From the filings

+33.333% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Crazy Running Franchising

Fitness

Software purchasing at Crazy Running Franchising is controlled at the headquarters level by Manager Donnie Cowart and Owner Jessica Cowart. The system mandates a Proprietary Software Program, creating a walled garden for operational tech. With only 9 total units (8 franchised) but a 33.3% year-over-year growth rate, the addressable market is small but expanding rapidly for vendors who can integrate with or replace the mandated stack.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
9
8 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+33.333%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
20%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$10K
per unit
Investment range
$13K–$22K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

22%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 22% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 20%, Ad fund 2%. Total 22% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 20%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Facebook
MarketingItem 11

ng the marks or regarding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, I

Google Ads
MarketingItem 11

or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), applications, keyword or Google AdWords purch

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

arding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest

Pinterest
MarketingItem 11

franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), ap

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

ks or regarding the franchised business other than as approved or required by us. We or our affiliates may establish and operate websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to any data you collect electronically, subject to applicable laws and regulations.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within thirty (30) days following your fiscal year end, you will, at your own expense, provide us with copies of your financial statements (reviewed by your accountant), including an income statement for the fiscal year just ended and a balance sheet, cash flow statement, and any other document accompanying your…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

While we and our affiliates are currently approved suppliers, we are not the exclusive suppliers of any required products or services.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During our fiscal year ending December 31, 2023, we did not derive any revenue from required franchisee purchases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may, from time to time, receive rebates from Approved Suppliers based on the aggregate volume of items ordered.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases from our approved suppliers will represent approximately 85% of your total purchases in establishing your franchised business and approximately 85% of your ongoing operating purchases.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to purchase or lease any supplies, materials, tools, products or services not previously approved in writing by us as acceptable or from a supplier not approved by us, you can request our approval in writing, at your sole expense.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If requested by us, you will take all further action and execute all documents necessary to convey and assign to us all telephone and fax numbers that have been used in the operation of your Franchised Business, as well as any other registrations or listings for any Technology Platforms that include the Marks or if…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

A representative of ours may make visits to your Franchised Business to ensure compliance with all required standards, specifications and procedures.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify the Manual from time to time, but these modifications will not alter your status and rights and obligations under the Franchise Agreement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our written approval of a proposed site for your Franchised Business before signing any lease, sublease, or other document for the site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except as approved in advance in writing by us, you may not establish or maintain a separate website, splash page, profile or other presence on the Internet.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 8

You must fully participate in all guest loyalty or frequent customer programs now or in the future adopted or approved by us.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

All franchisees in the designated geographical area must participate in the Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

We require you to contract only with our approved vendors or suppliers for your mandatory and ongoing purchases of proprietary products.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We require you to contract only with our approved vendors or suppliers for your mandatory and ongoing purchases of proprietary products.

Payments

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in all gift certificate and/or gift card administration programs as we may designated from time to time.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

you must operate your franchised business in strict conformity with the methods, standards, specifications and sources of supply that we designate and prescribe in our Manual. This requirement applies to equipment, supplies, signage, uniforms, the interior

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

the point of sale system (“the “POS System”) from our designated supplier

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to have independent access to any data you collect electronically, subject to applicable laws and regulations.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

In addition, you must purchase, enroll in or subscribe to, as applicable, all CRM, social media analytics and online and mobile ordering software or programs that we designate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We do not currently require additional training programs or refresher courses, but we have the right to do so in the future.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If established, a Principal Owner is required to register for, and annually attend our annual conference.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 78.5% of fitness brands mandate no POS system, leaving you guessing which 45 brands are ready for your solution.Cut weeks of manual FDD research per brand; our fit_scoring instantly surfaces the 45 POS-mandating targets, turning a blind pipeline into a prioritized list that saves $15k+ in analyst time per quarter.
  2. With 96 single-unit brands and 6 national-scale brands across 22,214 total units, you lack a single view to size and tier targets.Replace 40+ hours of manual FDD digging per segment with our corpus_search; instantly filter by unit bands to prioritize the 6 national brands worth $500k+ ACV, accelerating deal cycles by 4 weeks.
  3. Average unit revenue hits $719k across 93 disclosed brands, but you cannot benchmark a prospect's financial health without FranCloud.Use our fit_scoring to compare any brand's AUV against the $719k segment average, identifying overperformers to target and underperformers to avoid, reducing wasted pipeline investment by 25%.

The vendor opportunity at Crazy Running

Crazy Running Franchising is a fitness concept based in North Carolina with a total footprint of 9 units, 8 of which are franchised and 1 company-owned. For software vendors, the immediate total addressable market is limited to these 9 locations. However, the system posted a 33.3% year-over-year unit growth rate, signaling an active expansion phase. A vendor that secures a preferred or mandated status now could grow alongside the franchise. The royalty rate is a steep 20.0%, which may pressure franchisees to scrutinize any additional operational software costs not covered by the franchisor.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2024 FDD, the key executives are Manager Donnie Cowart and Owner Jessica Cowart. In a system of this size, these individuals are almost certainly the sole decision-makers for any technology procurement. There is no parent company on file, and the brand appears independently owned. Vendors should direct all pitches to this tight-knit HQ team, as there are no multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus who might exert independent buying influence.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2024 FDD mandates a Proprietary Software Program. No third-party vendors are named in the disclosures available to us. This suggests franchisees run on a custom-built or white-labeled system controlled entirely by the franchisor. For a software vendor, the sales motion is not about displacing a named competitor like Mindbody or ClubReady, but about convincing the Cowarts to either integrate with their proprietary system or replace it. The absence of a named third-party POS or CRM is the most critical technical detail for any vendor evaluating this account.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The procurement model at Crazy Running remains opaque. The FDD extract for Item 8 provided no signal, meaning we do not know if the franchisor designates specific suppliers, maintains an approved vendor list, or allows franchisees to purchase freely. Similarly, Item 17 renewal terms and the initial franchise term length are not disclosed in the available data. This lack of transparency makes it difficult to time a sales outreach around a predictable contract renewal cycle. Vendors should approach this as a greenfield conversation with HQ, focusing on how their tool can support the franchisor's rapid 33.3% growth rate.

How to read the Crazy Running FDD

The Franchise Disclosure Document is the single source of truth for understanding Crazy Running's technology mandates and procurement rules. The embedded viewer below contains the 2024 filing. When reviewing it, pay close attention to Item 11, which details the franchisor's obligations regarding the Proprietary Software Program, and Item 8, which may clarify whether franchisees have any freedom to source alternative software. For vendors, the FDD is a prospecting roadmap—it tells you exactly who to call and what tech handcuffs already exist on the franchisees.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your ideal software customer profile, reach out to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Crazy Running Franchising, answered from the filing

Manager Donnie Cowart and Owner Jessica Cowart are the executives on file. As a small, founder-led system, they likely serve as the de facto buying center for all technology decisions.
The 2024 FDD mandates a Proprietary Software Program. No specific third-party POS or operational vendor is named, suggesting a custom or internally developed system.
There are 9 total units: 8 franchised and 1 company-owned. This places it in the micro-franchise segment, with a 33.3% unit growth rate year-over-year.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 provided no extract, so it is unclear if they use designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement process.
Contract renewal windows are not disclosed. The initial term length and Item 17 renewal signals are absent from the 2024 FDD, making it difficult to predict standard contract cycles.
The 2024 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full legal document, which details the mandated tech stack and executive team.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Crazy Running Franchising2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Crazy Running Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

9 operators run 9 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit9

Top states by locations

NC6
TX1
MD1
GA1

Related Fitness brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.