From the filings

HQ-led decisions

CKO Kickboxing

Fitness

Software purchasing at CKO Kickboxing is controlled at the headquarters level in New Jersey, where the executive team—led by Owner/CEO Joseph Andreula and COO Richard Rosso—sets technology mandates for all 52 franchised locations. The system already mandates ClubReady for operational management and Google AdWords for marketing, creating a defined tech stack that vendors must navigate. With 52 franchised units and no company-owned locations, the addressable market is compact but concentrated under a single decision-making authority.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
52
52 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
-10.345%
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
—
Item 19
Royalty
7% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
1%
percentage component
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$128K–$303K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

7% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2025)

Recorded percentage components (FY2025)Ad fund 1%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

4 technology requirements are recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.

ClubReadyClubReady
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 11

You must purchase an internet-based member management and point-of-sale system including peripheral equipment and communications equipment. The point of sale system will include the cash drawer, thermal printer, LCD customer display, and credit card reader. We require that you use the ClubReady Corporation (www.clubready.com) web based club management service. We anticipate that the initial cost of the computer system and required software will be between $2,150 and $3,300. We strongly recommend that you purchase a maintenance contract for the computer system you purchase. The estimated cost of maintenance, updating, upgrading or support contracts for the computer system can range from $250 to $600 per year. Neither we nor any affiliate of ours will provide any updates, upgrades or maintenance for your computer system.

FacebookMeta
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

You must spend between $6,500 and $20,000 for pre-sale and grand opening advertising to be conducted by you in connection with the grand opening of your Franchised Business, which campaign must be conducted during the first 90 days after opening. We reserve the right to collect this amount from you and conduct your grand opening on your behalf. You must also advertise the name and location of your Franchised Business continuously in Google AdWords, Instagram, Facebook, and other social media. We reserve the right to collect some or all of your grand opening funds and/or your Local Advertising expenditure and implement grand opening campaign activities and/or Local Advertising on your behalf

Google AdsGoogle
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

You must spend between $6,500 and $20,000 for pre-sale and grand opening advertising to be conducted by you in connection with the grand opening of your Franchised Business, which campaign must be conducted during the first 90 days after opening. We reserve the right to collect this amount from you and conduct your grand opening on your behalf. You must also advertise the name and location of your Franchised Business continuously in Google AdWords, Instagram, Facebook, and other social media. We reserve the right to collect some or all of your grand opening funds and/or your Local Advertising expenditure and implement grand opening campaign activities and/or Local Advertising on your behalf

InstagramMeta
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

You must spend between $6,500 and $20,000 for pre-sale and grand opening advertising to be conducted by you in connection with the grand opening of your Franchised Business, which campaign must be conducted during the first 90 days after opening. We reserve the right to collect this amount from you and conduct your grand opening on your behalf. You must also advertise the name and location of your Franchised Business continuously in Google AdWords, Instagram, Facebook, and other social media. We reserve the right to collect some or all of your grand opening funds and/or your Local Advertising expenditure and implement grand opening campaign activities and/or Local Advertising on your behalf

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

We will have the right to establish a website or other electronic system providing private and secure communications (e.g., an extranet) between us, our franchisees, and other persons and entities that we decide are appropriate. If we require, you must establish and maintain access to the extranet in the manner we designate. Additionally, we may periodically prepare agreements and policies concerning the use of the extranet that you must acknowledge and/or sign. You are strictly prohibited from promoting your Facility or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, You Tube, Tik Tok, etc., without our prior written consent. Social media is for CKO Kickboxing business marketing purposes only and our prior written consent is required. Your usage of social media must remain professional, ethical and positive throughout.

LoyalsnapLoyalsnap
LoyaltyItem 8

Currently we are not an approved or designated supplier for any item. We have negotiated a purchase agreement with ClubReady for their POS and front desk software, its full-service billing platform and its PIQ App and Heart Rate Monitor; Fuji Sports for their mats and gloves; Century Martial Arts for the heavy bags; Hoboken Steel, Vita Fitness, and Monster Racks for their racks; Cybermark for its website; Go Daddy for its email access; LoyalSnap for its marketing approaches; EVOLT for its equipment. You will benefit from these purchase agreements. There are no approved suppliers in which any of our officers owns an interest.

