es. (see note 1) Advertising fee N/A N/A Advertising is done on local level. Cloud Based $52 per month Monthly This is optional for you. It is a cloud Software for two users based Jobber Business Mana
From the filings
Groutsmith Franchising
Home servicesSoftware purchasing at Groutsmith Franchising is controlled by a concentrated leadership team at its Florida headquarters, including President Jonathan Smith. The system mandates Jobber for business management across its 48 franchised locations, representing a small but defined addressable market for vendors offering complementary or replacement operational tools.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 9 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
We provide you with cloud based access to Business Management Software with additional cost to you, and you are required to use it, as directed by us.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
These are our proprietary Groutsmith cleaning and sealing products, and they must be purchased from us or our affiliate.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
We may periodically make reasonable modifications to our approved list.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
No portion of our revenues in 2024 came as a result of purchases of goods or services by franchisees.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
Our affiliate, Smitty’s Tile and Grout Solutions, derived $182,142.84 in revenues in 2024 from the sale of products and supplies to our franchisees, which constituted 72% of its total 2024 revenues of $254,555.14.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
5Item 8
We estimate that the purchase of products will represent approximately 5% to 15% of your overall purchases in establishing and operating your business.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you propose to purchase or lease any goods or services not previously approved by us, you must submit a written request to us for approval before your use of the item.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
Upon expiration or termination, you shall give us a list of all domain names, websites, email addresses, telephone numbers, facsimile numbers, and all extensions utilized by the business and within 30 days of receipt of this list, we shall notify you of our election to either have said domain names, websites, email…
Franchise management
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesItem 11
We have the right to add to and otherwise modify the confidential operations manual to reflect changes in products, services, specifications, standards and operating procedures, including sales and marketing techniques relating to the franchise business.
Marketing
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
You must spend a minimum sum of $2,000 per month on local advertising, enhancing the reputation of your services on a local level during the first six months of the operation of the Franchise Business.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
You must spend a minimum sum of $2,000 per month on local advertising, enhancing the reputation of your services on a local level during the first six months of the operation of the Franchise Business.
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 11
Upon the formation of a local or regional cooperative advertising association, you shall be deemed to be a member of such association as covers the area in which your franchise is located and shall be bound by any decisions made by such association upon a majority rule by members voting.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
These are our proprietary Groutsmith cleaning and sealing products, and they must be purchased from us or our affiliate.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesFranchise agreement
These products must be purchased from us or from sources designated by us from time to time.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
You are hereby requested and authorized to honor and to charge to the account described, checks or electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) drawn on the account which are payable to the above named payee.
People
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall wear, at all times, when calling on or servicing a customer, the uniform we designate.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We may require you to attend additional training if we determine you need it.
The filing answers no to 9 questions
- Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
- Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
- Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
- Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement
- Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11
- Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 8
- Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement
Who buys here
The buyer at this brand
The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.
The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.
- 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
- Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
- Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
The vendor opportunity at Groutsmith
Groutsmith Franchising presents a compact, home-services target with 48 franchised locations, down from a prior count based on a -2.04% year-over-year unit change. The entire system is tightly held, with a single operator mapped in Florida and no multi-unit operators on file. For a software vendor, the opportunity is not in scale but in a centralized sale: winning one deal at HQ could capture the whole system. The addressable market is exactly those 48 franchised units, as the franchisor maintains a single company-owned location. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, and the royalty rate is not publicly specified, so ROI modeling for franchisees will require direct discovery.
Who controls software purchasing
Purchasing authority sits with a small, family-based leadership group at the Florida headquarters. The FDD lists Jonathan Smith as President, Shareholder, and Director; Matthew Smith as Treasurer and Director; Maryanne Smith as Secretary, Shareholder, and Director; and Jon Smith and Samantha Smith as Directors. In a system of this size and ownership structure, the President and Treasurer are the likely decision-makers for any system-wide technology mandate or recommendation. Vendors should prepare to engage directly with Jonathan Smith or Matthew Smith, as there is no separate CIO or technology officer named in the filing.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2025 FDD explicitly mandates business management software and names Jobber as the system in use. This is the only technology vendor identified in the available data. Jobber’s presence as a mandated solution means the system already has a core operational platform covering scheduling, invoicing, and customer management. For competing or adjacent tools—such as specialized CRM, field-service analytics, or financial integrations—the value proposition must center on either displacing Jobber with a superior alternative or integrating seamlessly with it. No other mandated POS, payroll, or marketing technology is disclosed.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD’s Item 8 provided no extract, leaving the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—unstated. This lack of signal means vendors must clarify the process during initial conversations. The franchise agreement carries a 15-year initial term. Renewal is possible if the franchisee is in good standing, pays a $500 renewal fee, and signs the then-current agreement, which may contain materially different terms. This clause creates a potential trigger for technology re-evaluation at renewal, though the recent negative unit growth suggests few near-term expansion-driven openings. The royalty rate on renewal will not exceed the rate charged to similarly situated renewing franchisees, but the base rate itself is not disclosed.
How to read the Groutsmith FDD
The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It contains the legal and operational detail you need to build a precise pitch, including the complete Item 11 technology obligations, Item 8 procurement rules, and the full list of executives and their roles. Review it to confirm the scope of the Jobber mandate, any approved vendor lists, and the exact renewal conditions before scheduling a discovery call. For a ranked target list that benchmarks Groutsmith against other home-services franchises by tech-mandate strength and decision-maker accessibility, FranCloud can help.
Questions vendors ask
Groutsmith Franchising, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Groutsmith Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| FL | 1 |
|---|
Ownership
The portfolio behind Groutsmith Franchising
unknown of j arthur smith.
Related Home services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.