From the filings

+8.696% units YoYNo mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Eight USA

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing control at Eight USA appears centralized at the franchisor level, given the small, predominantly franchised network of 26 units and a single named HQ executive, Go R. Kobayashi. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems, leaving the current tech stack undefined for vendors. The addressable market is limited to 26 total locations, with 25 franchised outlets representing the primary sales target.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
26
25 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+8.696%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$329K–$412K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

11 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 15 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The Franchisor may have independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in any electronic cash register or computer system in the future.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

The Franchisor may revoke its approval of a particular item or supplier in writing when it determines that an item or supplier no longer meets the standards or specifications set by the Franchisor.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

40

Item 8

The Franchisor estimates that the Franchisee’s required purchases and leases will be approximately 40-50% of the Franchisee’s overall purchases and leases in operating its restaurant.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

The Franchisor may, but is not obligated to, conduct inspections of the franchised restaurants and valuations of the products sold and services rendered as it deems appropriate or necessary to identify the restaurants conformity with the Premium Matcha Café Maiko system and potential management issues, to improve…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

(iii) The Franchisor may change or modify the manuals or menu including menu items and menu formats, product packaging, the required equipment, the 21 signage, the building and premises of the franchised restaurant, the presentation of the proprietary marks, the adoption of new administrative forms and means of…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

The location of the franchise business must be approved by the Franchisor in advance based on the designated Approved Location.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

However, the Franchisee is expected to spend no less than 2% of the total amount of its gross revenue derived from the items approved by the Franchisor each calendar quarter for local advertising, marketing, promotional, sales and public relations programs, as provided in Section 6.2 of the Franchise Agreement.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

except that matcha and hojicha powder must be purchased from a designated third-party vendor through the Franchisor.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

The equipment/machine must be purchased or leased from the approved suppliers or under the Franchisor’s specifications.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The Franchisor may have independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in any electronic cash register or computer system in the future.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

After an initial training, additional trainings will be conducted at the Franchisor’s headquarters without charge to the Franchisee as often as necessary to ensure the compliance of the standard set by the Franchisor to its satisfaction.

The filing answers no to 8 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Eight USA

Eight USA presents a compact but growing target for software vendors focused on the quick-service restaurant segment. The system comprises 26 total units—25 franchised and 1 company-owned—with a year-over-year unit growth rate of 8.696%. This expansion, while modest in absolute numbers, signals an active development pipeline that could create incremental software onboarding opportunities. The brand is headquartered in Hawaii and operates under an initial franchise term of 5 years with a 5.0% royalty rate. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. For a vendor, the primary addressable market is the 25 franchised locations, as the single corporate unit likely has a separate, direct purchasing path.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD identifies only one individual at the corporate level: Go R. Kobayashi, listed as the Agent for Service of Process. No other C-suite executives, IT leaders, or operations directors are named in the filing. This lean disclosure is typical for a small, independently owned franchisor. In practice, software purchasing authority almost certainly rests with this central office. Vendors should direct initial discovery calls to the HQ, aiming to identify the owner-operator or a general manager who doubles as the de facto technology buyer. There is no multi-unit operator footprint mapped in our corpus, meaning no influential franchisee groups exist to drive bottom-up adoption.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD contains no captured data on mandated or recommended technology systems. This means the document does not specify a required point-of-sale system, online ordering platform, loyalty program, or back-of-house management tool. For a vendor, this absence is a double-edged signal: it suggests either a greenfield environment with no existing standards or a franchisor that does not actively manage technology procurement. In either case, the lack of a mandated stack means the sales cycle will likely involve convincing both the franchisor and individual franchisees of your product's value, unless you can secure a top-down endorsement.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, provided no extract in our analysis. Without this data, the procurement model remains unknown. Franchisees may have broad autonomy to select their own software, or there may be unpublished supplier arrangements. The renewal terms offer a clear timing signal: franchise agreements run for 5 years and require a franchisee to provide written notice at least 90 days before expiration, provided they are not in default. These renewal windows, combined with the 8.7% growth rate, create natural inflection points for technology evaluation. Vendors should map unit opening dates and agreement anniversaries to time their outreach.

How to read the Eight USA FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is available below. This legal filing contains the granular detail—Item by Item—that software sales teams need to build an account plan. Review Item 11 for any franchisor obligations regarding technology that may not have been captured as a formal mandate. Scrutinize Item 19 for financial performance representations, though none are summarized here. The document is filed with state franchise regulators and serves as the single source of truth for the brand's operational and legal structure. For a ranked list of franchise targets matched to your software category, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Eight USA, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD lists only Go R. Kobayashi as Agent for Service of Process. With no other executives named, initial outreach should target this office to identify the operational or IT decision-maker.
The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems, POS, or operational software for franchisees.
Eight USA operates 26 total units, consisting of 25 franchised locations and 1 company-owned store, positioning it as a small, emerging quick-service restaurant chain.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract. The model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly specified in the filing.
With a 5-year initial term and renewal requiring 90 days' notice, contract windows likely align with these cycles. The recent 8.7% unit growth may also trigger new location onboarding needs.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Eight USA2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Eight USA files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

18 operators run 25 mapped locations. 5 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit13
2–9 units5

Top states by locations

CA9
NY2
VA2
NJ2
GA2

Ownership

The portfolio behind Eight USA

unknown of eight kabushiki gaisha japan.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.