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

We will have the right to establish a website or other electronic system providing private and secure communications (e.g., an extranet) between us, our franchisees, and other persons and entities that we decide are appropriate. If we require, you must establish and maintain access to the extranet in the manner we designate. Additionally, we may periodically prepare agreements and policies concerning the use of the extranet that you must acknowledge and/or sign. You are strictly prohibited from promoting your Facility or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on any social or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, You Tube, Tik Tok, etc., without our prior written consent. Social media is for CKO Kickboxing business marketing purposes only and our prior written consent is required. Your usage of social media must remain professional, ethical and positive throughout.

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall be required to use such software program(s) designated by Franchisor for guest and member management, bookkeeping, accounting, inventory control, point of sale and record-keeping for the business of the Facility

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information and data collected and/or generated by your computer, including sales data and membership activity.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall furnish to Franchisor throughout the term of this Agreement in the form from time to time prescribed by Franchisor: (a) within ten (10) days after the end of each calendar month, a monthly profit and loss statement for such month, and a profit and loss statement from the beginning of Franchisee’s…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 16

We have the right to change the types of authorized goods and services and there are no limits on our right to make changes.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may negotiate purchase arrangements with approved suppliers and may receive consideration from these suppliers, such as rebates, commissions or other payments.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

10

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases from approved suppliers or that conform to our specifications will represent approximately 50% of your total purchases in establishing the Facility, and approximately 10% in the continuing operation of the Facility.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may require you or the supplier to reimburse us for our costs and expenses related to evaluating the supplier or product.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee desires to purchase any items from any unapproved supplier, Franchisee must submit to Franchisor a written request for approval of the proposed supplier and obtain Franchisor’s written approval of the supplier prior to purchasing any such items from said supplier.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

and assign, at our option, your telephone numbers, directory and internet listings, and social media accounts.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor or its representatives or agents shall have the right during normal business hours, and with forty-eight (48) hours prior notice to Franchisee, to inspect, copy, request, receive and/or audit or cause to be inspected, copied, requested, received and/or audited the business records, bookkeeping and…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

We may revise the contents of the Manual, and you must comply with each new or changed standard.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

to obtain and designate a location for the Facility within a designated geographic area, which location shall be subject to Franchisor’s written acceptance and approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee understands and agrees that it is strictly prohibited from promoting the Facility or using any of the Marks in any manner on any Website, including, but not limited to, social and networking Websites such as Facebook, LinkedIn, MySpace and Twitter, without Franchisor’s express written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall spend between Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) and Fifteen Thousand Dollars ($15,000) for a grand opening advertising campaign to be incurred in connection with the grand opening of the Facility.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Notwithstanding the generality of the foregoing, Franchisee shall spend a no less than five percent (5%) of gross revenue per month for local advertising in his/her marketing area.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

if a marketing cooperative is formed by our franchisees and approved by us, you must contribute to the cooperative the amount agreed upon by a majority of the members of the cooperative, to pay that amount to the marketing cooperative at the times agreed upon by the majority, and abide by the cooperative’s rules.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must purchase all products, materials and supplies only from distributors and other suppliers approved by Franchisor from time to time.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase or lease fixtures, equipment, including furnishings, products and related supplies that meet our minimum standards and specifications or are from suppliers that we approve.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

maintain at all times such arrangements with (and only with) such credit card issuers or sponsors, and shall implement and at all times operate such point-of-sale systems and credit verification systems as Franchisor may designate from time to time

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All Continuing Service Fees and other fees payable hereunder shall be made via electronic funds transfer or automatic debit of funds, in a method determined by Franchisor, in its sole discretion.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

issue and honor any type of gift certificate or other types of promotions or marketing campaigns;

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall at all times maintain a sufficient number of trained employees to service Franchisee’s customers, but at least the minimum number specified by Franchisor.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will offer all of, and only, the goods and services which Franchisor authorizes.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you use the ClubReady Corporation (www.clubready.com) web based club management service.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to the information and data collected and/or generated by your computer, including sales data and membership activity.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may, in its sole discretion, provide additional or refresher training programs at a time and place mutually acceptable to Franchisor and Franchisee.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at CKO Kickboxing

