From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Brooklyn Dumpling Shop

Quick service restaurant

Brooklyn Dumpling Shop is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in New Jersey with just 3 total units (2 franchised, 1 company-owned) as of its 2023 FDD. Software purchasing decisions are controlled at the corporate level, where a tight group of executives—including CEO Stratis Morfogen and COO Michael Liristis—oversees a mandated technology stack. For vendors, the addressable market is small but the mandate-heavy environment means any displacement or add-on sale must win over HQ.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
2 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$45K
per unit
Investment range
$373K–$722K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

2 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Restaurant365
Mandatory
AccountingItem 8

ď‚· You must purchase the Tray POS system from Vendsy Inc. We receive Allowances in the amount of 5% on franchisee purchases. You must purchase your inventory management system from Restaurant365. We do

Tray
Mandatory
POSItem 7

or use at your Franchised Business. This estimate includes the cost of our current required POS system. You must use our required Restaurant365, an inventory management system and Tray, a POS system.

Facebook
MarketingItem 6

u must furnish us with a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, T

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

ooperative advertising with other Brooklyn Dumpling Shop franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedIn
MarketingItem 6

ort and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn, blogs and

TikTok
MarketingItem 6

ith a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, Instagram, L

Twitter
MarketingItem 6

nish us with a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, TikTok, Ins

YouTube
MarketingItem 11

g with other Brooklyn Dumpling Shop franchisees in your area, with our prior written approval. You may not maintain any business profile on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube or any other

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the point-of-sale system (“POS System”) we specify, and have the latest versions of hardware, software, peripherals and computer platforms to operate the POS System.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the Internet.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within fifteen (15) days after the close of each month and within ninety (90) days after the close of each fiscal year, Franchisee will furnish Franchisor a full and complete written statement of income and expense and a profit and loss statement for the operation of the Franchised Business during said period…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are not an approved supplier of any items that you must purchase or lease, but our affiliate is.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

The Franchise Agreement gives us the right, in our discretion, to create a franchisee advisory council to communicate ideas, including proposed advertising policies.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

265417

Item 8

During the fiscal year ended December 31, 2022, we earned revenue from franchisees in the amount of $265,417, or 94.7% of our total revenue of $280,136 .

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to collect and retain any and all allowances, rebates, credits, incentives, or benefits (collectively, “Allowances”) offered by manufacturers, suppliers, and distributors to you, to us, or to our affiliate, based upon your purchases of products (including proprietary products) and services from…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

23

Item 8

approximately 23% to 28% of your costs for ongoing operation.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

If you request that we approve a proposed item or supplier, we reserve the right to charge an Evaluation Fee equal to our actual costs of inspection and testing.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like us to consider another item or supplier, you must make such request in writing to us and have the supplier give us samples of its product or service and such other information that we may require.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee, at the option of Franchisor, shall assign to Franchisor all rights to the telephone numbers of the Franchised Business and any related public directory listing or other business listings and execute all forms and documents required by Franchisor and any telephone company at any time, to transfer such…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

conduct inspections of your Franchised Business, at the frequency and duration that we deem advisable.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No site may be used for the location of the Franchised Business unless it is accepted in writing by Franchisor.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not establish any website or other listing on the Internet except as provided and specifically permitted herein.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to spend a minimum of $10,000 in grand opening advertising and promotional activities prior to and within the first 30 days following the opening of your Franchised Business in your territory.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Thereafter, you are required to spend at least one percent (1%) of monthly Gross Revenue, with a minimum of $500 on advertising for the Franchised Business in your territory.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Accept and honor all loyalty cards, promotional coupons, or other System-wide offers, on a uniform basis, as accepted by other franchisees in the System.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a cooperative is established during the term of your Franchise Agreement, you must sign all documents we request and become a member of the cooperative according to the terms of the documents.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all equipment, fixtures, inventory, supplies and services from our designated suppliers and contractors or in accordance with our specifications.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all equipment, fixtures, inventory, supplies and services from our designated suppliers and contractors or in accordance with our specifications.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You are required to set up authorization at your bank to allow us to electronically transfer funds from your bank account to our bank account.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to sell or otherwise issue gift cards or certificates (together “Gift Cards”) that have been prepared utilizing the standard form of Gift Card provided or designated by Franchisor, including applications, and only in the manner specified by Franchisor in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

