From the filings

+13.71% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Caring Transitions

Personal services

Software purchasing at Caring Transitions is controlled at the franchisor level, with a mandated tech stack that includes CTBids.com and Intuit QuickBooks Online. The brand operates 423 franchised units with no company-owned locations, and unit count grew 13.71% year-over-year. For software vendors, this means a single point of sale into a system with an average unit volume of $296,597.83 and a 6.0% royalty.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
423
423 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+13.71%
vs prior filing
AUV
$297K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$59K
per unit
Investment range
$76K–$123K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Facebook
MarketingItem 11

site at any time. You may not establish your own Web site, Web page, blog, advertisement, or link on or to the Internet (including social networking Web sites or services such as Facebook, Twitter, et

LexisNexis
Industry softwareItem 2

nior Director of Marketing for Aeroseal in Miamisburg, Ohio from April 2021 through May 2023. From October 2020 through April 2021, Mr. Eberly was Senior Director of Marketing for LexisNexis in Miamis

QuickBooks
AccountingItem 11

ss 7 0 Cincinnati, Ohio Planning) Business Plan Presentation 1 0 Cincinnati, Ohio The instructional materials for our training program include the Operations Manual, handouts, and QuickBooks® Software

Twitter
MarketingItem 11

ny time. You may not establish your own Web site, Web page, blog, advertisement, or link on or to the Internet (including social networking Web sites or services such as Facebook, Twitter, etc.) or ot

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

18 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 11 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Intuit QuickBooks® Online (you will use this as your accounting software; the data collected will consist of business accounts, expenses, payroll data, and financial statements)

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to information relating to the franchised business that will be generated and stored in your Computer System via the Internet and accounting applications described above.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Submit to Franchisor, by the 5th day of each month, a Revenue Report in the form prescribed by Franchisor and certified by Franchisee or by the Designated Individual, accurately reflecting all Gross Receipts during the preceding calendar month, together with such other data or information as Franchisor may require.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right to require Franchisee to purchase all goods and services used in the franchised business solely from suppliers designated by Franchisor, which may include Franchisor or an affiliate.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We did not receive any such revenue in calendar year 2025.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Among other things, we may receive rebates, price adjustments, or discounts on products or services sold to you by approved suppliers.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Other suppliers may be approved by sending us a written request for approval along with a sample of the supplier’s product.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that, as between Franchisor and Franchisee, Franchisor has the sole right to all telephone numbers and directory listings used in connection with the franchised business, and Franchisee hereby authorizes Franchisor, and appoints Franchisor and any officer designated by Franchisor, as…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall present its clients with any evaluation forms Franchisor may periodically prescribe and ask them to participate in any surveys conducted by Franchisor on Franchisee’s behalf.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right to add to or otherwise modify the Manual from time to time to reflect changes in any of the System Standards, including policies on the Buyer’s Premium, provided that no such addition or modification shall alter the Franchisee’s fundamental status and rights under this agreement.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish your own Web site, Web page, blog, advertisement, or link on or to the Internet (including social networking Web sites or services such as Facebook, Twitter, etc.) or other similar services using our trademarks or otherwise in connection with the franchised business, without our prior written…

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to spend at least $399 a month during your first 12 months of operation on local marketing with a designated supplier and provide us with verification of your expenditure upon request.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we establish an advertising cooperative in an area, each franchise within the cooperative area must join and contribute to the cooperative each month.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall establish the EDT Account and execute and deliver to Franchisor an authorization for electronic funds transfer for direct debits from the EDT Account.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

The franchised business must be directly supervised “on-premises” by a manager who has been approved by us and has successfully completed our training program.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to information relating to the franchised business that will be generated and stored in your Computer System via the Internet and accounting applications described above.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require that Franchisee (or its Designated Individual) attend refresher courses, seminars and other training programs from time to time.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

As of the Effective Date of this Agreement, Franchisee is required to attend national conferences.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderRegional 100 499

