From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Fish & Chips

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Fish & Chips is controlled from the franchisor’s Texas headquarters, where CEO Andy Wenlock and COO Mathew Horvath oversee a small but growing system of 5 total units (3 company-owned, 2 franchised). The brand mandates specific technology—digital menu boards and transaction processing systems—creating a defined entry point for vendors. With a 10-year initial term and four optional 5-year renewals, the addressable market is compact but offers recurring replacement and compliance-driven sales cycles.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
2 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$1.51M–$2.42M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

5.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 5.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 5.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 0.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We may retrieve from your POS System and other technology any and all information we consider necessary, desirable, or appropriate, including customer, sales, sales mix, usage, and other operations data.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within sixty (60) days after the end of each fiscal year, Franchisee will deliver to Franchisor an annual profit and loss and source and use of funds statements and a balance sheet as of the end of such fiscal year.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, at its sole option, may unilaterally modify, replace, or otherwise change the System, including the Standards from time to time, whether set forth in the Manuals or otherwise.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Neither we nor our affiliates currently derive revenue or other material consideration (e.g. rebates, cash payments, discounts, promotional allowances, and/or other payments based on franchisees’ purchases) from required purchases or leases that you make from us or from our affiliates, but we and our affiliates…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that the cost of required purchases or leases you must make from approved suppliers or in accordance with our specifications will represent approximately 75% of your initial investment to establish and open the Restaurant and will represent approximately 90% to 95% of your ongoing expenses for the…

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will provide any other information requested by Franchisor to enable Franchisor to evaluate, using the applicable Standards, and then approve or reject such alternative supplier, Operating Assets, or Products.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will notify the telephone company and all telephone directory publishers of the expiration or termination of its right to use any telephone, telecopy, or other numbers and any telephone directory listings associated with any Mark, authorize the transfer of such numbers and directory listings to Franchisor…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee, its Affiliates, and their respective Principals will: (i) obtain, maintain and adhere to all applicable standards established by the PCI-DSS;

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will participate in all customer surveys, satisfaction audits and promotional programs as Franchisor may require from time to time, which may require Franchisee to provide discounted or complimentary Products.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

From time to time, we (or our affiliates or designees) may inspect and examine the Restaurant, its premises, and your books, records, accounts, and tax returns, and may evaluate the Restaurant’s products and services, to maintain the high standards of quality, appearance and service of the System, in person or…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, at its sole option, may unilaterally modify, replace, or otherwise change the System, including the Standards from time to time, whether set forth in the Manuals or otherwise.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must receive our written consent before developing the site pursuant to a Site Consent Letter.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You are prohibited from establishing or utilizing your own website, mobile apps appearing on smartphones or other electronic devices (including, for example, from Android Marketplace or the Apple Store), or social media webpage to promote your Restaurant, except with our prior written consent.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

you must spend, at a minimum, 1% of the Restaurant Revenue of your Restaurant for local advertising and promoting your Restaurant (“Local Marketing Expenditure”).

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

ITEM 8 RESTRICTIONS ON SOURCES OF PRODUCTS AND SERVICES Required Purchases and Approved Suppliers You must purchase, lease, license, sublicense, or otherwise obtain from suppliers that we approve (which may be us or our affiliate or affiliated or third-party distributors):

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase, lease, license, sublicense, or otherwise obtain from suppliers that we approve (which may be us or our affiliate or affiliated or third-party distributors): (1) fixtures, furniture, equipment, computer systems, décor, general contractor services, architect services, site analytics services, and…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase, lease, license, or otherwise use any point-of-sale system (“POS System”), operations, catering, online ordering, delivery, back office, accounting, customer service, credit card and payment processing, loyalty program processing and other systems, hardware, and software in the operation of your…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

