From the filings

+300% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Driving Academy

Education

Software purchasing at Driving Academy is controlled from its New Jersey headquarters, where President Jonathan Marques and Director of Training Anthony Johnson are the named executives in the 2025 FDD. The franchise mandates a proprietary customer contact system and proprietary financial software, with only 4 franchised locations currently operating. This creates a small but concentrated addressable market for vendors who can align with the franchisor’s prescribed tech stack.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
6
4 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+300%
vs prior filing
AUV
$2.06M
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
10%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$224K–$557K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

11%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 11% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 10%, Ad fund 1%. Total 11% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 10%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

7 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Facebook
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

e designate and approve, within our website. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, L

Instagram
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

he term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp, Instagram, blogs and

LinkedIn
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

rove, within our website. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest,

Pinterest
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

in our website. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp, Ins

Twitter
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

e and approve, within our website. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, P

Yelp
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

ite. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp, Instagram, blo

YouTube
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

age, as we designate and approve, within our website. The term “Website” includes: anything on the Internet as well as other electronic sites (such as social networking sites like YouTube, Facebook, T

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to all information that you store in any computer, laptop, tablet, social media platform, mobile app platform or software related to the Business (Franchise Agreement Sections XII.H, XII.I, XIV.A and XX.A).

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Item 17

you fail to submit financial statements, tax returns,

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only Approved Supplier of the CRM software you are required to use in the operation of your Business.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may periodically change our System standards and specifications from time to time, as we deem appropriate or necessary in our sole discretion, and you will be solely responsible for costs associated with complying with any modifications to the System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the past fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, neither us nor our affiliates generated any revenue as a result of franchisees’ required purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our parent or affiliates may receive payments or other compensation from Approved Suppliers or any other suppliers on account of these suppliers’ dealings with us, you, or other Franchised Businesses in the System, such as rebates, commissions or other forms of compensation.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

5

Item 8

approximately 5% to 15% of your ongoing costs to operate the Franchised Business after the initial start-up phase

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay our then-current supplier or non-approved product evaluation fee when submitting your request.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We may, but are not obligated to, grant your request to: (i) offer any products or services in connection with your Franchised Business that are not Approved Products and Services; or (ii) purchase any item or service we require you to purchase from an Approved Supplier from an alternative supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee Shall Cancel Assumed Names and Transfer Phone Numbers

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Share with you relevant operating problems faced by other Driving Academy™ businesses disclosed by reports submitted to us or inspections made by us.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to add to, and otherwise modify, any manual, including the Operations Manual, to reflect changes in authorized equipment, products and services, as well as changes in specifications, standards and operating procedures of a Driving Academy™ Business.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You may not sign a lease for the site (or contract to purchase the premises, if applicable) in which you wish to operate your Business until you have obtained our written approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Unless we approve otherwise in writing, you may not establish a separate Website, and you will only have one web page, as we designate and approve, within our website.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

You must have a minimum amount of $3,000 before you open to spend on a grand opening marketing, which must be spent one month prior to opening.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend a minimum of $9,000 per calendar quarter on local advertising and promotion for your Business, in addition to the System Advertising Fee contribution you pay to us.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate, gift card, rewards, or loyalty program we establish.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only Approved Supplier of the CRM software you are required to use in the operation of your Business.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only Approved Supplier of the CRM software you are required to use in the operation of your Business.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Royalty fees shall be payable by direct deposit from franchisee’s account to us and all royalty fees are imposed by us only.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate, gift card, rewards, or loyalty program we establish.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Your Manager must devote all of his or her time and effort to the personal supervision of the Business, must be present at the Business whenever it is open for operation (within reason) and must use his or her best efforts in the operation of the Business.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to all information that you store in any computer, laptop, tablet, social media platform, mobile app platform or software related to the Business (Franchise Agreement Sections XII.H, XII.I, XIV.A and XX.A).

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only Approved Supplier of the CRM software you are required to use in the operation of your Business.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

In addition, we have the right to require that you, any Owner, manager or lead certified commercial driving instructor complete supplemental and refresher training programs during the term of the Franchise Agreement, to be held at our corporate headquarters (currently in Linden, New Jersey).

