From the filings

HQ-led decisions

DFO

Full service restaurant

Software purchasing at DFO is controlled at the corporate level, with a mandated technology stack that includes Olo, Xenial, and Verifone across 1,274 total units. The franchisor’s most recent FDD lists Chief Executive Officer Chris Bode and other C-suite executives as key contacts, signaling centralized procurement decisions. With 1,212 franchised locations and an average unit volume of $1,951,330, the addressable market for a vendor pitch is substantial but concentrated under a single decision-making hub.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1,274
1,212 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-4.792%
vs prior filing
AUV
$1.95M
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
4.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$1.62M–$3.07M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 4.5%, Ad fund 3%. Total 7.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4.5%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

5 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

DoorDash
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 1

ner menu items including handcrafted melts, certain sides items, beverages and other products we designate under the “The Melt Down” trademark for take-out or delivery only on the DoorDash, Grubhub, P

Grubhub
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 1

tems including handcrafted melts, certain sides items, beverages and other products we designate under the “The Melt Down” trademark for take-out or delivery only on the DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates o

Olo
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

gram we designate. For each Virtual Brand Offering concept there is a $5.00 per month fee and a $0.09 trans- action fee payable to Olo for the integration of a new concept through Olo Rails We have es

Postmates
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 1

g beef burgers, chicken burgers, milkshakes, beverages and other products we designate under the “The Burger Den” trademark for take-out or delivery only on the DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates or UberEat

Uber Eats
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 1

s, chicken burgers, milkshakes, beverages and other products we designate under the “The Burger Den” trademark for take-out or delivery only on the DoorDash, Grubhub, Postmates or UberEats delivery pl

Verifone
PaymentsItem 6

. These charges are collected weekly, monthly, or annually through your franchise finance account based on vendor invoicing. (See Exhibit J) Customer-facing payment terminals from Verifone have a mont

Xenial
POSItem 6

s on behalf of third parties: data extraction and software delivery $60 annually (DINE only), end- point protection $25 per device, and software subscription of $125 per month for Xenial and $48.65 pe

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

18 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to connect to and extract data from your systems, including total sales and adjustments.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

One hundred twenty (120) days after the end of each fiscal year of the franchised business during the Term, Franchisee is required to provide to the Company an unaudited compilation of a profit and loss statement and a balance sheet, in a form prescribed by Company, of the franchised business as prepared by a…

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 8

We and the Denny's Franchisee Association (“DFA”) created the Supply Chain Oversight Committee (“SCOC”) to collaborate on strategic supply chain oversight and improvements for traditional, full-service restaurants within the contiguous 48 United States.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the 2025 fiscal year, we did not derive any revenue from Denny’s franchisees’ required purchases and leases of products and services.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

However, there are a limited number of products where we and franchisees receive rebates.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee is in default of any obligations under this Agreement, Company may, in addition to its other remedies, temporarily remove references to the Restaurant from the Website and reroute phone numbers as Company deems appropriate.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Nevertheless, if ever applicable, Franchisee, its affiliates, and their respective principals will: (i) obtain, maintain and adhere to all applicable standards established by the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (“PCI-DSS”);

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Periodically inspect your Restaurant and deliver to you a report of our evaluation.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

Periodically modify the Brand Standards / HACCP to reflect changes in standards, specifications and operating procedures.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

You are permitted to operate the Restaurant only at the location we have approved.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 16

You may not advertise, promote, post, or list information relating to the Restaurant on the Internet (through the creation of a website or otherwise), without our prior written consent.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If an Ad Coop is established for the area in which you operate a Denny’s restaurant, you must immediately become a member of the Ad Coop and must execute the Ad Coop Membership Agreement and other documentation as we or the Ad Coop may require of members.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You will be required to sign our Payment Card Agreement (Exhibit I) and participate in our credit and gift card programs.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

All franchisees other than institutional operators of non-traditional Denny’s are required to participate in our gift card program, under which you will sell and redeem gift cards that are com- mon to all participating restaurants.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

We require that you employ at least three managers for the Restaurant.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will also require its employees, in the performance of their duties, wear neat, clean, and uniform attire as described in the Manuals.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase, use and maintain the computerized point of sale cash collection sys- tem (including all related hardware and software) that we require or approve in writing for use in connection with the operation of the Restaurant (“Technology Platform”).

