From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Desi Chowrastha

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Desi Chowrastha is controlled at the headquarters level by founders Sharath Podduturi, Vamshi Kondela, and Nagini Kondela. The brand currently mandates QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. for financial management. With 12 company-owned locations and no franchised units disclosed, the addressable market for vendors is limited to a single-entity, founder-led buyer.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
12
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
4%
of gross sales
Ad fund
5%
national + local
Initial fee
$75K
per unit
Investment range
$557K–$942K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

9%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 9% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 4%, Ad fund 5%. Total 9% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4%Ad fund 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

QuickBooks
AccountingItem 11

range from $0 to $4,000. 22 Desi Chowrastha FDD 2024 The system will include our currently required POS/CRM system, credit card processing system, and accounting platform, such as QuickBooks. These sy

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall use such customer data management, sales data management, administrative, bookkeeping, accounting, and inventory control procedures and systems as Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may specify in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

You must give us independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in these systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall provide such periodic financial reports as Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may require in the Manual or otherwise in writing, including: (i) a monthly profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the Business within 30 days after the end of each calendar month; (ii) an annual financial statement…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Our Affiliate, TAR Distributors, Inc. is currently a supplier of some of the food products that you must purchase.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may change any such requirement or change the status of any vendor.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Our revenue from all required purchases and leases of products and services by franchisees in the prior fiscal year was $0.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may receive rebates, payments or other consideration from vendors in connection with purchases by franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that the required purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business are 50% to 80% of your total purchases and leases of goods and services to operate your business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use a supplier that is not on our list of approved suppliers, you must request our approval in writing.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must at all times comply with payment card industry data security standards (PCI-DSS).

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate at its own expense in programs required from time to time by Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group for obtaining customer evaluations, reviewing Franchisee’s compliance with the System, and/or managing customer complaints, which may include (but are not limited to) a customer feedback system…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may enter the premises of the Business from time to time during normal business hours and conduct an inspection.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may supplement, revise, or modify the Manual, and Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group may change, add or delete System Standards at any time in its discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Your site is subject to our approval.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

you must spend a minimum of $5,000 on a grand opening advertising program that we have approved

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Required spending. After you open, you must spend up to 1% of gross sales each month on marketing your business.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall sell or otherwise issue gift cards, certificates, or other pre-paid systems, and participate in any customer loyalty programs, membership/subscription programs, or customer incentive programs, designated by Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group, in the manner specified by Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group in…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase required food product from our affiliate, TAR Distributors, Inc. and our approved vendors as prescribed.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase (or lease) the point-of-sale software and hardware, and related software and hardware, that we specify.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall accept payment from customers in any form or manner designated by Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group (which may include, for example, cash, specific credit and/or debit cards, gift cards, electronic fund transfer systems, and mobile payment systems).

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay royalty fees and other amounts due to us by pre- authorized bank draft.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At its own expense, Franchisee shall sell or otherwise issue gift cards, certificates, or other pre-paid systems, and participate in any customer loyalty programs, membership/subscription programs, or customer incentive programs, designated by Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group, in the manner specified by Desi…

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cause its personnel to comply with any dress attire, uniform, personal appearance and hygiene standards set forth in the Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase an entire computing system approved by us to ensure compliance with our System Standards.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must give us independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in these systems.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

If you need to send a new general manager to our training program, we will charge a fee, which is currently $350 per day.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Principal Executive shall use reasonable efforts to attend all in-person meetings and remote meetings (such as telephone conference calls) that Desi Chowrastha Franchise Group requires, including any national or regional brand conventions.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 15

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Desi Chowrastha

Desi Chowrastha is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Texas with 12 company-owned locations. The brand does not disclose any franchised units in its 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, meaning the entire system is currently under direct corporate control. For software vendors, this translates to a single-entity sales target: a founder-led headquarters making all technology decisions for a small but unified footprint.

The royalty rate is 4.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD. Year-over-year unit growth is also not reported, which suggests a stable or early-stage expansion trajectory. Vendors should approach this account with the understanding that any software adoption will likely be piloted across all 12 locations simultaneously, given the absence of a franchisee layer.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists three founders as the executive team: Sharath Podduturi (Founder and President), Vamshi Kondela (Founder and Vice President), and Nagini Kondela (Founder and Chief Marketing and Branding Officer). In a company-owned system of this size, these individuals collectively control all purchasing decisions, including software. There is no separate IT or procurement executive named in the disclosure. Vendors should direct their outreach to the president’s office, framing value propositions around operational efficiency and financial controls that align with a founder-operated business.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only mandated technology system disclosed in the 2025 FDD is QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. This applies to financial accounting and likely serves as the core financial system of record. No point-of-sale, inventory management, payroll, or other operational platforms are named as mandated or recommended. This creates a greenfield opportunity for vendors offering complementary solutions that integrate with QuickBooks, such as POS, labor scheduling, or supply chain tools. However, any pitch must acknowledge that the founders may be cost-sensitive and hands-on in evaluating new technology.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the brand’s procurement model—whether it uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open purchasing framework—is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should assume that all purchasing decisions are centralized and subject to direct founder approval.

On the renewal side, Item 17 outlines that franchisees (if any exist in the future) may obtain up to three additional 5-year terms, contingent on compliance, renovation to current standards, and signing the then-current franchise agreement, including a personal guaranty and general release. For vendors, this structure suggests that any technology embedded in the franchise system would need to survive multi-year contract cycles and potential renegotiation at renewal windows. With no franchised units currently reported, the immediate sales cycle is a direct corporate procurement, not a franchise-wide rollout.

How to read the Desi Chowrastha FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document for Desi Chowrastha is the primary source for understanding the brand’s legal, financial, and operational commitments. It is filed with state franchise regulators and available for review below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (mandated systems), Item 1 (executive team), and Item 8 (procurement restrictions, though absent here). Because the brand is small and founder-led, the FDD provides a rare, unfiltered view of exactly who buys and what they already use. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Desi Chowrastha, answered from the filing

Founders Sharath Podduturi (President), Vamshi Kondela (Vice President), and Nagini Kondela (Chief Marketing and Branding Officer) are the key decision-makers listed in the 2025 FDD.
The 2025 FDD mandates QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. No other operational or POS systems are disclosed as mandated or recommended.
The brand operates 12 company-owned units. The number of franchised units is not disclosed in the 2025 FDD.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated, approved, or open supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
Initial franchise terms are 10 years, with renewal possible for three additional 5-year terms. No recent unit growth data is available to signal near-term expansion.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Desi Chowrastha2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Desi Chowrastha files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

TX1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.