If you are opening a Flex Location and meet credit standards, our affiliate Retouch offers financing to cover the costs of (1) the hyapen kit, plasma pen, microneedling start-up kit, portable bed, and teeth whitening kit you are required to purchase from Retouch, and (2) the $7,500 down payment for the purchase of the HydraFacial machine you are required to purchase from a mandatory vendor. The equipment finance agreement requires a down payment of $11,835, with your option of a loan term of either 15 or 27 months, with the first monthly payment due the earlier of the date your Flex Location opens or 90 days after the date you sign the Franchise Agreement. If you purchase the minimum required equipment, you will make either 12 payments of $1,009.10 or 24 payments of $537.16. While these amounts include the down payment for the HydraFacial machine, they do not include the monthly installments for the remainder of the purchase price, as described below. If you purchase additional optional equipment for your Flex Location, the amount of your monthly payments will be higher and depend on the total amount financed, the term of the loan, and the interest rate. Retouch offers financing of up to $82,165 per Flex Location. Interest rates typically vary from 6.0% to 9.0% per annum, depending on the term of the loan. Retouch will retain a security interest in the equipment but will not require you to pledge any other assets to secure the loan. You, your spouse, and all Owners and their spouses must provide a personal guaranty. You will have the ability to prepay your obligations without penalty.
From the filings
BodyBrite
Personal servicesSoftware purchasing at BodyBrite is controlled at the franchisor level, with mandates covering booking, business management, and accounting systems. The brand operates 14 total locations—11 franchised and 3 company-owned—giving vendors a small but concentrated addressable market. The 2022 FDD names specific executives and tech vendors, providing a clear map for software sellers evaluating this personal-services franchise.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ordinary royalty terms
6% component; full terms unconfirmed
Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.
Recorded percentage components
These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.
1recorded components (FY2022)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 technology requirement is recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.
The total cost to purchase the required Computer Hardware is approximately $2,000 - $4,000 which is subject to change, and dependent on the brands and model you choose. We reserve the right to change our specification sin the future to take advantage of technological advances or to adapt the system to meet operational needs and changes. We may require you to bring any computer hardware and software, related peripheral equipment, communications systems into conformity with our then-current standards for new Franchised Locations. There are no contractual limitations in the Franchise Agreement on the frequency and cost of the upgrading or updating of the computer hardware or software which we may require you to make. Computer Software Much of the software that you will use for your computer is standard software. You will need to obtain access to QuickBooks Online, which is currently $20 - $40 per month, depending on which version you choose, and which is subject to change. However, we do prescribe certain software you must use in your business including the business management software and booking software from our mandatory vendor.
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee will, at Franchisee’s expense, maintain at the Franchised Location premises and retain for a minimum of seven (7) years from the date of their preparation or longer if required under applicable law, complete and accurate books, records and accounts (using such methods and systems of bookkeeping and…
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
We have the right to independently access your electronic information and data through our proprietary data management and any intranet system, and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the System and the sale of franchises.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee will deliver or provide access to Franchisor the following: (1) within fifteen (15) days after the end of each calendar quarter, quarterly financial statements for the Franchised Location for the immediately preceding calendar quarter, including year-to-date figures, which statements shall include a…
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
We, an affiliate or a third-party vendor or supplier periodically may be the only approved supplier for certain items.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 11
We reserve the right to change our specification sin the future to take advantage of technological advances or to adapt the system to meet operational needs and changes.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
12238Item 8
In our last fiscal year ended December 31, 2021, we received $12,238 as a result of all required purchases and leases of products or services by our franchisees, or approximately 4.1% of our total revenue of $297,464, based on our most recent annual audited financial statement.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
We have reserved the right in the Franchise Agreement to receive rebates or other payments from suppliers, based directly or indirectly on sales of services or products, advertising materials and other items to franchisees and Franchised Locations we own, which payments may range from less than 1% up to 20% or more…
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
60Item 8
We estimate that the purchase or lease of equipment (including the Computer System hardware and software), signs, fixtures, furnishings, supplies, products, and advertising and sales promotions materials, including placement, which meet our specifications will represent approximately 80% to 90% of the cost to develop…
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor will have the right to charge each proposed supplier a reasonable fee in reviewing a proposed brand or supplier.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you want to use any unapproved material, fixture, equipment, furniture or sign, or purchase any items from any supplier that we have not approved, you must first notify us in writing and must submit to us, at our request, sufficient specifications, photographs, drawings or other information or samples for us to…
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee acknowledges that Franchisor has the sole right to and interest in all telephone numbers and directory listings associated with the Marks
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee must abide by: (a) the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (“PCIDSS”) enacted by the applicable Card Associations (as they may be modified from time to time or as successor standards are adopted); (b) the Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act (“FACTA”); and (c) all other standards, laws…
Franchise management
Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees that Franchisor has the right to specify the third party(ies) and the required level of participation in such programs and that Franchisee will bear the cost thereof.
