From the filings

+2.564% units YoYMandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

BYC Franchising

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at BYC Franchising is controlled at the corporate level, with Director of Franchise Support and Technology Dimitra O'Rourke identified in the 2026 FDD as a key technology leader. The system currently mandates a cloud-based intranet portal and a POS program across its 41 locations. With 40 franchised units and a single company-owned store, the addressable market for a vendor is concentrated but high-value, given an average unit volume of $2,682,134.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
41
40 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+2.564%
vs prior filing
AUV
$2.68M
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
4.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$20K
per unit
Investment range
$560K–$1.64M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 4.5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 4.5%Ad fund 1.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have direct access to your POS system and be able to download sales and other data from your Restaurant.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Thirty (30) days after the end of each calendar quarter and one hundred twenty (120) days after the end of each calendar year during the term of this Agreement, Franchisee shall provide to the Company a financial statement of the franchise business which shall include such information and data as specified in the…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may retain, share or make other arrangements related to some or all of these amounts, in our sole discretion and any arrangements may be changed by us at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In 2025, we did not derive any revenue from our franchisees related to required purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Company and its Affiliates also reserve the right to derive profits and to receive discounts, commissions, rebates, promotional allowances and other economic benefits as a result of purchases by franchisees of products and services from the Company, its Affiliates or from any other supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

if Franchisee desires to purchase any products from any supplier, manufacturer or distributor not named on the Approved Suppliers, Distributors and Manufacturers List, it must first obtain the consent of the Company, which consent may be granted or denied in the Company's sole discretion and Franchisee shall first…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

8) assign phone numbers to us;

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard and any revision to it adapted by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC (the “PCI Council”) or any successor organization or standards the Company may specify.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to participate in such program(s), as required by the Company.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Company's personnel and representatives shall have the right to enter the Restaurant at any reasonable time, and from time to time, with or without notice, for the purposes of examination, conferences with Franchisee, observation and evaluation of the operations being conducted at the Restaurant

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Company may make such modifications, revisions, deletions and additions, including without limitation modifications, revisions, deletions and additions to the Manual and to the menu items required to be offered by Franchisee, which the Company, in good faith and exercising its judgment, believes to be desirable…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Before a Restaurant can open for business you must do the following: (a) provide a letter from your general contractor confirming that Restaurant build out meets approved final plans and specifications;

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $5,000 on grand opening advertising and promotion for your Restaurant covering the period beginning 15 days prior to the Restaurant opening date and ending 4 months after the opening.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

In addition to the Marketing Fund contribution of 1.5% of Gross Sales, you will be required to spend 2% of your Restaurant’s Gross Sales in local marketing efforts to support your Restaurant.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must comply with and adopt all new technology and systems we direct, including systems for on- and off-premise dining and ordering, online ordering, catering, third-party food delivery, gift cards and loyalty programs, facilities management, secret shopping and others, for Franchisee’s Restaurants, at…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase only Approved Products and Services from Approved Suppliers, Distributors or Manufacturers we designate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase only Approved Products and Services from Approved Suppliers, Distributors or Manufacturers we designate.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Upon our request, you must sign bank authorizations allowing us to debit royalties, fees, charges, merchandise purchase payments and all other amounts due to us, directly from your bank account or credit card.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 8

You must sell or otherwise issue the stored value cards or gift cards (together “Gift Cards”) that we provide or designate, and in the manner we specify.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Restaurant shall be managed by not less than four (4) managers (inclusive of the Operations Director) who have successfully completed the management training program and have received the ServSafe® certification and who will assume responsibility for the day–to-day management of the operations of the restaurant…

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall also ensure that employees, in the performance of their duties, wear neat, clean and uniform attire as required by the Company in accordance with the Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall obtain, install, and use the computer system that the Company requires or approves in writing.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have direct access to your POS system and be able to download sales and other data from your Restaurant.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

If you or a manager are required to attend a remedial training class, you will be charged a fee for that attendee’s participation and materials (Section 16.1 of the Franchise Agreement).

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at BYC Franchising

BYC Franchising operates 41 quick-service restaurant locations, 40 of which are franchised. With an average unit volume of $2,682,134 and a 4.5% royalty, the system generates significant per-unit revenue, making each location a meaningful software customer. Year-over-year unit growth sits at 2.56%, suggesting a slow but steady expansion trajectory. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is the 40 franchised units, all of which must comply with technology mandates set by the franchisor. The single company-owned unit may serve as a testbed for new tools before a system-wide rollout.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology decisions flow through the corporate office in California. The 2026 FDD lists Dimitra O'Rourke as Director of Franchise Support and Technology, making her the most direct point of contact for software evaluations. CEO John Gelastopoulos and CFO Chrisoula Gelastopoulos are the top executives and likely hold final sign-off on major expenditures. Ed Powers, Director of Operations, may influence tools that affect store-level workflows. Valerie McCartney handles franchise sales and development, so she could be relevant if your software ties into onboarding or new-unit openings. There are no multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus, meaning all franchisees likely deal directly with HQ on tech matters.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates three technology components: a cloud-based intranet portal, an intranet portal, and a POS program. The specific vendors behind these systems are not named in the filing, which is common when franchisors reserve the right to designate suppliers later. This creates an opening for vendors who can demonstrate better integration, lower cost, or franchisee-friendly features. If you sell POS, operational analytics, or communication platforms, you are competing against whatever incumbent currently fills these mandated slots. The cloud-based intranet requirement signals that the franchisor values centralized communication and document distribution, a potential entry point for broader operational software suites.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD does not include an extract describing designated or approved suppliers, so the procurement model remains undisclosed in the available data. This could mean the franchisor retains flexibility or simply did not publish those details. Renewal terms, however, are clearly defined in Item 17: franchisees can renew for an additional 10 or 20 years, provided they give 365 days' notice, remodel the location, pay a renewal fee, and sign a general release. These long cycles mean software contracts tied to new-unit openings or major remodels may be the most predictable entry points. The 20-year initial term also suggests that once a technology is embedded, switching costs are high, so timing your pitch around renewal waves or system refreshes is critical.

How to read the BYC Franchising FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for all data cited here. It lists the five HQ executives, the unit counts, the financial performance representation, and the technology mandates. Use the embedded PDF viewer below to examine Item 1 for leadership, Item 11 for the franchisor's obligations regarding technology, Item 17 for renewal conditions, and Item 19 for the $2,682,134 AUV figure. If you are evaluating whether BYC Franchising fits your ideal customer profile, the FDD gives you the factual baseline to build a tailored pitch. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to focus your sales efforts.

Questions vendors ask

BYC Franchising, answered from the filing

Dimitra O'Rourke, Director of Franchise Support and Technology, is the named technology leader. CEO John Gelastopoulos and CFO Chrisoula Gelastopoulos likely hold final budget authority.
The 2026 FDD mandates a cloud-based intranet portal, an intranet portal, and a POS program. Specific vendor names for these systems are not disclosed in the filing.
41 total units: 40 franchised and 1 company-owned. This is a small, concentrated quick-service restaurant system with 2.56% year-over-year unit growth.
The FDD does not disclose a designated or approved supplier list in Item 8. Procurement requirements beyond mandated technology are not specified in the available data.
Initial terms are 20 years. Renewal terms are 10 or 20 years, requiring 365 days' notice and a remodel. Contract windows may align with these long cycles or system growth spurts.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly using the embedded PDF viewer below to verify all disclosed technology, executive, and operational data.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

BYC Franchising2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment BYC Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

46 operators run 46 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit46

Top states by locations

CA29
AZ5
NV5
TX3
ID1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.