From the filings

+20% franchised outlets YoYHQ-led decisions

Dental Assistant U

Education

Software purchasing at Dental Assistant U is controlled at the HQ level by Directors and Managers Tammy Hughes and Robyn Klose. The franchise currently mandates Stripe, PayPal Merchant Services, and QuickBooks (Online and Desktop) across its 10 total units. With 6 franchised locations and a 20% year-over-year unit growth rate, the addressable market for replacement or complementary tools is small but expanding.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
10
6 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
+20%
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
$133K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
20% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
1%
percentage component
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$80K–$219K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

20% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2025)

Recorded percentage components (FY2025)Ad fund 1%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 technology requirements are recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.

PayPalPayPal
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s). The current required equipment consists of a television (a minimum size of 55”), a laptop computer (purchased within the last three years), a desktop computer (purchased within the last three years), Microsoft Office Suite, QuickBooks Online, high-speed internet, a color printer, and speakers. The exact number of consoles and other equipment you will purchase will likely vary depending on the capacity and layout of your School. The initial cost to purchase the equipment is estimated to be $1,500 to $2,000. You will be required to use PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe, our designated credit card processors. The cost to use these services is a fee based upon a percentage of the transaction, and is currently 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction for PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe.

StripeStripe
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s). The current required equipment consists of a television (a minimum size of 55”), a laptop computer (purchased within the last three years), a desktop computer (purchased within the last three years), Microsoft Office Suite, QuickBooks Online, high-speed internet, a color printer, and speakers. The exact number of consoles and other equipment you will purchase will likely vary depending on the capacity and layout of your School. The initial cost to purchase the equipment is estimated to be $1,500 to $2,000. You will be required to use PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe, our designated credit card processors. The cost to use these services is a fee based upon a percentage of the transaction, and is currently 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction for PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe.

QuickBooks OnlineIntuit
AccountingItem 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s). The current required equipment consists of a television (a minimum size of 55”), a laptop computer (purchased within the last three years), a desktop computer (purchased within the last three years), Microsoft Office Suite, QuickBooks Online, high-speed internet, a color printer, and speakers. The exact number of consoles and other equipment you will purchase will likely vary depending on the capacity and layout of your School. The initial cost to purchase the equipment is estimated to be $1,500 to $2,000. You will be required to use PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe, our designated credit card processors. The cost to use these services is a fee based upon a percentage of the transaction, and is currently 2.9% plus $0.30 per transaction for PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe.

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s).

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right at all times to independently access your Computer Systems to retrieve, analyze, and use the information, including your financial information.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We (or our affiliate) are currently the exclusive provider of these services.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

provided that Franchisor reserves the right to amend and/or modify such specifications or supplier lists at any time;

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

4313386v3.JLK.30920.G56960 6 Name of Fee1 Amount Due Date Remarks Testing or Supplier Costs and Upon request If requested by you, you will pay all fees Approval Fee expenses and costs incurred by us to obtain the necessary information and evaluate suppliers prior to giving approval for new suppliers and products.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

Upon termination, expiration, or non-renewal, you may have to assign your lease, phone numbers, and certain accounts or listings to us without compensation.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

Since you accept credit cards as a method of payment, you must comply with payment card infrastructure (“PCI”) industry and government requirements.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the pre-opening training program, a Field Consultant will inspect your School at your location at least two weeks before the start of the first session.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify this material from time to time and its modified terms are binding on you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must accept the site location and approve the lease if you do not own the premises.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or operate an Online Presence (including a website, webpage, domain name, Internet address, social media account, blog, forum, advertisement, e-commerce site, podcast, digital distribution platform account, or email address) that in any way concerns, discusses or alludes to us, the System or…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $3,000 on grand opening advertising, marketing, promotional items, and giveaways during the time period that begins 30 days before you launch your first session and ends 30 days after.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you spend at least 1% of your Billings per month on local advertisement.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

To the extent we have standards, specifications, or approved suppliers, you must purchase all dental equipment, dental tools, marketing materials and services, and other supplies, furnishings, fixtures, equipment, goods, and services you offer and sell or use in the operation of the School that meet our standards and…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s).

