From the filings

+10% units YoYMandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

GreenTree

Lodging

Software purchasing at GreenTree is controlled at the headquarters level, where Director of IT Megan Huang is the key technology decision-maker. The brand mandates a Central Reservation System (CRS), Global Distribution System (GDS), and Property Management System (PMS) across its 17-unit portfolio. With 11 franchised locations and 7 company-owned properties, the addressable market for a vendor is small but concentrated under a single buying center.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
17
11 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+10%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
4%
of gross sales
Ad fund
4%
national + local
Initial fee
$20K
per unit
Investment range
$301K–$1.82M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 4%, Ad fund 4%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4%Ad fund 4%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to access Franchisee’s computer system independently to obtain sales information, occupancy information, and other data and information relating to the Hotel.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

on or before the tenth (10th) day of each month (or such later date that Franchisor reasonably specifies from time to time), Franchisee agrees to prepare and send Franchisor a statement for the previous month

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

required and authorized products and services that the Hotel must offer to customers and quality standards for those products and services; and designated and approved suppliers of these products and services, which may include or be limited to us and/or our affiliates that we may designate, in which case you must…

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right from time to time to develop, operate, and change the Hotel System and System Standards in any manner not specifically prohibited by this Agreement.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During our 2022 fiscal year, we did not derive any revenue from selling or leasing products or services directly to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates may receive rebates, commissions, payments, benefits, and other material consideration from suppliers on account of their actual or prospective dealings with you and other franchisees and owners of GreenTree Inn Hotels

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

Collectively, the purchases and leases you must make from us, from designated or approved suppliers, or according to our System Standards represent approximately 75% of your total purchases and leases to establish, and approximately 75% of your total purchases and leases to operate, the Hotel.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

FF&E, supplies, or other goods and services from a source that we have not previously approved as meeting our System Standards (for those items that require supplier approval), you must send us a written request with any information and samples we consider necessary to determine whether the item and source meet our…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

4.3.12 policies and procedures regarding the collection, storage, use, processing, and transfer of personal data (which includes information that identifies or is capable of identifying an individual), payment card data, or other financial data and information, including any data privacy or data security compliance…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Hotel must participate in any quality assurance, compliance, and guest satisfaction programs that Franchisor may periodically develop and modify (collectively, the “Quality Assurance Program”).

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct periodic inspections of the Hotel and otherwise maintain the Quality Assurance Program for the GreenTree Inn Hotel franchise network.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may modify the Manual periodically to reflect changes in System Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You must operate the Hotel only from a specific site that we first approve.

Marketing

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

4.3.14 participation in and compliance with the terms of all of Franchisor’s mandatory marketing, reservation service, rate and room inventory management, advertising, cooperative advertising, guest frequency, social responsibility, discount or promotional, customer award, customer loyalty, Internet, computer…

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You also must acquire and use our approved Property Management System (“PMS”) software, toll-free reservations line, other technology-related components and related support services, insurance, internet connection services, quality assurance and inspection services, and all Hotel amenities, only from suppliers that…

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must make all payments for Royalty Fees, Reservation Booking Fees, Contributions, and other amounts due to Franchisor and its Affiliates under this Agreement or otherwise in connection with the Hotel by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”) or by other method Franchisor specifies from time to time.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee or the Management Company (as applicable) must hire and properly train all Core Management and have a Core Management team in place at the Hotel at all times.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use the computer hardware, software, cabling, and related equipment (the “Computing Environment”) that we periodically designate to operate the Hotel.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to access Franchisee’s computer system independently to obtain sales information, occupancy information, and other data and information relating to the Hotel.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge additional fees for this training, and you must pay all travel and living expenses.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at GreenTree

GreenTree operates a compact lodging portfolio of 17 total units, with 11 franchised and 7 company-owned locations. The brand is present in just three states: Illinois, California, and Michigan. Year-over-year unit growth stands at 10.0%, indicating modest expansion. For a software vendor, the total addressable market is limited to these 17 properties, but the concentration of decision-making at headquarters simplifies the sales process. There is no parent company on file, suggesting GreenTree is independently owned and operated, which may allow for more direct and faster procurement cycles compared to larger, multi-brand conglomerates.

The franchise system carries a 4.0% royalty fee and a 10-year initial term. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The operator footprint is small and fragmented: three mapped operators control approximately three located units, with no multi-unit operators. The unit-band split shows all operators fall into the 1-unit category, with none managing 2 or more locations. This structure reinforces that technology decisions are not made by franchisees but are centralized.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2023 FDD identifies the key executives at GreenTree. Alex Xu serves as President, Treasurer, and Secretary, while Ashley Xu holds the title of Managing Director. The most relevant contact for a software vendor is Megan Huang, the Director of IT. Finance Manager Anna Chan is also listed and may be involved in budget approvals. Given the small executive team, a pitch should be directed to Megan Huang for technical evaluation, with the understanding that final sign-off likely involves Alex Xu or Ashley Xu. There are no multi-unit franchisees to influence or bypass; the path to a sale runs entirely through this headquarters group.

Mandated and current tech stack

GreenTree mandates a specific set of technology systems for its properties. The required stack includes a Central Reservation System (CRS), a Global Distribution System (GDS), a Property Management System (PMS), and the GreenTree Giveback Rewards Membership platform. The FDD does not name the specific vendors providing these systems. For a vendor selling complementary or replacement software—such as revenue management, guest engagement, or operational tools—the existing mandates represent both a competitive moat and an integration requirement. Any new solution must demonstrate compatibility with the existing CRS, GDS, and PMS, or offer a compelling reason to switch.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an extract for Item 8, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers. This means the procurement model is not publicly defined; GreenTree may operate with an open, approved-supplier, or designated-supplier framework. Vendors should clarify this early in the conversation. Similarly, Item 17 on renewal, transfer, and termination is not extracted, so there are no public signals on when existing technology contracts might expire or when franchise agreements come up for renewal. The 10-year initial term suggests long-term commitments are standard, but without renewal data, timing a pitch requires direct discovery.

How to read the GreenTree FDD

The full 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. Review Item 1 for the complete executive team and corporate structure. Item 11 provides the full list of mandated technology systems. Pay close attention to any amendments or state-specific addenda that may reveal additional procurement requirements. The embedded viewer allows you to search for keywords like "software," "PMS," or "IT" to quickly locate the sections most relevant to your product. For a ranked target list of franchise brands aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

GreenTree, answered from the filing

The Director of IT, Megan Huang, is the named technology executive in the FDD. President Alex Xu and Managing Director Ashley Xu likely hold final budget authority for enterprise-level software decisions.
GreenTree mandates a Central Reservation System (CRS), a Global Distribution System (GDS), a Property Management System (PMS), and the GreenTree Giveback Rewards Membership. Specific vendor names for these systems are not disclosed in the FDD.
There are 17 total units in the US, comprising 11 franchised locations and 7 company-owned properties. The brand operates in Illinois, California, and Michigan.
The procurement model is not detailed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 does not provide an extract regarding designated or approved suppliers, so the process for vendor selection is not publicly defined.
Contract timing signals are not available. The FDD does not include an Item 17 extract on renewal, and no recent activity is noted. The initial franchise term is 10 years, which may influence long-term technology commitments.
The 2023 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze the brand's technology mandates and corporate structure directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

GreenTree2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment GreenTree files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

3 operators run 3 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit3

Top states by locations

IL1
CA1
MI1

Ownership

The portfolio behind GreenTree

unknown of greentree inns hotel management group.

Related Lodging brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.