ou must furnish us with a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You cannot use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Bluesky, X
From the filings
Bright Years Franchise
EducationSoftware purchasing at Bright Years Franchise is controlled at the headquarters level by a lean executive team led by President April Lukasik and Executive Vice President Sydney Pugliares. The 2026 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems, leaving the current tech stack unknown to outside vendors. With 10 company-owned units and no franchised locations on file, the addressable market for software sales is limited to a single-entity, HQ-driven decision process.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
6%of gross sales (FY2026)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.
terly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You cannot use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Bluesky, X, TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn,
t and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You cannot use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Bluesky, X, TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, b
h a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You cannot use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Bluesky, X, TikTok, Instagram, L
mentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You cannot use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Bluesky, X, TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, blogs and o
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
The Computer System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the internet.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Within ten (10) days after the close of each calendar month and within ninety (90) days after the close of each fiscal year, Franchisee will furnish Franchisor a full and complete written statement of income and expense and a profit and loss statement for the operation of the Franchised Business during said period…
How the franchisor buys
Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?
YesItem 11
The Franchise Agreement gives us the right, at our discretion, to create a franchisee advisory council to communicate ideas, including proposed advertising policies, in an advisory capacity only.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
In our recent fiscal year ending December 31, 2025, neither we nor any of our affiliates has received any revenue from franchisees’ required purchases or leases.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
25Item 8
approximately 25% to 35% of your costs for ongoing operation
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
We reserve the right to charge you a fee equal to the actual costs of our inspection and testing.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you would like us to consider another item or supplier, you must make such request in writing to us and have the supplier give us samples of its product or service and such other information that we may require.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
Upon the expiration or termination of this Agreement, Franchisor may exercise its authority, pursuant to such documents, to obtain any and all of Franchisee’s rights to the telephone numbers of the Franchised Business and all related telephone directory listings and other business listings, and all Internet listings…
Franchise management
Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor reserves the right to establish quality assurance programs conducted by third-party providers, including, but not limited to, mystery shop programs, satisfaction surveys and periodic quality assurance audits (“Quality Review Services”).
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesItem 11
conduct periodic reviews and inspections of your Franchised Business, at the frequency and duration that we deem advisable.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesFranchise agreement
No site may be used for the location of the Franchised Business unless it is approved in writing by Franchisor.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee shall not establish any website or other listing on the Internet except as provided and specifically permitted herein.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
For 60 days prior to opening, and 30 days after opening, you are required to spend $30,000 - $45,000 on marketing within your Territory (“Grand Opening Marketing”).
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
After the Grand Opening Marketing, you are required to spend 1.5% of your Gross Revenue monthly on local advertising.
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 6
You are required to join an advertising cooperative if one is formed.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
You must purchase certain equipment, supplies and services from our designated suppliers or in accordance with our specifications.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
You must purchase certain equipment, supplies and services from our designated suppliers or in accordance with our specifications.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesItem 6
You are required to set up an authorization at your bank to allow us to electronically transfer funds from your bank account to our bank account.
People
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Use only those furnishings, fixtures, décor, equipment, musical playlists, employee uniforms, sales pitches/techniques, and signage that conform with Franchisor’s specifications and/or which shall be purchased from only those vendors then-currently designated and approved by Franchisor.
Point of sale
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
The Computer System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the internet.
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must purchase and use the computer system (“Computer System”) we specify, and have the latest versions of hardware, software and applications to operate the Computer System.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor reserves the right to impose a reasonable fee for all additional training programs.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesItem 11
If we require it, you must participate in on-going training for up to 4 days per year and attend a national business meeting or annual convention for up to 2 days per year, at locations we designate.
The filing answers no to 3 questions
- Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
- Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
The vendor opportunity at Bright Years Franchise
Bright Years Franchise is an education-sector franchisor headquartered in Connecticut. According to the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of 10 total units, all of which are company-owned. No franchised locations are reported, and our corpus contains no mapped operator footprint. The average unit volume (AUV) stands at $2,629,819.50, with a royalty rate of 4.0% and an initial franchise term of 15 years. Year-over-year unit growth data is not available.
For software vendors, the addressable market is narrow. With only 10 company-owned locations and no franchisee network, the entire purchasing decision flows through a single headquarters entity. There is no distributed multi-unit operator layer to target, and no franchisee-driven demand to leverage. The opportunity hinges entirely on engaging the HQ leadership team.
Who controls software purchasing
The 2026 FDD identifies two executives in Item 1: April Lukasik, President, and Sydney Pugliares, Executive Vice President. In a system of this size, these individuals are the de facto buying center for any software or technology procurement. Vendors should direct all outreach to this pair, as no additional decision-makers—such as a CIO, CTO, or VP of Operations—are named in the disclosure document.
Because the system has no franchised units, there is no field-level purchasing autonomy. Every software evaluation, purchase, and deployment decision is centralized. This simplifies the sales process but also raises the bar: vendors must demonstrate clear, immediate value to a single, small leadership team.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2026 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems. No POS provider, operational platform, LMS, CRM, or other software vendor is named in the disclosure. This absence means the current tech stack is unknown to outside parties. Vendors should approach Bright Years Franchise prepared to conduct thorough discovery, as there is no public baseline of existing tools to reference.
The lack of mandated technology also suggests that Bright Years Franchise has not imposed system-wide standards on its company-owned units—or, if it has, those standards are not disclosed in the FDD. For a vendor, this represents both a challenge and an opening: you may be able to shape the technology conversation from scratch, but you will need to justify why any new system is necessary.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement and purchasing obligations, contains no extract in our data. This means the franchisor's policies on designated suppliers, approved vendors, or open purchasing are not publicly known. Vendors should inquire directly about procurement procedures during initial conversations.
Item 17 provides some insight into renewal mechanics, though these apply to franchise agreements rather than software contracts. A franchisee in good standing may renew for an additional 5-year term by providing written notice at least 180 days before expiration, paying a successor fee of 10% of the then-current initial franchise fee (capped at $10,000), and meeting updated equipment and training requirements. However, with no franchised units currently in the system, these renewal windows do not create software evaluation triggers. The absence of franchisees also means there are no upcoming term expirations that might prompt system-wide technology reviews.
How to read the Bright Years Franchise FDD
The full 2026 Bright Years Franchise FDD is embedded below for direct review. This document was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legally required disclosures that govern the franchise relationship. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 1 (executives and ownership), Item 8 (procurement obligations), and Item 11 (franchisor assistance and required systems). In this case, Item 11 yields no technology mandates, and Item 8 is not captured, so the document primarily confirms the centralized, small-scale nature of the system.
To build a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud for data-driven prioritization.
Questions vendors ask
Bright Years Franchise, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Bright Years Franchise files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
No franchisee network yet. Bright Years Franchise’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.
Ownership
The portfolio behind Bright Years Franchise
unknown of bright years holdings.
Related Education brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.