From the filings

HQ-led decisions

CHOP5 Salad Kitchen

Quick service restaurant

CHOP5 Salad Kitchen's most recent FDD, from 2024, discloses 3 US locations, all 3 company-owned, which makes software purchasing an HQ decision at the Kentucky headquarters with no franchisee body to sell around. Item 1 names Allen Hertzman as Chief Executive Officer and Brian Mills as President, with Kim Pettingell as Marketing Director and co-founders Philip Horn and Donald Bauer; no CIO or CTO is disclosed. The filing mandates three systems, all of them delivery marketplaces — DoorDash, Grubhub and Uber Eats — while Toast is named only and is not required.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$536K–$996K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2024)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2024)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 0.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

3 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

DoorDash
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

lay. You may, but need not, purchase the following optional subscriptions from Toast: Marketing; and Third-Party Integration (for third- party delivery platforms such as UberEats, Doordash and GrubHub

Grubhub
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

but need not, purchase the following optional subscriptions from Toast: Marketing; and Third-Party Integration (for third- party delivery platforms such as UberEats, Doordash and GrubHub). If you choo

Uber Eats
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

tchen Display. You may, but need not, purchase the following optional subscriptions from Toast: Marketing; and Third-Party Integration (for third- party delivery platforms such as UberEats, Doordash a

Toast
POSItem 11

r and fax machine; (c) recipe and music iPads; and (d) Toast POS system with the following hardware and associated equipment:  2 Toast Flex for Guest with Toast Tap (on counter), Toast Printer and Ca

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent unlimited access to the data collected on your computer system and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must prepare and send us all financial statements required by the Manual in the format we prescribe, including, without limitation: (a) monthly financial statements, which are due no later than 20 days after the end of each month; (b) quarterly financial statements, which are due no later than 60 days after the…

How the franchisor buys

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2023, neither we nor our affiliates received any revenue as a result of franchisee purchases or leases of goods or services from designated or approved suppliers (including purchases from us or our affiliates).

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

35

Item 8

We estimate nearly 70% to 95% of the total purchases and leases to establish your Restaurant and 35% to 60% of ongoing operating expenses will consist of source-restricted goods or services, as further described below.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must reimburse us for all costs we incur to review products and suppliers you propose.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to purchase or lease a source-restricted item from a non-approved supplier, you must send us a written request for approval and submit all additional information we request.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you hereby authorize the foregoing companies to transfer such telephone numbers, domain names and listings to us

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must also comply with the standards established by PCI-DSS to protect the security of credit card information.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

For quality control purposes we may: (a) periodically inspect your Restaurant in accordance with §6.4 and §16.1; and/or (b) engage the services of a “mystery shopper” or quality assurance firm to inspect your Restaurant.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We can modify the Manual at any time, but the modifications will not alter your status or fundamental rights under the Franchise Agreement.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

Each Franchise Agreement grants you the right to operate one Restaurant from a site we approve.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except for the webpage we provide, you may not (a) develop, host, or otherwise maintain a website or other digital presence relating to your Restaurant (including any website bearing any of our Marks); (b) utilize the Internet to conduct digital or online advertising; or (c) engage in ecommerce.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

During the period beginning 30 days before opening and ending 90 days after opening, you must spend between at least $15,000 on grand opening advertising and marketing to promote the opening of your Restaurant.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

After opening, you must spend a minimum monthly amount equal to your Local Advertising Commitment on local advertising.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must fully participate and implement all required customer loyalty, rewards and other affinity programs designed to increase customer loyalty, generate new customers or improve overall demand for Restaurants.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If your Restaurant is located within a region subject to an advertising cooperative you must: (a) participate in the cooperative according to its rules and procedures and abide by its decisions; and (b) pay a cooperative advertising fee.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase or lease certain “source-restricted” goods and services for the development and operation of your Restaurant.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Certain components of your Technology Systems must be purchased from approved or designated suppliers while other components may be purchased from any supplier of your choosing.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Toast will serve as your credit card processing company and charge you its then-current credit card processing rates.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must sign an ACH Authorization Form (attached to the Franchise Agreement as ATTACHMENT "E") permitting us to electronically debit your designated bank account for all amounts owed to us and our affiliates (other than fees due within 15 days after signing the Franchise Agreement).

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must participate in any gift card program we establish and honor all gift cards, including gift cards purchased from us or another franchisee.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We currently require that you purchase the Toast point-of-sale system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent unlimited access to the data collected on your computer system and there are no contractual limits imposed on our access.

Training

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Attendance is mandatory unless: (a) we designate attendance as optional; or (b) we waive your obligation to attend based on showing of good cause.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at CHOP5 Salad Kitchen

CHOP5 Salad Kitchen is a quick-service restaurant brand headquartered in Kentucky, and the most recent FDD on file is from 2024. It reports 3 total locations, all 3 company-owned; the franchised unit count is not disclosed and year-over-year unit growth is not available. The royalty is 6.0% and the initial term runs 10 years. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Three company-owned restaurants is not a seat-count opportunity — it is a design-partner conversation with a franchisor still writing the standards later franchisees will inherit.