CKO Kickboxing operates 52 franchised fitness locations, all under a single franchisor headquartered in New Jersey. The system has no company-owned units, meaning every location is a potential software customer—but purchasing decisions flow through HQ. The franchise reported a year-over-year unit decline of 10.345%, so the addressable market is contracting slightly. For software vendors, this means the opportunity lies in displacing or integrating with existing mandated systems rather than riding a wave of new-unit growth.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Vendors should size the opportunity based on the 52-unit footprint and the fact that all locations are required to use the same core operational platform.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists five key executives in Item 1. Joseph Andreula, the Owner and CEO, is the ultimate decision-maker. Richard Rosso, the Chief Operating Officer, is the most likely day-to-day evaluator of operational software. Roe Rana, the Chief Financial Officer, will scrutinize cost and ROI. Michael Andreula, the Head Trainer, may influence tools that affect class scheduling, member management, or training delivery. Ann Marie Andreula, the Director of Human Resources, could be a stakeholder for HR or payroll-adjacent systems.

Because the franchisor mandates specific technology, any vendor pitch must convince this HQ team—not individual franchisees—that a new solution is worth adopting system-wide. The absence of a parent company or private equity sponsor suggests decisions are made by this tight-knit leadership group without external portfolio pressure.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates ClubReady (also referred to as Club Ready) as the operational software platform. ClubReady Corporation is listed as a mandated vendor, indicating a direct corporate relationship rather than an open marketplace. Google AdWords is also mandated for marketing. No other mandated systems—POS, payroll, CRM, or otherwise—are disclosed in the filing.

For vendors selling adjacent or replacement software, the ClubReady mandate is the central fact. ClubReady typically covers member management, billing, scheduling, and reporting. A vendor offering complementary functionality (e.g., specialized kickboxing class software, advanced analytics, or member engagement tools) would need to integrate with ClubReady or demonstrate why a system-wide switch is justified. The Google AdWords mandate suggests the franchisor controls digital marketing spend centrally, which may limit franchisee-level marketing software sales.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier list, or open—is not publicly known. In practice, the existence of mandated vendors implies a designated-supplier approach for core systems. Vendors should prepare for a direct HQ sales process rather than a decentralized, location-by-location strategy.

Renewal terms offer a potential window for technology change. The initial franchise agreement runs 10 years. At renewal, franchisees can sign a successor agreement for an additional 5 years, provided they are in good standing and sign a general release. Critically, the franchisor may present materially different terms in the successor agreement, though territory boundaries remain the same and fees cannot exceed those charged to similarly situated renewing franchisees. This renewal event—occurring on a rolling basis across the system—could be a natural moment for the franchisor to introduce new technology requirements or renegotiate vendor relationships.

How to read the CKO Kickboxing FDD

The 2025 FDD is the primary source for understanding CKO Kickboxing's technology mandates, executive structure, and contractual terms. Item 1 identifies the leadership team and their roles. Item 11 lists the mandated systems—ClubReady and Google AdWords—that shape the current tech stack. Item 17 details the 10-year initial term and 5-year renewal structure, which governs when franchise agreements come up for renegotiation. The absence of an Item 8 extract means procurement rules are not publicly spelled out, so direct inquiry is necessary. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize based on real FDD data.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

CKO Kickboxing, answered from the filing

The executive team controls purchasing. Key contacts include Owner/CEO Joseph Andreula and COO Richard Rosso. The CFO (Roe Rana) likely evaluates financial impact, while the Head Trainer (Michael Andreula) may influence operational tech decisions.
The 2025 FDD mandates ClubReady (also listed as Club Ready) for operational management. Google AdWords is mandated for marketing. No other mandated systems are disclosed in the filing.
There are 52 total units, all franchised. The FDD does not report any company-owned locations. Year-over-year unit growth declined by 10.345%.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier vs. approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should inquire directly about supplier qualification requirements.
Initial franchise terms are 10 years. Renewals are for 5 years, contingent on good standing and signing a new agreement. With recent unit decline, contract churn may be limited, but renewal cycles could create periodic opportunities.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 (tech mandates), Item 1 (executives), and Item 17 (renewal terms) directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

CKO Kickboxing2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for CKO Kickboxing is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

84 operators run 84 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit84

Top states by locations

NJ34
NY18
FL10
TX5
CA4

Related Fitness brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.