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

The vendor opportunity at Driving Academy

Driving Academy is a small education franchise headquartered in New Jersey with just 6 total units — 4 franchised and 2 company-owned — according to its 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. The franchised locations are spread across four states: Florida, New Jersey, Oregon, and Indiana. All four franchisees are single-unit operators; no multi-unit owners appear in the FDD. Average unit volume sits at $2,055,650, and the royalty rate is 10% of gross revenue. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is those 4 franchised locations, plus the 2 company-owned units if the franchisor is open to vendor discussions at the corporate level. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed in the 2025 filing, and the operator footprint shows no units in the 2–9, 10–24, or 25+ bands, signaling a flat or very early-stage system.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists two executives in Item 1: Jonathan Marques, President, and Anthony Johnson, Director of Training. No CIO, CTO, VP of IT, or procurement officer is named. In a system this small, software purchasing decisions almost certainly flow through the President’s office, with the Director of Training likely influencing any operational or educational technology choices. Vendors pitching Driving Academy should expect a centralized, relationship-driven buying process rather than a formal RFP cycle. There is no parent company on file; the brand appears independently owned, so no external corporate procurement layer exists.

Mandated and current tech stack

Driving Academy’s 2025 FDD mandates three categories of technology: customer contact software, Driving Academy proprietary software, and financial software. The proprietary system is named generically — “Driving Academy proprietary software” — with no third-party vendor disclosed. The customer contact and financial software mandates are also listed without specific vendor names, which means the franchisor either builds or white-labels these tools internally. For a vendor selling CRM, accounting, or operational platforms, the barrier is high: you would need to displace a mandated, likely deeply embedded proprietary stack. The FDD does not mention a point-of-sale system, scheduling tool, or learning management system by name, leaving those categories potentially open if they fall outside the “customer contact” and “financial” mandates.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2025 FDD contains no procurement extract, so Driving Academy’s supplier designation policy — whether it uses designated suppliers, an approved-vendor program, or an open market — is not publicly disclosed. This absence itself is a signal: in a system of 6 units, formal procurement infrastructure is often minimal. Renewal terms from Item 17 show that franchisees can renew for an additional 5 years by providing written notice, being in full compliance, paying a renewal fee, meeting current training and qualification requirements, executing a general release, and upgrading the business to then-current standards. Critically, the FDD warns that the renewal contract “may have materially different terms and conditions than your original contract,” which could include new technology mandates. With initial 10-year terms and no disclosed recent growth, natural software evaluation windows will be infrequent unless triggered by a system-wide tech refresh or a renewal cycle.

How to read the Driving Academy FDD

The full 2025 Driving Academy Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. This is the primary source for every data point in this profile — unit counts, AUV, royalty rates, executive names, mandated technology, and renewal conditions. Software vendors should pay particular attention to Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations) for tech mandate language, Item 8 for any supplier restrictions that may appear in future filings, and Item 19 for financial performance representations that contextualize the $2.06 million AUV. Because the system is small and the tech stack is proprietary, the FDD is your best window into whether a displacement or complementary sale is feasible. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to pitch next.

Questions vendors ask

Driving Academy, answered from the filing

President Jonathan Marques and Director of Training Anthony Johnson are the only executives listed in the 2025 FDD. With no CIO or CTO on file, purchasing authority likely rests with these two individuals.
The 2025 FDD mandates customer contact software, Driving Academy proprietary software, and financial software. No third-party POS or operational vendor names are disclosed.
Six total units: 4 franchised and 2 company-owned. All 4 franchised operators are single-unit owners, with locations in Florida, New Jersey, Oregon, and Indiana.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether the franchisor designates specific suppliers or maintains an approved-vendor program is not publicly disclosed.
Initial franchise terms run 10 years. Renewal requires written notice, full compliance, a renewal fee, and a possible materially different contract. With only 4 franchised units and no disclosed growth, near-term windows are limited.
The 2025 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to verify all cited data directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Driving Academy2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Driving Academy files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

4 operators run 4 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit4

Top states by locations

FL1
NJ1
OR1
IN1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Driving Academy

unknown of driving academy acquisition.

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.