HQ leadership: CEO/President + VP Ops/Franchise + a first dedicated IT/systems owner.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 63.5% of personal services brands mandate no POS system, but I can't identify the 108 that do without digging through hundreds of FDDs.Manually reviewing one FDD takes 3+ hours. At 108 targets, that's 324 hours. FranCloud's tech_landscape reveals POS mandates instantly, turning a $16,200 research slog into a single query.
  3. 91.6% of brands don't mandate a CRM, but the 25 that do are hidden in static reports, delaying my outreach to high-intent prospects.Landing one CRM-displacing deal in this segment can yield $30k+ ARR. FranCloud's find_lookalikes pinpoints those 25 brands and their peers, accelerating pipeline by months.

The vendor opportunity at Caring Transitions

Caring Transitions is a personal-services franchise specializing in senior relocation, downsizing, and estate sales. The brand operates 423 franchised units with no company-owned locations on file, and the most recent FDD (2026) reports a 13.71% year-over-year unit growth rate. Average unit volume sits at $296,597.83, with a 6.0% royalty. For software vendors, the addressable market is 423 locations, all franchised, with a single HQ buying center in Ohio. The operator footprint shows 29 mapped operators, all single-unit, spread across states including Colorado (4 units), Ohio (4), Florida (3), Iowa (3), and Georgia (2). No multi-unit operators appear in the data, meaning every location is independently owned but subject to the same franchisor mandates.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority rests with the franchisor. The FDD Item 1 lists five executives: Ray Fabik (Chief Executive Officer, Director), Joe Lewandowski (President), James Stapleton (Vice President of Franchise Development), Sherrie Henderson (Vice President of Operations), and Peter Eberly (Vice President of Brand Development). Operations and brand development leadership are the most likely stakeholders for operational and customer-facing technology decisions. Because all 423 units are franchised and no multi-unit operators exist, franchisees are unlikely to have independent procurement power for core systems. Vendors should engage the VP of Operations or VP of Brand Development for initial conversations.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates four named systems. CTBids.com serves as the online auction and estate-sale platform. Seller.CTBIDS.com and the Seller NG Mobile App extend that platform for franchisee use. On the financial side, Intuit QuickBooks Online (listed as QuickBooks by Intuit Inc.) is mandated for accounting. No POS, CRM, or workforce management systems are named in the available data. The tech landscape is therefore centered on auction operations and financial management, leaving potential gaps in areas like scheduling, client relationship management, and marketing automation.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically describes procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, was not extracted in the available data. The procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is therefore not publicly disclosed in the most recent filing. Similarly, Item 17 renewal terms and the initial franchise term length are not on file. Without term or renewal data, contract cycle timing cannot be estimated. Vendors should request this information directly from the franchisor during discovery.

How to read the Caring Transitions FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for vendor due diligence. It contains the mandated tech stack, executive roster, unit counts, and financial performance representations. The embedded PDF viewer below provides full access. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and mandated systems), and Item 19 (financial performance). If you need a ranked target list of franchise brands aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Caring Transitions, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Ray Fabik (CEO), Joe Lewandowski (President), James Stapleton (VP Franchise Development), Sherrie Henderson (VP Operations), and Peter Eberly (VP Brand Development) as key executives. Operations and brand leadership likely drive tech decisions.
The 2026 FDD mandates CTBids.com, Seller.CTBIDS.com, Seller NG Mobile App, and Intuit QuickBooks Online (QuickBooks by Intuit Inc.) for franchisees.
There are 423 franchised units. No company-owned units are disclosed. Top states include Colorado (4), Ohio (4), Florida (3), Iowa (3), and Georgia (2).
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated or approved supplier model is not publicly disclosed in the most recent filing.
The initial term length and Item 17 renewal signals are not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, so contract windows cannot be estimated from the available data.
The FDD is filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to read the full document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Caring Transitions2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Caring Transitions files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

186 operators run 186 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit186

Top states by locations

TX50
VA20
WA17
WI12
OH10

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.