During the entire term of the Franchise Agreement and any renewals, you must consistently employ and designate a minimum of one General Manager and two Managers who will be the main individuals responsible for the supervision, management and operation of the Restaurant.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the point-of-sale system (“POS System”) we specify, and have the latest versions of hardware, software, peripherals and computer platforms to operate the POS System.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the Internet.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to impose a reasonable fee for tuition and/or attendance for all additional training programs, including the annual business meeting or conference.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we require it, you must attend mandatory additional training offered by us for up to five (5) days each year, and/or attend an annual business meeting or franchisee conference for up to five (5) days each year at a location we designate.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Brooklyn Dumpling Shop

Brooklyn Dumpling Shop is a quick-service restaurant brand operating just 3 locations—2 franchised and 1 company-owned—according to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document. The concept is independently owned with no parent company on file, and its headquarters sits in New Jersey. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is tiny: 3 total units. The brand does not disclose average unit volume (AUV) or year-over-year unit growth in the FDD, so sizing a recurring-revenue opportunity requires direct discovery. What makes this account worth a pitch is the centralized, mandate-heavy technology environment. If you can displace an incumbent or fill a gap at the corporate level, you capture the entire system.

Who controls software purchasing

The buying center is concentrated at HQ. The FDD’s Item 1 identifies five executives: Stratis Morfogen (Chief Executive Officer), Robert Cummins (President), Michael Liristis (Chief Operating Officer), David Thomas (Partner), and Peter Olcan (Vice President of Business Development). In a 3-unit system, these individuals are the decision-makers for any technology evaluation. There is no disclosed CIO or VP of Technology, so the COO and CEO likely own operational software decisions directly. Vendors should map their outreach to this small group rather than expecting a decentralized, franchisee-led buying process.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD mandates three named technology systems. Eyecatch is listed as a mandated system—likely handling digital menu boards or kitchen display functions in a quick-service setting. Restaurant365, by Restaurant365, is also mandated, covering accounting and back-office operations. Tray appears twice in the mandates: once as “Tray from suppliers POS system” and once as “Tray from suppliers Vendsy Inc.” This suggests the POS environment is built around Tray, sourced through Vendsy Inc and possibly other supplier channels. Any vendor pitching POS-adjacent software—loyalty, online ordering, delivery integration, or labor scheduling—must integrate with or work alongside this Tray-centric stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the formal purchasing rules—whether the franchisor designates specific suppliers or maintains an approved-supplier list—are not publicly known. Given the small unit count and the explicit tech mandates, the practical procurement model is almost certainly top-down. Renewal timing is governed by Item 17: the initial franchise term is 10 years, and a successor agreement for an additional 10 years is available if the franchisee is in good standing, provides 6 months’ written notice, pays a $5,000 successor agreement fee, and executes a general release. The franchisor reserves the right to offer materially different terms in a successor agreement. With only 3 units and no disclosed growth rate, natural contract-renewal windows will be rare, but any system-wide technology refresh will be an HQ-driven event.

How to read the Brooklyn Dumpling Shop FDD

The 2023 FDD is embedded below for full-text review. Use it to verify the mandated technology vendors, confirm the executive roster, and check for any updates to Item 8 or Item 11 that may have occurred after the filing date. Pay close attention to Item 17 for renewal conditions that could trigger a technology re-evaluation, and note that the absence of an operator footprint in our corpus means all franchisee-level contacts must be sourced elsewhere. For vendors building a ranked target list of franchise systems, FranCloud can map this account against your ideal customer profile and surface lookalike brands with similar mandate profiles.

Questions vendors ask

Brooklyn Dumpling Shop, answered from the filing

The FDD lists CEO Stratis Morfogen, President Robert Cummins, COO Michael Liristis, Partner David Thomas, and VP of Business Development Peter Olcan as key executives. Technology mandates flow from this group.
The 2023 FDD mandates Eyecatch, Restaurant365, and Tray. Tray is specified as coming from suppliers POS system and Vendsy Inc, indicating a bundled or supplier-driven POS arrangement.
Only 3 total units exist: 2 franchised and 1 company-owned. This is a very early-stage quick-service restaurant concept with no disclosed year-over-year unit growth.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so designated-supplier versus approved-supplier rules are not publicly disclosed. Assume HQ exerts tight control given the mandated tech stack.
Franchise agreements run 10 years. Renewal requires good standing, a $5,000 successor fee, and 6 months’ written notice. With only 3 units and no growth data, contract events will be infrequent.
The 2023 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly using the embedded PDF viewer below—no need to visit a separate depository.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Brooklyn Dumpling Shop2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Brooklyn Dumpling Shop files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

14 operators run 14 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit14

Top states by locations

NY2
NJ1
WI1
CT1

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.