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to connect to and extract data from your systems, including total sales and adjustments.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at DFO

DFO operates a large full-service restaurant system with 1,274 total units, of which 1,212 are franchised and 62 are company-owned. The average unit volume sits at $1,951,330, making this a high-revenue-per-location target for software vendors. Year-over-year unit growth declined by 4.792%, but the sheer scale—over 1,200 franchised doors—means even a single module win can generate meaningful recurring revenue. The brand’s franchised footprint is concentrated: only three mapped operators control approximately three located units, all single-unit operators, with Texas and California as the top states. This operator profile suggests a top-down sales motion is essential, as there are no multi-unit franchisees to act as alternative champions.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority at DFO rests at the corporate headquarters. The 2026 FDD lists Chris Bode as Chief Executive Officer, Steve Dunn as Executive Vice President and Chief Global Development Officer, and Curt Nichols as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer. These executives, along with Delia Barceló (VP, General Counsel) and Fasika Melaku-Peterson (SVP of Human Resources and Chief Learning Officer), form the likely buying center. For a vendor, the initial outreach should target the CEO or CFO, given the centralized mandate structure. There is no parent company on file, so DFO appears independently owned, which may streamline decision-making compared to a portfolio-held brand.

Mandated and current tech stack

DFO’s technology environment is heavily prescribed. The 2026 FDD mandates several named systems and vendors: Olo by Olo Inc., including Olo Rails, for digital ordering; Xenial for point-of-sale and operational management; Verifone for payment terminals; and DINE as an operational platform. A Standard Enterprise Technology Platform and a generic Technology Platform are also mandated, along with Denny’s Intranet. This stack leaves little room for franchisee-level discretion. Any vendor pitching into DFO must demonstrate integration capability with Olo, Xenial, or Verifone, or offer a clear replacement path that the corporate team would champion.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not extract procurement details from Item 8, so whether DFO uses designated suppliers, approved-supplier lists, or an open procurement model is not disclosed. Similarly, Item 17 contains no renewal signals, leaving contract-cycle timing opaque. The initial franchise term is 20 years, which suggests long planning horizons but does not indicate when technology contracts come up for review. Given the -4.792% unit decline, the brand may be in a consolidation or optimization phase, which can either freeze new software spend or create urgency for efficiency tools. Vendors should approach with a clear ROI narrative tied to operational cost reduction or revenue uplift.

How to read the DFO FDD

The DFO Franchise Disclosure Document for 2026 is embedded below. It contains the legal and operational disclosures that govern the franchise system, including the mandated technology stack, executive roster, and unit-count data cited throughout this page. Reviewing the FDD directly will give you the precise language around IT requirements, fees, and territory rights—essential for tailoring a compliant, compelling pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

DFO, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Chris Bode (CEO), Steve Dunn (EVP, Chief Global Development Officer), and Curt Nichols (SVP, CFO) as key executives. Procurement authority likely sits with the C-suite or their delegates.
DFO mandates Olo (including Olo Rails), Xenial, Verifone, DINE, and a Standard Enterprise Technology Platform, per the 2026 FDD. Denny’s Intranet is also mandated.
DFO has 1,274 total units: 1,212 franchised and 62 company-owned. The system spans multiple states, with Texas (2) and California (1) among the top states.
The 2026 FDD does not disclose a designated or approved supplier list in Item 8. The procurement model is not publicly specified beyond the mandated technology systems.
The FDD does not include renewal or contract-cycle details in Item 17. With a 20-year initial term and -4.8% unit growth, timing is unclear without direct engagement.
The DFO FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

DFO2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment DFO files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

257 operators run 257 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit257

Top states by locations

TX2
CA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind DFO

strategic_multibrand of Denny's.

Sibling brands

Related Full service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.