From the filings

HQ-led decisions

District Taco

Quick service restaurant

District Taco runs 15 locations — 13 company-owned, 2 franchised — under District Brands, with a $1,932,704 average unit volume reported in its 2024 FDD. That AUV, paired with a corporate-heavy footprint, makes HQ the clear buyer for any vendor pitching software into this system.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
15
2 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
—
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
$1.93M
Item 19
Royalty
6% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
2%
percentage component
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$734K–$1.46M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

6% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2024)

Recorded percentage components (FY2024)Ad fund 2%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

All Local Marketing that you develop for your DT Restaurant must contain notices of the DT Website in the manner that we periodically designate. You may not develop, maintain or authorize any other website, other online presence or other electronic medium (such as mobile applications, kiosks and other interactive properties or technology-based programs) that mentions or describes you, your DT Restaurant or its products or services or that displays any of the Marks. Except for the DT Website (if applicable), you may not conduct commerce or offer or sell any products or services using any website, another electronic means or medium, or otherwise over the Internet or using any other technology-based program without our approval. Nothing in the Franchise Agreement limits our right to maintain websites and technologies other than the DT Website or to offer and sell products or services under the Marks from the DT Website, another website or technology, or otherwise over the Internet (including to your DT Restaurant’s customers and prospective customers) without payment or obligation of any kind to you. (Franchise Agreement – Section 8.G) Social Media You must comply with our policies and requirements, which we may periodically modify, concerning blogs, common social networks like Facebook, professional networks like Linked-In, District Taco FDD 2024 B3 31 live-blogging tools like Twitter, virtual worlds, file, audio and video sharing sites like Pinterest and Instagram, and other similar social networking or media sites or tools (collectively, “Social Media”) that in any way reference the Marks or involve your DT Restaurant. These policies may involve prohibitions on your and your representatives’ use of Social Media relating to the Marks or your DT Restaurant. (Franchise Agreement – Section 8.H)

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

You must comply with our policies and requirements, which we may periodically modify, concerning blogs, common social networks like Facebook, professional networks like Linked-In, District Taco FDD 2024 B3 31 live-blogging tools like Twitter, virtual worlds, file, audio and video sharing sites like Pinterest and Instagram, and other similar social networking or media sites or tools (collectively, “Social Media”) that in any way reference the Marks or involve your DT Restaurant. These policies may involve prohibitions on your and your representatives’ use of Social Media relating to the Marks or your DT Restaurant. (Franchise Agreement – Section 8.H)

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

You must comply with our policies and requirements, which we may periodically modify, concerning blogs, common social networks like Facebook, professional networks like Linked-In, District Taco FDD 2024 B3 31 live-blogging tools like Twitter, virtual worlds, file, audio and video sharing sites like Pinterest and Instagram, and other similar social networking or media sites or tools (collectively, “Social Media”) that in any way reference the Marks or involve your DT Restaurant. These policies may involve prohibitions on your and your representatives’ use of Social Media relating to the Marks or your DT Restaurant. (Franchise Agreement – Section 8.H)

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

You must comply with our policies and requirements, which we may periodically modify, concerning blogs, common social networks like Facebook, professional networks like Linked-In, District Taco FDD 2024 B3 31 live-blogging tools like Twitter, virtual worlds, file, audio and video sharing sites like Pinterest and Instagram, and other similar social networking or media sites or tools (collectively, “Social Media”) that in any way reference the Marks or involve your DT Restaurant. These policies may involve prohibitions on your and your representatives’ use of Social Media relating to the Marks or your DT Restaurant. (Franchise Agreement – Section 8.H)

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent, unlimited access to all information and data in your Computer System, including continuous independent access to all Customer Data (defined in Item 14).

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

within fifteen (15) days after the end of each month, a monthly income statement and a balance sheet and statement of cash flow as of the end of the previous month;

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We also require you to purchase all signage and advertising materials for your DT Restaurant from us or our affiliate.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may periodically modify the specifications for and components of, and/or the technologies and functions for the Computer System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

7127

Item 8

During 2023, parent company District Brands, Inc received revenue of $7,127 from selling District Taco employee apparel to District Taco Restaurant franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

During 2023, we received supplier rebates of $734 from suppliers based on franchisees’ purchases from those suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