These payments must be submitted to us electronically by electronic funds transfer.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At least one (1) qualified Restaurant Manager who has completed Approved Management Training must be present at the Restaurant during all hours of operation to ensure that the Restaurant is at all times under the direct supervision of a qualified Restaurant Manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will cause all employees, while working in the Restaurant, to wear uniforms as Franchisor may periodically designate, and to present a neat and clean appearance in accordance with the Standards.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will purchase, use and maintain the POS System that Franchisor requires or otherwise approves in writing for the operation of the Restaurant.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must provide us with independent access to your POS System at such times as we request.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may be required to pay Franchisor’s then-current training fee for any additional training designated by Franchisor or requested by Franchisee.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee and Franchisee’s management-level personnel (including Franchisee’s Designated Principal, Operations Leader, and Restaurant General Manager) must attend such meetings and conferences.

The filing answers no to 8 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Fish & Chips

Fish & Chips is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Texas with a total footprint of 5 units—3 company-owned and 2 franchised—as disclosed in its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. For software vendors, the addressable market is small but concentrated: every location operates under direct HQ control or a franchise agreement that mandates specific technology. The royalty rate is 5.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years, with four additional 5-year renewal terms available if conditions are met. Average unit volume is not reported in the FDD, so vendors will need to estimate total addressable spend based on unit count and the mandated tech categories.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits at the corporate level. The FDD’s Item 1 lists Andy Wenlock as Chief Executive Officer and Mathew Horvath as both Chief Operating Officer and Secretary. No dedicated technology or procurement executive is named, which means the COO is the most probable decision-maker for operational software—POS, transaction processing, kitchen display systems, and digital menu boards. Damien Brassel, Director of Culinary, may influence back-of-house and food-safety tech. Vendors should prepare concise, operations-focused pitches that speak to a lean leadership team managing both company stores and franchisee compliance.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates two technology categories: digital menu boards and transaction processing systems. No specific vendor names are attached to these mandates in the disclosure, which suggests the franchisor either uses an approved-supplier list not published in the FDD or retains the right to designate systems on a case-by-case basis. For a vendor selling POS, payment processing, or digital signage, this is a greenfield conversation: the mandate exists, but the incumbent is not locked in by name. The absence of a named POS vendor in particular is notable and worth probing in a discovery call.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no procurement extract, so the franchisor’s supply-chain model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open market—is not publicly documented. Vendors should treat this as an unknown and ask directly about the process for becoming an approved technology supplier. The renewal structure provides a predictable trigger for tech evaluation: franchisees must give written notice 12 to 18 months before their term expires and must “repair, upgrade, and modernize the Restaurant in compliance with our then-current standards.” That modernization clause is the most likely catalyst for software replacement or add-on sales, especially as the first cohort of franchisees approaches the end of their initial 10-year term.

How to read the Fish & Chips FDD

The full 2026 Fish & Chips Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated technology), Item 8 (procurement, though empty here), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Because the system is small and privately held—no parent company is on file—the FDD is the single best source of structured intelligence on how this franchisor buys and mandates technology. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Fish & Chips, answered from the filing

CEO Andy Wenlock and COO Mathew Horvath are the named executives in the FDD. For technology decisions, the COO is the most likely operational buyer, though no dedicated CIO or VP of IT is listed.
The 2026 FDD mandates digital menu boards and transaction processing systems. Specific vendor names are not disclosed, leaving room for approved-supplier pitches.
Five total units: three company-owned and two franchised. This is a micro-cap quick-service restaurant system based in Texas.
The FDD contains no Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier vs. open-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should inquire directly about approved-vendor processes.
Renewals occur in four additional 5-year terms, requiring 12–18 months’ written notice. With a 10-year initial term, the first renewal window for early franchisees could open roughly 8–9 years after signing, triggering modernization mandates that often include tech upgrades.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to read the full disclosure document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Fish & Chips2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Fish & Chips files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

4 operators run 4 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit4

Top states by locations

WI1
TX1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Fish & Chips

unknown of gordon ramsay holdings international.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.