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesFranchise agreement
To determine whether Franchisee is complying with this Agreement, Franchisor may, at any time during business hours and without prior notice to Franchisee, inspect the Franchised Location, its records, the Proprietary Software, and any other equipment, hardware, or software relating to the Franchised Location.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor expects Franchised Locations to be associated with the highest level of customer service standards, competence, and professionalism.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
You must submit to us information and materials we require and obtain our approval of the site.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesItem 13
Except as we may authorize in writing in advance, however, you cannot: (i) link or frame our website; (ii) conduct any business or offer to sell or advertise any products or services on the internet in connection with your Franchised Location; (iii) create or register any Internet domain name, website, or social…
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
During the period of time beginning thirty (30) days before until thirty (30) days following the opening of your Franchised Location, you must spend a minimum of $10,000 if you are opening a Brick and Mortar Location, and $5,000 if you are opening a Flex Location, to implement a grand opening advertising and…
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
We require your Franchised Location to spend a minimum amount on local advertising and promotion of your Franchised Location within the Protected Area (the “Local Expenditure”), which as of the date of this Disclosure Document is $1,500 per month.
Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees to honor and participate in these programs in accordance with such procedures and regulations specified by Franchisor in the Operations Manual or otherwise in writing.
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 11
With respect to any marketing cooperative we establish and which we designate for your Franchised Location, you must participate in such marketing cooperative and its programs and abide by its by-laws.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
You must purchase for use or sale at your Franchised Location only those services or products we designate.
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
You must purchase for use or sale at your Franchised Location only those services or products we designate.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee must sign an electronic transfer of funds authorization and other documents as Franchisor periodically designates to authorize Franchisee’s bank to transfer, either electronically or through some other method of payment Franchisor designates, directly to Franchisor’s account and to charge Franchisee’s…
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisee agrees to honor and participate in these programs in accordance with such procedures and regulations specified by Franchisor in the Operations Manual or otherwise in writing.
People
Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?
YesItem 15
Unless a separate Key Manager that meets our qualifications is approved by us, your Operating Principal must devote full-time and best efforts to the supervision of your Franchised Location.
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must purchase and use computer hardware and software that we periodically designate for the operation of your Franchised Location.
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We have the right to independently access your electronic information and data through our proprietary data management and any intranet system, and to collect and use your electronic information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the System and the sale of franchises.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesFranchise agreement
Franchisor may require Franchisee to attend additional training. Franchisor will charge Franchisee a reasonable fee and reimbursable expenses for these supplemental and refresher training programs.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesFranchise agreement
The Operating Principal and the person holding a controlling interest in Franchisee (if different than the Operating Principal) must attend, at Franchisee’s expense, the minimum number of national conventions, conferences and regional meetings as Franchisor may periodically require.
The filing answers no to 1 question
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement
The vendor opportunity at BodyBrite
BodyBrite is a personal-services franchise with headquarters in Minnesota. According to its 2022 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system comprises 14 total units—11 franchised locations and 3 company-owned outlets. The brand does not disclose an average unit volume, so revenue-based sizing is unavailable. Year-over-year unit growth declined by 15.385%, signaling a contracting footprint that software vendors should weigh when calculating total addressable market.
For vendors selling operational or financial software, the small unit count means every location matters. Penetrating even a handful of units could represent meaningful share in this system.
Who controls software purchasing
The 2022 FDD lists five executives in Item 1. Christopher Hardy serves as President and Chief Executive Officer. Max Schmitz is Vice President of Franchise Development. Isabel Rute da Silva Boal holds the title Vice President of Operations, and Derek Hull is Chief Marketing Officer. Kathy Schmitz is named as Area Director. No dedicated CIO or CTO appears in the filing, suggesting that operations and marketing leadership likely drive technology decisions. Vendors should direct initial outreach to the VP of Operations or CMO, as their roles align most closely with the mandated tech stack.
Mandated and current tech stack
BodyBrite’s FDD mandates several software categories. Franchisees must use booking software, Britely, business management software, QuickBooks, and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. The specific booking and business management platforms are not named beyond the Britely system. QuickBooks and QuickBooks Online are both required, indicating a dual-desktop-and-cloud accounting environment. Vendors offering complementary or replacement solutions in scheduling, CRM, or financial reporting should map their integrations to Intuit’s ecosystem and Britely.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so BodyBrite’s procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly documented. Vendors should treat this as a blank slate and request supplier qualification details directly from the franchisor.
Renewal terms offer some timing signals. Brick-and-mortar franchisees can renew for one additional 5-year term if they meet conditions including premises updates, training, and signing the then-current franchise agreement. Flex-location operators can renew for two additional 5-year terms under similar requirements. The then-current agreement may contain materially different terms, which could include updated technology mandates. With initial 10-year terms and recent unit contraction, natural refresh cycles may be slow, but renewal events create windows for software displacement.
How to read the BodyBrite FDD
The 2022 BodyBrite FDD is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the full legal and operational disclosures vendors need to assess this account. Key sections for software sellers include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (franchisor assistance and mandated systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions—absent here), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). Reviewing these sections will clarify who holds purchasing authority, what tech is locked in, and when contract changes are most likely. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.
Ordinary royalty terms
Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.
Questions vendors ask
BodyBrite, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
Request an email alert when a newer filing for BodyBrite is available.
Operator footprint
BodyBrite’s FDD on file does not disclose a franchisee directory.
Ownership
The portfolio behind BodyBrite
Parent company: Simply HairFree Holdings, LLC.
Related Personal services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.