From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Crafty Crab

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Crafty Crab is controlled at the corporate level by its C-suite, led by CEO Ming Lin Zhang and COO Rachel Cai. The chain mandates a specific point-of-sale system and proprietary software programs across its 65 company-owned locations. This creates a single, concentrated addressable market for vendors, with no franchisee-level procurement to navigate.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
65
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
3%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$953K–$1.83M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

4.5%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 4.5% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 3%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 4.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 3%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Facebook
MarketingItem 11

may in our business judgment permit you to maintain your own social media page for your franchised Business, through the use of a page or profile on a social media website such as Facebook, Snapchat,

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

judgment permit you to maintain your own social media page for your franchised Business, through the use of a page or profile on a social media website such as Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, TikTok or

Snapchat
MarketingItem 11

business judgment permit you to maintain your own social media page for your franchised Business, through the use of a page or profile on a social media website such as Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram,

TikTok
MarketingItem 11

rmit you to maintain your own social media page for your franchised Business, through the use of a page or profile on a social media website such as Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, TikTok or Twitter. B

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

o maintain your own social media page for your franchised Business, through the use of a page or profile on a social media website such as Facebook, Snapchat, Instagram, TikTok or Twitter. Besides pos

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

17 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information on your Computer and Point of Sale System and may retrieve from your Computer and Point of Sale System all information that we consider necessary, desirable or appropriate.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase proprietary and trademarked products from us or our affiliate.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Since we have not previously sold franchises, we currently receive no revenues from sales of proprietary products to franchisees by us or a designee, but we will receive revenues from this source in the future.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

20

Item 8

approximately 20% to 23% of all purchases and leases of the goods and services in operating a franchised Crafty Crab Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

If we test the product or service, you must reimburse us for the actual costs we incur to evaluate the product, supplier or service you propose, plus pay us an additional 25% of our testing fee as an administrative and service fee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If we name a supplier for a program, product, service or equipment and you wish to contract with a new or substitute supplier, then you must submit a written request to us for approval of that new or substitute supplier, together with the information, data and samples that we reasonably request to evaluate your…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 9

s. Inspections and audits Sections 8.06, 8.11, 11.02 of Item 6 Franchise Agreement

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to prescribe additions to, deletions from or revisions of the Brand Standards (the “Supplements to the Brand Standards”), all of which will be considered a part of the Brand Standards.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

“Restaurant Location” means a location you select and we approve, from which you conduct the Crafty Crab Business.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

A month before the scheduled opening of the franchised Business, you must spend $5,000 on local advertising and promotion.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift card, gift certificate, customer loyalty or retention program that we (or our affiliates) implement, at your expense, for all or part of our franchise system and shall sign the forms and take the other action that we require in order for you to…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase proprietary and trademarked products from us or our affiliate.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All payments due to us from you under this Agreement must be paid by check transmitted to our headquarters address, except that we reserve the right to require deposit of payments elsewhere and/or payment by wire transfer or other form of electronic funds transfer.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift card, gift certificate, customer loyalty or retention program that we (or our affiliates) implement, at your expense, for all or part of our franchise system and shall sign the forms and take the other action that we require in order for you to…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You must have at least one (1) Restaurant Manager on duty at the Restaurant during all hours of operation.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information on your Computer and Point of Sale System and may retrieve from your Computer and Point of Sale System all information that we consider necessary, desirable or appropriate.

Training

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You (if an individual) and your Operating Manager must attend each annual conference, convention or training session.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?Item 17
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Crafty Crab

Crafty Crab is a quick-service restaurant chain operating 65 locations, all of which are company-owned, according to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document. The chain is headquartered in Florida and appears to be independently owned, with no parent company on file. For software vendors, this structure presents a single, unified sales target: there is no network of independent franchisees to sell into, just one corporate entity controlling all purchasing decisions.

The chain pays a 3.0% royalty, though its average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed. Its year-over-year unit growth rate is also not available in the most recent FDD. Despite these gaps, the mandated technology stack signals a top-down approach to operations, making the HQ the sole gatekeeper for any software sale.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing authority sits with the executive team named in the FDD. Ming Lin Zhang serves as Chief Executive Officer, with Rachel Cai as Chief Operating Officer and Ming Ying Zhang as Chief Financial Officer. Nai En Li, the Vice President of Operations, is likely a key stakeholder for operational tools, while Lin Luo, Vice President of Franchise Development, may be involved in tools that support expansion, even though no franchised units currently exist.

Because every location is company-owned, there is no multi-unit operator (MUO) layer to influence or bypass. A vendor’s path runs directly through this HQ group.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD explicitly mandates two categories of technology. First, a “Computer and Point of Sale System” is required. Second, “proprietary software programs” are mandated. The FDD does not name the specific vendors for either system. This means the chain is using a locked-down, corporate-controlled tech environment, but the exact platforms remain unknown without further discovery.

For a vendor, this is a clear signal: any new software must integrate with or replace a mandated POS and a set of proprietary tools. The absence of named vendors in the FDD means a direct conversation with IT or operations leadership is necessary to map the current stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD provides no extract from Item 8, which would normally describe designated or approved suppliers. This leaves the procurement model undefined—it is not publicly clear whether Crafty Crab uses a single designated supplier for technology or allows approved alternatives. Similarly, Item 17, which covers renewal, merger, and termination, is not extracted. The initial franchise term length is also not disclosed.

Without these signals, there is no public data to predict contract windows or renewal cycles. Vendors should assume an always-on, relationship-driven sales cycle targeting the HQ team directly.

How to read the Crafty Crab FDD

The full 2023 FDD is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and operational disclosures required for franchise sales. While the document is designed for prospective franchisees, software vendors can extract valuable intelligence from Items 1 (executives), 11 (mandated tech), and 8 (procurement restrictions).

Review the filing to verify the executive roster, confirm the technology mandates, and look for any supplier lists that may not be captured in this summary. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Crafty Crab, answered from the filing

The C-suite controls purchasing. Key contacts include CEO Ming Lin Zhang, COO Rachel Cai, and VP of Operations Nai En Li, as listed in the 2023 FDD.
The 2023 FDD mandates a 'Computer and Point of Sale System' and 'proprietary software programs.' The specific vendor names for these systems are not disclosed in the filing.
Crafty Crab has 65 locations, all of which are company-owned, according to its 2023 FDD. No franchised units are reported.
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extracts. The franchisor's Item 8 restrictions on suppliers are not disclosed in the 2023 filing.
Contract renewal windows are unclear. The initial term length and Item 17 renewal conditions are not disclosed in the 2023 FDD, offering no public signal on timing.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed legal and operational disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Crafty Crab2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Crafty Crab files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.