From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Discovery Map

Retail non food

Discovery Map is a retail non-food franchise headquartered in Vermont. The most recent 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document names President Peter L. Hans and COO Susan M. Klein as key executives, though no mandated technology systems or specific procurement rules are disclosed. The total unit count and operator footprint are not captured in our corpus, making the addressable market size uncertain from public filings alone.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
116
116 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-2.521%
vs prior filing
AUV
$58K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
10%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$25K
per unit
Investment range
$29K–$36K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

11%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 11% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 10%, Ad fund 1%. Total 11% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 10%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, at its expense, deliver to DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC., within thirty (30) days after the end of each fiscal year of Franchisee, a complete financial statement for the said fiscal year, including, without limitation, both an income statement and balance sheet, which may be unaudited, together…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only approved supplier of map layout and map assembly services and charge a standard hourly production rate for these services, which is currently $75 per hour, and which may increase during the term of your franchise.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

An organization created by franchisor: DISCOVERY MAP® Advisory Council, Peter L. Hans, President, DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC., 5197 Main Street, Suite 8, P.O. Box 726, Waitsfield, Vermont 05673, Telephone (802) 316-4060, E-mail: peter@discoverymap.com, Website: www.DiscoveryMap.com.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

120706

Item 8

The Franchisor’s revenues from all required purchases and leases totals $120,706.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We currently have an arrangement with approved print vendors under which we receive a small commission for preparing digital files, maintaining relationships between printer and Franchisee, and monitoring print quality on an ongoing basis.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

3

Item 8

The estimated proportion of required purchases and leases by the Franchisee to all purchases and leases by the Franchisee of goods and services in operating the Franchised Business is 3% to 7%.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

In such event Franchisee or the supplier may be charged a fee that we determine before we validate the proposed supplier’s qualifications.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase goods or services from a supplier we have not previously approved, either you or the supplier may submit a written request to us seeking a designation as an approved supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 11

However, we will own all rights to the telephone listings and you must transfer them to us on the expiration, termination, repurchase or transfer of your Franchise, at your expense.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

To conduct inspections of the Franchised Business on an annual basis, or more often if DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC., deems doing so to be necessary.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee understands and acknowledges that DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC., may revise the content of the Operations Manual, and Franchisee expressly agrees to comply with each changed requirement within such reasonable time as DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC., may require.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not establish a website except as approved in writing by DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase display racks, trademarked materials, printing, map layout and design services under specifications that are listed in the DISCOVERY MAP® Operations Manual from us or suppliers that we have approved.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase display racks, trademarked materials, printing, map layout and design services under specifications that are listed in the DISCOVERY MAP® Operations Manual from us or suppliers that we have approved.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchise shall utilize the online billing and credit card payment system provided by DISCOVERY MAP INTERNATIONAL, INC. for the processing of credit card payments related to map advertising sales.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must have a fully trained general manager operate the Franchised Business at all times when Franchisee is not personally managing and operating the Franchised Business.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge for optional training programs at a rate of $500 per person, per day.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 11
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Discovery Map

Discovery Map operates in the retail non-food segment, headquartered in Vermont. The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document reports an Average Unit Volume of $58,171 and a royalty rate of 10.0%. However, the total number of units—both franchised and company-owned—is not disclosed in the most recent FDD, and our corpus contains no mapped operator footprint. This makes sizing the addressable market difficult from public data alone. For software vendors, the opportunity hinges on whether the undisclosed unit count represents a small, concentrated network or a larger, distributed franchise system.

Year-over-year unit growth and initial term length are also not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Without these figures, vendors cannot model expansion velocity or contract renewal cycles. The absence of mandated or recommended technology systems in the FDD suggests either a deliberate omission or a system that has not yet standardized its tech stack. Either scenario presents a potential opening for vendors who can articulate clear ROI at the unit level.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD lists two principal officers in Item 1: Peter L. Hans, President, and Susan M. Klein, Secretary and Chief Operating Officer. No chief information officer, chief technology officer, or VP of IT is named. In franchise systems of this profile, software purchasing decisions typically flow through the president or COO, especially when no dedicated technology leadership is disclosed. Vendors should direct initial outreach to these two executives, framing the conversation around operational efficiency and franchisee support rather than deep technical integration.

Because the operator footprint is not mapped in our corpus, it is unclear whether franchisees have any autonomy in software selection. The lack of Item 8 procurement data further obscures whether Discovery Map operates a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement environment. Until that is clarified, assume HQ holds purchasing authority by default.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD contains no extract of mandated or recommended technology systems. No POS vendor, no booking or reservation platform, no CRM, and no operational software is named. This is a critical data point for vendors: it means either the franchise system has no standardized tech stack, or the franchisor chooses not to disclose it in the FDD. In either case, a vendor entering the conversation should come prepared to benchmark against comparable retail non-food franchises and demonstrate how their solution fills an obvious operational gap.

Without a disclosed tech stack, the competitive landscape is unknown. Vendors selling POS, inventory management, scheduling, or marketing automation tools face no documented incumbent. The $58,171 AUV suggests unit-level economics that may support modest per-location software spend, but vendors will need to build that business case themselves.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2026 FDD—which typically outlines the franchisor's procurement obligations and supplier criteria—is not extracted in our corpus. This means we cannot confirm whether Discovery Map requires franchisees to purchase from designated suppliers, maintains an approved supplier program, or allows open purchasing. Similarly, Item 17, which covers renewal, termination, and transfer, is not extracted. Without the initial term length or renewal window data, vendors cannot estimate when franchise agreements come up for renewal and thus when system-wide technology evaluations are most likely.

The royalty rate of 10.0% is the only financial lever disclosed. Vendors should note that a 10% royalty on a $58,171 AUV leaves franchisees with relatively tight margins, making cost-justification a central part of any software pitch.

How to read the Discovery Map FDD

The Discovery Map 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below for full review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (the officers listed above), Item 8 (procurement, though not extracted here), Item 11 (franchisor assistance, where tech mandates would typically appear), and Item 17 (renewal and termination). Because several of these items are not captured in our corpus, vendors should read the full PDF directly to fill in the gaps. The document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach based on unit counts, tech mandates, and decision-maker access.

Questions vendors ask

Discovery Map, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Peter L. Hans (President) and Susan M. Klein (Secretary and COO) as the principal officers. With no CIO or CTO named, purchasing authority likely rests with these two executives.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended POS, operational, or IT systems. Vendors should assume a greenfield opportunity unless told otherwise during discovery.
The total number of franchised and company-owned units is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. No operator footprint is mapped in our corpus.
Item 8 of the 2026 FDD contains no extract in our corpus, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known.
The initial term length and Item 17 renewal signals are not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Without term or renewal data, contract windows cannot be estimated from public filings.
The Discovery Map FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to read the full document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Discovery Map2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Discovery Map files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

17 operators run 17 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit17

Top states by locations

NY2
TX2
MA2
NC2
PA1

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.