From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Bruster's

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Bruster's is controlled at the headquarters level by CEO and President James Sahene, based on the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand does not currently mandate any specific technology systems in its FDD, leaving the tech stack largely undefined for vendors. With a limited mapped footprint of approximately 1 unit and 1 operator, the addressable market is extremely small, making this a niche target for software sales.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
system-wide
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

14 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 19 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

we will have the right to access, download, and use that data in any manner that we deem appropriate without compensation to you.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

we have the right to appoint only one supplier for any particular Product or item (which may be us or one of our affiliates)

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 7

We have the right to change payment method requirements.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 21

The Partnership also collects royalties from a supplier, who supplies ice cream mix to the franchisees, of which Bruce Reed is an owner.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 7

You or the proposed vendor will pay the reasonable cost of the inspection and evaluation and the actual cost of any testing.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 7

If you wish to sell or use any product that we have not already approved, or buy products from a vendor that we have not already approved, you must follow the procedure under the Franchise Agreement.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 6

You must also follow the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards and comply with applicable privacy laws relating to customer credit card transactions.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

you also grant to us and our agents the right to enter upon the Franchised Business premises at any reasonable time for the purpose of conducting inspections, for among other purposes, preserving the validity of the Proprietary Marks, and verifying your compliance with this Agreement and the policies and procedures…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We have the right to revise the contents of the Brand Manual whenever we deem it appropriate to do so, and you agree to make corresponding revisions

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 1

ust purchase all or nearly all of the inventory or supplies that are necessary to operate your business from the franchisor, its affiliates, or suppliers that the franchisor designates, at prices the franchisor or they set.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 1

ust purchase all or nearly all of the inventory or supplies that are necessary to operate your business from the franchisor, its affiliates, or suppliers that the franchisor designates, at prices the franchisor or they set.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 7

All fees due to us or our affiliates (such as royalty fees, advertising contributions, amounts due for your purchases from us or our affiliates, and other amounts due under the Franchise Agreement) must be paid through electronic funds transfer (using the ACH network).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may require that you and your Operating Owner, Manager, and Additional Trained Personnel attend such refresher courses, seminars, and other training programs as we may reasonably require periodically.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 7

Convention Fee $2,000 Date of convention Only due if you or your representative) do not attend our convention.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 7

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Bruster's

Bruster's is a quick-service restaurant brand headquartered in Pennsylvania. For software vendors, the immediate opportunity is exceptionally small. The mapped operator footprint consists of just 1 operator across approximately 1 located unit, with no multi-unit operators recorded. The unit-band split shows a single 1-unit operator and zero operators in the 2-9, 10-24, or 25+ ranges. The top state by unit count is Minnesota, with 1 unit. No year-over-year unit growth rate is available, and no average unit volume (AUV) is disclosed in the most recent FDD.

This footprint means the total addressable market for software sales is effectively a single unit, with purchasing power concentrated at the top. Vendors should approach this as a direct-to-HQ sale rather than a broad franchise-wide deployment.

Who controls software purchasing

According to the 2025 FDD, the sole executive on file is James Sahene, who serves as CEO and President. In a system of this size, Sahene is the de facto decision-maker for all technology and procurement. There is no CIO, CTO, or VP of IT listed, and no parent company exists—Bruster's appears to be independently owned. Software vendors should direct all outreach to Sahene, framing value propositions around operational efficiency and scalability for a small but potentially growing brand.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD does not name any mandated or recommended technology systems. No POS provider, back-office platform, payroll vendor, or online ordering system is disclosed. This absence of a mandated tech stack could represent a greenfield opportunity for vendors, but it also means there is no existing integration landscape to leverage. Any pitch must start from scratch, demonstrating clear ROI for a single-unit operation.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Procurement signals are minimal. The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so it is unknown whether Bruster's uses a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement process. Similarly, Item 17 renewal data is absent, and the initial franchise term and royalty percentage are not disclosed. Without term or renewal data, software vendors cannot predict contract windows or renewal-driven buying cycles. Timing outreach around fiscal year planning or any public growth announcements from the brand would be the only practical approach.

How to read the Bruster's FDD

The full 2025 Bruster's Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below for your review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (the franchisor and its executives), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), Item 11 (franchisor assistance, where tech mandates often appear), and Item 17 (renewal and termination). In this FDD, many of those items lack the granular detail typically useful for vendor prospecting, but they remain the authoritative source for any compliance or integration requirements. For a ranked target list of franchise systems with stronger tech mandates and larger addressable unit counts, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outreach.

Questions vendors ask

Bruster's, answered from the filing

James Sahene, CEO and President, is the sole executive listed in the 2025 FDD and likely controls all purchasing decisions for the brand.
The 2025 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended POS, operational, or IT systems for franchisees.
The mapped data shows approximately 1 located unit, with 1 operator and no multi-unit owners, concentrated in Minnesota.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated or approved supplier model is not publicly known.
No renewal or term data is disclosed in the 2025 FDD, so contract cycle timing cannot be estimated from available information.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below for full details.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Bruster's2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Bruster's files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

MN1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.