From the filings

HQ-led decisions

BUBBA’S FAMOUS ICE CREAM

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Bubba's Famous Ice Cream flows through a lean, founder-led structure. The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document lists John Arnone as the registered agent, making him the likely point of contact for technology decisions at this single-unit, Virginia-based quick-service concept. With only one company-owned location and no franchised units reported, the addressable market is extremely small—but the mandated QuickBooks stack signals a defined, if narrow, opening for complementary SaaS tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$29K
per unit
Investment range
$436K–$590K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

QuickBooks Online
Mandatory
AccountingItem 7

are required to use the software designated in our Brand Standards Manual. Currently, the designated, non-proprietary software includes our required accounting software, currently QuickBooks Online, o

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must subscribe to or purchase certain software designated in our Brand Standards Manual.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right at all times to independently access your Computer Systems to retrieve, analyze, and use the information stored or generated by the Computer Systems, including your financial information.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliate may be an approved or designated supplier.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

While we are not required to do so, we reserve the right to maintain a Franchise Advisory Council (“FAC”).

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

provided that Franchisor reserves the right to amend and/or modify such list(s) at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

During our last fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, we received none of our revenue from franchisee purchases from approved suppliers.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to receive payments, including rebates, commissions, and discounts, from designated suppliers based upon your purchases with them.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

60

Item 8

The cost of the items that you must purchase from us, our affiliates or from suppliers designated by us represents between 60% and 70% of your total purchases in operating your business.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, or computer systems or suppliers that we have not approved, you must first submit to us certain information, including product specifications, product components, product performance history, product samples, supplier information, and any…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to require that any Online Presence or email address we permit you to use, create or maintain be registered in our name.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

Since you accept credit cards as a method of payment, you must comply with payment card infrastructure (“PCI”) industry and government requirements.

Franchise management

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify this material from time to time and its modified terms are binding on you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our acceptance of the site.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not establish or operate an Online Presence (including a website, webpage, domain name, Internet address, social media account, blog, forum, advertisement, or e-commerce site) that in any way concerns, discusses or alludes to us, the System or your Shop without our written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

You must spend at least $13,700 on Grand Opening advertising during the period that begins 30 days prior to your Grand Opening and ends 90 days after your Grand Opening.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to spend on local marketing at least $4,000 per month.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any and all membership and loyalty programs that we create, offer or advertise.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase and use only goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, and computer systems that meet our standards and specifications.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Your supplier of all the goods, services, supplies, fixtures, equipment, inventory, and computer systems must be a supplier that we approve or designate.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You are required to use a credit card processing service we approve.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Your Shop must, at all times, be supervised with at least one individual who has successfully completed our initial training program.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 15

All personnel must wear uniforms or other clothing designated in the Brand Standards Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You are required to use a point of sale system from a supplier we approve.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have the right at all times to independently access your Computer Systems to retrieve, analyze, and use the information stored or generated by the Computer Systems, including your financial information.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

During the term of your Franchise Agreement, we may offer additional training as we see fit or as you request.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Franchisees are required to attend all conferences and other required training courses.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Bubba's Famous Ice Cream

Bubba's Famous Ice Cream operates exactly one company-owned quick-service restaurant in Virginia. The 2025 FDD reports no franchised units, no year-over-year unit growth disclosed, and no operator footprint beyond the single corporate location. For a software vendor, the total addressable market here is one unit. That is not a typo. The franchise system has not yet scaled, and there is no multi-unit operator network to sell into. The royalty rate sits at 5.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years, but with no franchisees in the system, those numbers describe a theoretical future rather than an active base of buyers.

Average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD, so you cannot model revenue-based ROI for your software. What you can model is the tech mandate: the franchisor requires QuickBooks and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. That tells you the financial backbone is already in place, and any software that integrates with or complements QuickBooks Online has a technical path in. But the commercial path is narrow—you are selling to one person.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists John Arnone as the registered agent. In a single-unit, independently owned franchise company with no parent organization on file, the registered agent is effectively the CEO, CFO, and IT buyer rolled into one. There is no CIO, no VP of Technology, no procurement committee. If you want to pitch software to Bubba's Famous Ice Cream, you are pitching John Arnone directly. The FDD does not name any additional executives, so the buying center is a single individual. This is not a complex enterprise sale; it is a founder-level conversation.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology systems named in the FDD are QuickBooks and QuickBooks Online, both by Intuit Inc., and both are mandated. That means any franchisee—if and when the system begins franchising—must use these financial tools. There is no mention of a mandated point-of-sale system, no recommended payroll provider, no required inventory management platform, and no specified delivery or loyalty tech. The tech stack, as disclosed, is a blank canvas beyond accounting. For a vendor, that is both an opportunity and a risk: you can propose almost anything, but you have to convince a single owner to adopt it without the leverage of a franchisor mandate.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, contains no extract in our corpus. That means the franchisor's control over purchasing—whether they designate suppliers, maintain an approved list, or leave procurement entirely open—is not publicly known. You cannot assume a centralized procurement process because there is no evidence of one. The renewal terms in Item 17 describe a 10-year renewal window, contingent on good standing, facility upgrades, a sufficiently long lease, a release, and a renewal fee equal to 10% of the then-current initial franchise fee. But with no franchised units, there are no upcoming renewals to target. Software contract windows are not cyclical here; they are entirely opportunistic.

How to read the Bubba's Famous Ice Cream FDD

The 2025 FDD is embedded below. It is the single best source for understanding this franchise system's obligations, restrictions, and decision-making structure. Pay close attention to Item 1 for the registered agent and any additional officers, Item 11 for the full list of mandated technology, and Item 8 if a future extract becomes available. Because the system has only one unit, the FDD is short and the data is sparse—but that sparsity is itself a signal. You are looking at a pre-growth concept, not an established franchise network. If your software is built for single-location quick-service operators who run QuickBooks, this is a straightforward, if tiny, target. For a ranked list of franchise systems that match your ideal customer profile, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to aim next.

Questions vendors ask

BUBBA’S FAMOUS ICE CREAM, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD names John Arnone as the registered agent. In a single-unit, independently owned operation, he is the de facto technology buyer and decision-maker.
The FDD mandates QuickBooks and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. No POS or other operational systems are disclosed as required or recommended.
One company-owned unit. The FDD reports no franchised locations, making this a single-store quick-service restaurant concept based in Virginia.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier or approved-supplier model is not publicly disclosed.
With a 10-year initial term and no franchised units, renewal-driven software evaluations are not applicable. Any tech purchase would be ad hoc, driven by the single owner.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

BUBBA’S FAMOUS ICE CREAM2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment BUBBA’S FAMOUS ICE CREAM files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

WI1
VA1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.