Who controls software purchasing

Item 1 names five people. Allen Hertzman is Chief Executive Officer and Brian Mills is President; Kim Pettingell is Marketing Director; Philip Horn and Donald Bauer are Co-Founders and Members. No CIO, CTO, or other technology officer is disclosed in the most recent FDD, so the CEO and President are the signers and the Marketing Director is the obvious evaluator for anything touching demand generation, delivery, or loyalty — the surface this filing actually mandates against. CHOP5 has no parent company on file and appears independently owned. With every disclosed unit company-owned, there is no franchisee association and no multi-unit operator to route around: this is an HQ decision end to end. Our operator mapping separately finds 31 operators, none multi-unit, across roughly 31 located units — Florida (12), South Carolina (8), Kentucky (6), Louisiana (2), Wisconsin (1) — more locations than the 2024 filing discloses, and the filing does not explain the difference.

Tech named in the FDD, and what is actually required

Three systems are mandated, and all three are the same category: DoorDash, Grubhub and Uber Eats, each of which the FDD obliges the franchisee to use. It tells you the franchisor has decided third-party delivery is non-negotiable, is comfortable naming individual vendors as contractual requirements, and governs off-premise volume centrally rather than leaving it a store-level choice. The fourth name in the filing is Toast, and it is named only — the FDD mentions it, and nothing in the document requires anyone to adopt it. That gap is the opening. A brand that mandates three delivery marketplaces but no point of sale has committed the demand channel and left the transaction layer uncommitted — and a product that reconciles three delivery streams into one ticket flow sells into a problem the filing itself created. POS, payments, labor, loyalty and back office are all open here.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 — where designated-supplier and approved-supplier requirements normally sit — produced no extract from this filing, so the procurement model is not established by the disclosure text. The three mandated marketplaces are the strongest evidence available: this franchisor will write a named vendor into the agreement. Item 17 is detailed. The initial term is 10 years, with a renewal term of 5, and renewal requires no default, timely notice, signing the then-current form of franchise agreement, a general release subject to state law, a renewal fee, extension of the lease, and remodeling the restaurant and upgrading furniture, fixtures and equipment to current standards. The remodel-and-upgrade condition is the timing hook: renewal here is contractually a capital event, and capital events are when hardware and system refreshes get approved.

How to read the CHOP5 Salad Kitchen FDD

The 2024 document was filed with state franchise regulators, and the full PDF is embedded in the viewer below. Item 1 gives the entity and the five people named above; Item 8 covers supplier obligations; Item 11 covers computer systems and required technology, where the DoorDash, Grubhub and Uber Eats obligations should be read alongside the unrequired Toast reference; Item 17 covers renewal and the remodel condition; Item 20 carries the unit tables behind the 3-unit count. If you want CHOP5 Salad Kitchen scored against the rest of the US franchise corpus and returned as a ranked target list, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

CHOP5 Salad Kitchen, answered from the filing

Item 1 names Allen Hertzman, Chief Executive Officer, and Brian Mills, President — the signers. Kim Pettingell, Marketing Director, is the natural evaluator for anything demand-side, and co-founders Philip Horn and Donald Bauer are listed as Members. No CIO or CTO is disclosed in the most recent FDD.
Three delivery marketplaces: DoorDash, Grubhub and Uber Eats, each of which the 2024 FDD obliges the franchisee to use. No POS is mandated. Toast is named in the filing but nothing requires it, so point of sale, payments, labor and loyalty are open categories here.
The 2024 FDD discloses 3 total locations, all 3 company-owned, in the quick-service restaurant segment; the franchised count is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Our mapping separately finds 31 single-unit operators across roughly 31 located units, led by Florida (12), South Carolina (8) and Kentucky (6).
Not established from the disclosure text — Item 8, where designated-supplier and approved-supplier requirements live, produced no extract from this filing. The three mandated delivery marketplaces show the franchisor is willing to name specific vendors as requirements, but the Item 8 language itself is not disclosed in our extract.
The initial term is 10 years with a 5-year renewal term. Renewal requires no default, timely notice, the then-current agreement, a general release, a renewal fee, an extended lease, and remodeling the restaurant and upgrading furniture, fixtures and equipment to current standards — a capital event, and when hardware and systems get approved.
It was filed with state franchise regulators in 2024. The full PDF is embedded in the viewer below — read Item 1 for the executives, Item 8 for suppliers, Item 11 for computer systems and the delivery-marketplace obligations, Item 17 for renewal and the remodel condition, and Item 20 for unit counts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

CHOP5 Salad Kitchen2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment CHOP5 Salad Kitchen files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

31 operators run 31 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit31

Top states by locations

FL12
SC8
KY6
LA2
WI1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.