software that meet our specifications and that are capable of electronically interfacing with our computer system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The computer system is designed to enable us to have immediate and independent access to the information monitored by the system, and there is no contractual limitation on our access or use of the information we obtain.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We do not anticipate charging a fee for refresher training, but you will pay for all of the expenses incurred by your trainees, including travel, lodging, meals and wages.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Kinya

Kinya is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New Jersey. According to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of 4 total units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised locations was not disclosed. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is confined to these 4 corporate locations, as no franchisee operators were mapped in our corpus. The brand charges a 2.0% royalty fee, though average unit volume (AUV) and year-over-year unit growth percentages are not available in the FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

The buying center at Kinya is concentrated at the headquarters level. The FDD’s Item 1 lists Guiyang (Tony) Wang as the Managing Member and Jihui Lin as the Chief Financial Officer. These executives represent the likely decision-makers for any software evaluation or purchase. Additional leadership includes Xiao Ting Zhang (Director of Sales), Liyu Lin (Director of Marketing), and Zhi Zheng (Training Manager for Front of House). Given the small corporate footprint, a vendor’s sales process will involve direct engagement with this HQ team rather than navigating a network of multi-unit operators.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems. No specific point-of-sale vendor, online ordering platform, or back-of-house management tool is named in the available data. This absence of a tech mandate means the current stack is either undefined in the franchise agreement or was simply not extracted. A vendor approaching Kinya should be prepared to conduct discovery on existing systems from scratch, as there is no public signal indicating an incumbent provider.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Details on Kinya’s procurement model are not available. The FDD extract provides no Item 8 signal to clarify whether the franchisor designates specific suppliers, maintains an approved vendor list, or allows operators to purchase from any source. Similarly, contract timing is opaque. The initial franchise term length and Item 17 renewal conditions were not captured, making it impossible to estimate when contract windows might open. Vendors will need to establish timing through direct outreach.

How to read the Kinya FDD

The 2023 FDD is the primary source for understanding the legal and operational constraints on this franchise system. When reviewing the document, pay close attention to Item 11 for any future updates on mandated technology, and Item 8 for supplier restrictions. The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full filing. For a ranked target list of franchise systems based on tech-stack fit and procurement signals, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Kinya, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Guiyang (Tony) Wang (Managing Member) and Jihui Lin (Chief Financial Officer) as key executives, indicating financial and operational leadership likely control purchasing decisions.
The 2023 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended point-of-sale or operational technology systems for this franchise system.
Kinya operates 4 total units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised locations was not disclosed in the 2023 FDD.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extracts. The document does not specify whether suppliers are designated, approved, or open.
Contract renewal windows cannot be determined, as the initial franchise term length and Item 17 renewal conditions were not captured from the 2023 FDD.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the full document for procurement and technology details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Kinya2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Kinya files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Kinya

single_brand_holdco of Kinya.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.