From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Chatime USA

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Chatime USA is controlled at the headquarters level, with key decision-makers including Chairman Henry Wang and President Kent Wang. The franchise mandates a designated or approved point-of-sale system, creating a clear integration gate. With 10 franchised units, the addressable market is small but concentrated under a single master franchise structure.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
10
10 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
3.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0.5%
national + local
Initial fee
—
per unit
Investment range
$361K–$691K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

4%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 4% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 3.5%, Ad fund 0.5%. Total 4% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 3.5%Ad fund 0.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to this information and there are no contractual limitations on our access to your data.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within 90 days after the end of the Financial Year, financial statements of Master Franchisee including an audited Financial Year-end balance sheet for Master Franchisee and an audited profit and loss account for such Financial Year reflecting all year-end adjustments, and an audited statement of changes in financial…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may itself be an Approved Supplier.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you to upgrade or update any point-of-sale system or computer system to one we designate.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

464727.37

Item 8

Our parent La Kaffa received $464,727.37 from required purchases or leases by franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We and La Kaffa derive revenue or other material consideration as a result of required purchases or leases by franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

95

Item 8

We estimate that your required purchases from approved suppliers will represent over 95% of the total purchases for establishing and operating an Outlet.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You or the supplier may request approval by submitting a written request to us.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Comply with all reasonable directions given by Franchisor from time to time in relation to the administration of the Local Marketing Expenditure and in relation to the content, style, nature or manufacture of any advertising, sales promotion and customer satisfaction surveys;

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor and its agents may at any time during normal Business Hours inspect, audit and make copies or extracts of the records and reports described in clauses 5.5(1) and 5.5(2) and any other business records, bookkeeping and accounting records, electronic records and files, value added, sales, use and service and…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may change the Operations Manual at any time in our discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Master Franchisee must not establish, nor permit any Franchisee to establish, an Outlet without first obtaining the written approval of Franchisor.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Master Franchisee must not and must ensure that neither its Franchisees nor any other Person establishes a Website referring to the Marks, Outlets or the System without Franchisor’s prior written consent.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless otherwise provided in writing by Franchisor, Master Franchisee must purchase all Raw Materials sold in the Outlets from Franchisor on the then-current Terms of Trade.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Unless otherwise provided in writing by Franchisor, Master Franchisee must purchase all Raw Materials sold in the Outlets from Franchisor on the then-current Terms of Trade.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Master Franchisee must designate a General Manager and Operations and Training Manager, who must be approved by Franchisor.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 16

You may only use products, materials, ingredients, supplies, paper goods, uniforms, fixtures, furnishings, signage, and equipment we approve and you will follow methods of product preparation and delivery that meet our requirements.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Master Franchisee must, and must ensure that all Franchisees, use a point of sale system designated or approved by Franchisor.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to this information and there are no contractual limitations on our access to your data.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

We may charge a reasonable fee for any additional training based on the scope of the training and you will pay the fee upon receipt of our invoice.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Master Franchisee must ensure that the General Manager and such other key personnel of Master Franchisee, at Master Franchisee’s Cost, attend such meetings and conferences.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Chatime USA

Chatime USA presents a compact but specific opportunity for software vendors. The system consists of 10 franchised locations, all operating under a master franchise structure. The number of company-owned units was not disclosed in the 2022 FDD. Average unit volume (AUV) is also not disclosed. The royalty rate is 3.5%, and the initial franchise term is 5 years. Year-over-year unit growth was not reported.

For a vendor, the small footprint means a single deal can cover the entire system. The concentration of decision-making at headquarters simplifies the sales process but raises the stakes—there is no long tail of multi-unit operators to pursue independently. No operators were mapped in our corpus, reinforcing the HQ-centric model.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2022 FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Henry Wang (Chairman), Kent Wang (President), Kyle Huang (Director of International Business), and Wendy Wang (Marketing Deputy Director). In a system of this size, technology purchasing authority almost certainly sits with this group. Chairman Henry Wang and President Kent Wang are the most likely final decision-makers for any system-wide software investment. There is no separate CIO or CTO on file, so the executive team likely evaluates technology directly.

Mandated and current tech stack

Chatime USA mandates a point-of-sale system that must be either designated or approved by the franchisor. POS/Reporting is also listed as a mandated technology category. The FDD does not name specific vendors for these systems. For software vendors, this means any POS-adjacent solution—such as inventory management, labor scheduling, or business intelligence—must integrate with whatever POS the franchisor has approved. The mandate creates a clear gate: you need to understand the incumbent POS to position your tool as complementary or superior.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an extract for Item 8, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known from this filing. However, the renewal structure offers timing signals. The initial term is 5 years. To renew, a master franchisee must give written notice between 8 and 12 months before the end of the term, execute a new Master Franchise Agreement, pay a Territory Renewal Fee, and ensure all outlets operating for three or more years are renovated. This renewal window is a natural point at which technology stacks may be re-evaluated. Vendors should calendar outreach 12–18 months before a franchisee's term expiration.

How to read the Chatime USA FDD

The 2022 Chatime USA FDD is the primary source for the data above. It was filed with state franchise regulators and is available in the embedded viewer below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated technology), Item 8 (procurement obligations, though absent here), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Reading these sections will give you the factual foundation to build a pitch that speaks directly to Chatime USA's operational reality. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Chatime USA, answered from the filing

Key contacts in the 2022 FDD include Chairman Henry Wang, President Kent Wang, and Director of International Business Kyle Huang. As a small, HQ-controlled system, technology decisions likely route through this executive group.
The FDD mandates a point-of-sale system that is either designated or approved by the franchisor. Additionally, POS/Reporting is listed as a mandated technology category, though specific vendor names are not disclosed.
According to the 2022 FDD, Chatime USA operates 10 franchised locations. The number of company-owned units was not disclosed.
The FDD does not provide an extract for Item 8 procurement obligations. Without that signal, the specific supplier model—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly known from this filing.
The initial franchise term is 5 years. Renewal requires written notice 8–12 months before term end, a new agreement, and a Territory Renewal Fee. This cadence creates potential re-evaluation points for technology vendors.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2022. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Chatime USA2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Chatime USA files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Chatime USA’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Chatime USA

unknown of la kaffa international.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.