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You will be required to use PayPal Merchant Services and Stripe, our designated credit card processors.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require Franchisee to remit payment of the Royalty and other fees by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”).

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase or lease the required computer systems, hardware, software, and POS systems (“Computer Systems”) as designated by us and from our designated supplier(s).

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right at all times to independently access your Computer Systems to retrieve, analyze, and use the information, including your financial information.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may offer additional training as we see fit or as you request. We charge you for this at the rate of $200 per person, per day plus expenses incurred.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Franchisees are required to attend all conferences and other required training courses.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 15

The vendor opportunity at Dental Assistant U

Dental Assistant U operates a compact network of 10 total units, split between 6 franchised and 4 company-owned locations. The system reported an Average Unit Volume (AUV) of $132,638 in its 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. While the absolute number of units is small, the brand posted 20% year-over-year unit growth, signaling expansion that could create incremental software seats. For vendors, the immediate addressable market is the 6 franchised locations, though the 4 company-owned units may also consume software under HQ direction.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2025 FDD, the named executives are Tammy Hughes and Robyn Klose, both holding the titles of Director and Manager. In a system of this size, these individuals likely serve as the de facto buying center for any technology decisions. There is no parent company on file; the brand appears independently owned. No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, which further concentrates purchasing authority at the HQ level. Vendors should direct outreach to Hughes and Klose, framing conversations around how a solution integrates with or improves upon the existing mandated stack.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates four specific technology systems for franchisees. Payment processing is handled through Stripe by Stripe, Inc. and PayPal Merchant Services, both listed as mandatory. For accounting, the franchisor requires QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. This dual mandate suggests franchisees may need to maintain both desktop and cloud-based accounting workflows. No other operational, POS, LMS, or CRM systems are disclosed as mandated or recommended in the FDD. Vendors offering complementary tools—such as scheduling, student management, or compliance platforms—should position their products as integrations that sit alongside this mandated core, rather than replacements.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated supplier programs, contains no extract in our corpus. This means the procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD; it is unclear whether franchisees must buy from a designated supplier, an approved list, or have an open market. Vendors should clarify this directly during discovery conversations. On renewals, Item 17 provides a clear window: franchise agreements run for an initial term of 10 years. To renew, a franchisee must be in good standing, exercise the option within a specified window, agree to the then-current Franchise Agreement, make required upgrades, secure a sufficiently long lease, sign a release, and pay a renewal fee equal to 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee. Critically, the franchisor may ask the franchisee to sign a contract with materially different terms and conditions than the original. This renewal trigger—and the potential for renegotiated terms—could open a window for software vendors to introduce new tools as franchisees reassess their operations.

How to read the Dental Assistant U FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Focus on Item 11 for the complete list of mandated technology and supplier obligations, and Item 17 for renewal conditions that may signal when franchisees are most open to changing their software stack. Item 1 identifies the executives who control purchasing. Talk to FranCloud to see how this brand ranks against other education franchises in your target market.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

Dental Assistant U, answered from the filing

Directors and Managers Tammy Hughes and Robyn Klose are the named executives in the FDD. As a small system with mandated tech, purchasing decisions likely route through these individuals.
The 2025 FDD mandates Stripe by Stripe, Inc., PayPal Merchant Services, and QuickBooks (both Online and Desktop) by Intuit Inc. for franchisees.
There are 10 total units: 6 franchised and 4 company-owned. This places the brand in the micro-franchise segment, with 20% year-over-year unit growth.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 does not specify whether suppliers must be designated, approved, or if the system is open.
Initial terms are 10 years. Renewal requires good standing, a 50% fee, and potential agreement to materially different terms. Contract windows may align with these renewal cycles or new unit openings.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 tech mandates and Item 17 renewal conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Dental Assistant U2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for Dental Assistant U is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

NC1

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.