98

Item 8

Currently, the purchases and leases that you must make from us or our affiliates, from approved suppliers, or according to the DT Standards represent approximately 95% of your total purchases and leases in establishing, and approximately 98% of your total purchases and leases in operating your DT Restaurant.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You need not pay us any fees for proposing new suppliers or distributors.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may periodically inspect the Site while you are developing your DT Restaurant.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the DT Manual periodically to reflect changes in DT Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You will operate your DT Restaurant at a specific Site that we first must accept.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not develop, maintain or authorize any other website, other online presence or other electronic medium (such as mobile applications, kiosks and other interactive properties or technology-based programs) that mentions or describes you, your DT Restaurant or its products or services or that displays any of the…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must, at your expense, implement a grand opening marketing program for your DT Restaurant according to the requirements in the DT Manual and other DT Standards.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we have established a Cooperative for the geographic area in which your DT Restaurant is located on the date you sign the Franchise Agreement, or if we establish a Cooperative in that area during the Franchise Agreement’s term, you must sign the documents that we reasonably require to become a member of the…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You also must buy your food, beverages and operating supplies through our approved distributor and under the distribution agreement that we negotiated for the District Taco Restaurant network.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, you must also purchase certain food items, alcoholic and other beverages, supplies, smallwares, largewares, District Taco FDD 2024 B3 17 chemicals, hot sauces, and retail merchandise only from a designated or approved supplier.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must sign and deliver to us the documents we periodically require authorizing us to debit your bank account automatically for the Royalty, Innovation Fund contribution, and other amounts due under the Franchise Agreement or any related agreement between us (or our affiliates) and you.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must also purchase District Taco employee apparel and gift cards from us or our affiliate.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

At all times you must have an Operating Principal and General Manager for your DT Restaurant.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must also purchase District Taco employee apparel and gift cards from us or our affiliate.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain Computer System components that we designate and ensure that your Computer System functions properly within 60 days after we deliver notice to you.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent, unlimited access to all information and data in your Computer System, including continuous independent access to all Customer Data (defined in Item 14).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge reasonable fees for these training courses, programs and conventions.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Your personnel whom we reasonably specify periodically also must attend any conventions or other programs that we periodically specify for some or all District Taco Restaurants.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at District Taco District Taco operates 15 locations under its 2024 FDD — 13 company-owned and only 2 franchised — part of District Brands. Item 19 makes a financial performance representation, and the reported average unit volume is $1,932,704, giving vendors a concrete revenue base to size a pitch against.

Who controls software purchasing Item 2 names Abelardo 'Osiris' Hoil as Co-Founder, Chief Executive Officer and a Board Member, Marc Wallace as Co-Founder and Chairman of the Board, Paul Cushman Robinson, Jr. as a Board Member, and Chris Medhurst as President, Chief Operating Officer and a Board Member. With the large majority of locations company-owned, this executive team — not a network of independent franchisees — is the practical buyer for most operational software.

Tech named in the FDD, and what is actually required Item 11 names Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter by X. The FDD requires none of the systems it names, so social and marketing tooling remains a decision for the operator rather than something the contract already locks in.

Procurement, renewals, and timing Item 8 requires signage and advertising materials, salsas and marinated meats, certain food and beverage products the franchisor designates as mandatory, employee apparel, and gift cards to come from District Taco or its affiliates; other purchases draw on a broader approved-supplier list, with room to propose alternatives. The initial term runs 10 years, and Item 17 renewal requires proof of the right to hold the site for at least 10 more years plus a remodel to then-current requirements — a capital-intensive moment that often coincides with new equipment and software decisions.

How to read the District Taco FDD The 2024 filing was filed with state franchise regulators. Read Item 2 for the executive team, Item 8 for the mandatory-purchase categories, and Item 19 for the financial performance representation — the embedded PDF viewer below has the complete filing. For a ranked list of comparable targets, talk to FranCloud.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

District Taco, answered from the filing

Abelardo 'Osiris' Hoil is Co-Founder, Chief Executive Officer and a Board Member, and Chris Medhurst is President and Chief Operating Officer. With 13 of 15 locations company-owned, purchasing decisions concentrate at this HQ team rather than spreading across independent franchisees.
Item 11 names Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest and Twitter by X; the FDD requires none of the systems it names.
15 total locations as of the 2024 FDD — 13 company-owned and 2 franchised — with a reported average unit volume of $1,932,704.
An approved-supplier list under Item 8. Signage and advertising materials, salsas and marinated meats, certain mandatory food and beverage products, employee apparel, and gift cards must all come from District Taco or its affiliates; other items draw on designated suppliers, with room to propose alternatives.
The initial term is 10 years. Item 17 renewal requires proving the right to hold the site for at least 10 more years and remodeling to then-current standards — a capital event that often comes with a broader technology refresh.
The 2024 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. The embedded PDF viewer below covers Items 2, 8, 11, 17 and 19 in full.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

District Taco2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for District Taco is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

District Taco’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.

Ownership

The portfolio behind District Taco

Parent company: District Brands, Inc..

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated September 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.