From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Focus Point Franchising

Education

Software purchasing decisions at Focus Point Franchising flow through its headquarters, where Thomas Hardnett is listed as the Agent for Service of Process in the 2024 FDD. The system mandates an Electronic Health Records platform and Zoobooks, giving vendors a clear view of the incumbent tech stack. With only 3 company-owned units and no franchised locations mapped, the immediate addressable market is small, but the mandated tech creates a captive replacement opportunity.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$84K–$156K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall use such customer data management, sales data management, administrative, bookkeeping, accounting, and inventory control procedures and systems as Focus Point Franchising may specify in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

You must give us independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in these systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall provide such periodic financial reports as Focus Point Franchising may require in the Manual or otherwise in writing, including: (i) a monthly profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the Business within 30 days after the end of each calendar month; (ii) an annual financial statement…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Focus Point Franchising may change any such requirement or change the status of any vendor.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We currently do not derive revenue from the required purchases and leases by franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Focus Point Franchising may receive rebates, payments or other consideration from vendors in connection with purchases by franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that the required purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business are 50% to 80% of your total purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We permit you to contract with alternative suppliers who meet our criteria only if you request our approval in writing, and we grant approval.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must at all times comply with payment card industry data security standards (PCI-DSS).

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate at its own expense in programs required from time to time by Focus Point Franchising for obtaining customer evaluations, reviewing Franchisee’s compliance with the System, and/or managing customer complaints, which may include (but are not limited to) a customer feedback system, customer…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Focus Point Franchising may enter the premises of the Business from time to time during normal business hours and conduct an inspection.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Focus Point Franchising may supplement, revise, or modify the Manual, and Focus Point Franchising may change, add or delete System Standards at any time in its discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Your site is subject to our approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not conduct any marketing, advertising, or public relations activities (including in-store marketing materials, websites, online advertising, social media marketing or presence, and sponsorships) that have not been approved by Focus Point Franchising.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

After you open, you must spend at least 2% of gross sales each month on marketing your business.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall sell or otherwise issue gift cards, certificates, or other pre-paid systems, and participate in any customer loyalty programs, membership/subscription programs, or customer incentive programs, designated by Focus Point Franchising, in the manner specified by Focus Point Franchising in the Manual or…

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If a Market Cooperative for the geographic area encompassing the Location has been established at the time Franchisee commences operations hereunder, Franchisee shall immediately become a member of such Market Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase (or lease) the point-of-sale software and hardware, and related software and hardware, that we specify.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase (or lease) the point-of-sale software and hardware, and related software and hardware, that we specify.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall accept payment from customers in any form or manner designated by Focus Point Franchising (which may include, for example, cash, specific credit and/or debit cards, gift cards, electronic fund transfer systems, and mobile payment systems).

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay royalty fees and other amounts due to us by pre- authorized bank draft.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At its own expense, Franchisee shall sell or otherwise issue gift cards, certificates, or other pre-paid systems, and participate in any customer loyalty programs, membership/subscription programs, or customer incentive programs, designated by Focus Point Franchising, in the manner specified by Focus Point…

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cause its personnel to comply with any dress attire, uniform, personal appearance and hygiene standards set forth in the Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase (or lease) the point-of-sale software and hardware, and related software and hardware, that we specify.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must give us independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in these systems.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

Otherwise, we do not currently require additional training programs or refresher courses, but we have the right to do so.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Principal Executive shall use reasonable efforts to attend all in-person meetings and remote meetings (such as telephone conference calls) that Focus Point Franchising requires, including any national or regional brand conventions.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Focus Point Franchising

Focus Point Franchising operates 3 units, all company-owned, according to its 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document. No franchised locations are reported, and our corpus maps no operators. For a software vendor, this means the total addressable unit count is 3 today. The system is small, but every location falls under direct HQ control, which can shorten sales cycles when the right buyer is engaged. The franchisor collects a 6.0% royalty, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD, so vendors cannot size per-location revenue potential from public data alone.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2024 FDD lists Thomas Hardnett as the Agent for Service of Process. While that title is legal rather than operational, it is the only HQ executive on file, making him the starting point for any vendor outreach. No CIO, VP of IT, or procurement lead is named. In a system this small, technology decisions likely sit with the owner-operator or a general manager at the Texas headquarters. Vendors should expect a centralized buying process rather than a distributed, franchisee-driven model.

Mandated and current tech stack

Focus Point Franchising mandates two systems: an Electronic Health Records platform and Zoobooks. The FDD does not disclose the specific EHR vendor by name, only the category, so the incumbent could be any major or niche player. Zoobooks is named explicitly as a mandated system. No point-of-sale, scheduling, payroll, or marketing platforms appear in the disclosed tech stack. For vendors selling adjacent software—such as practice management, billing, or compliance tools—the narrow mandate leaves room to position complementary products that integrate with the existing EHR and Zoobooks environment.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD provides no Item 8 procurement extract, so the franchisor’s supplier model—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly known. On the renewal side, Item 17 allows franchisees to obtain up to two additional 5-year terms, provided they give advance notice, comply with all obligations, renovate to current standards, sign the then-current franchise agreement (including a personal guaranty), and execute a general release where law permits. Because no franchised units exist yet, these renewal windows are theoretical for now. Corporate purchasing cycles are not disclosed, but with only 3 units, vendors can reasonably expect ad-hoc evaluation and buying processes rather than rigid annual budget cycles.

How to read the Focus Point Franchising FDD

The 2024 FDD is the primary source for every data point above. It was filed with state franchise regulators and is available in the embedded viewer on this page. When reading, pay closest attention to Item 1 (the business entity and its principals), Item 11 (the franchisor’s obligations, where tech mandates often appear), and Item 17 (renewal and transfer terms that signal when franchisees might re-evaluate their stack). Because this system is small and tightly held, the FDD is the most complete public picture of how Focus Point Franchising buys and manages technology. For a ranked target list that stacks Focus Point against other education franchises by tech-mandate strength and buyer accessibility, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Focus Point Franchising, answered from the filing

The 2024 FDD names Thomas Hardnett as Agent for Service of Process, indicating he is the primary legal contact. Day-to-day technology buying authority is not disclosed, but vendors should route initial inquiries to the HQ office in Texas.
The FDD mandates an Electronic Health Records system and Zoobooks. No point-of-sale or other operational platforms are named, suggesting the current stack is narrow and may leave adjacent categories open.
The 2024 FDD discloses 3 total units, all company-owned. No franchised locations are reported, so the system is effectively a small corporate chain at this stage.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so it is unknown whether the franchisor uses designated suppliers, an approved-supplier program, or an open procurement model.
With an initial 10-year term and two optional 5-year renewals, franchisee-level contract windows are distant. Corporate-level purchasing cycles are not disclosed, but the small unit count suggests ad-hoc, HQ-driven timing.
The 2024 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Focus Point Franchising2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Focus Point Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Focus Point Franchising’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.