h will include (a) the Technology Fee of $1,060 per month, which must be paid to us and (b) a POS system license fee of $599 per month, which must be paid to a third-party vendor, MindBody. 15. Busine
From the filings
Body20
FitnessSoftware purchasing at Body20 is controlled at the franchisor level, with CEO Lindsay Junk and President Ryan McEvoy listed as key executives in the 2025 FDD. The system mandates Mindbody by Mindbody, Inc. for operations, and with 61 franchised locations and 35.6% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market for complementary tools is expanding quickly.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
12%of gross sales (FY2025)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
ok, X, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), applications, keyword or adword purchasing programs, accounts with websites featuring gift certificates or discounted coupons (such as Groupon, ClassPass, etc.), mo
ble to you for your review. Digital Marketing. We or our affiliates may, in our sole discretion, establish, operate, and/or participate in websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, X, Instagr
r your review. Digital Marketing. We or our affiliates may, in our sole discretion, establish, operate, and/or participate in websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, X, Instagram, Pinterest
ew. Digital Marketing. We or our affiliates may, in our sole discretion, establish, operate, and/or participate in websites, social media accounts (such as Facebook, X, Instagram, Pinterest, etc.), ap
websites featuring gift certificates or discounted coupons (such as Groupon, ClassPass, etc.), mobile applications, podcasts, blogs, vlogs, video and photo-sharing sites (such as TikTok, YouTube, etc.
s featuring gift certificates or discounted coupons (such as Groupon, ClassPass, etc.), mobile applications, podcasts, blogs, vlogs, video and photo-sharing sites (such as TikTok, YouTube, etc.), chat
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
28 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
At our request, you must retain and use, at your expense, the services of an accountant or accounting firm that we approve.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesFranchise agreement
In addition, we and our Affiliates may, through the Technology System or otherwise, have independent access to Customer Information.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
Upon our written request, by April 15 of each year, you must submit your balance sheet and income statement for the previous calendar year.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
Currently, we require you to purchase from us or our affiliates (i) the Presale Kit, (ii) the Initial Retail Inventory Kit, (iii) certain ongoing equipment purchases, and (iv) replacement inventory and sales materials and accessories.
Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?
YesFranchise agreement
We may establish an advisory council of franchisees (“Franchisee Advisory Council”) using a form and process set forth in the Manuals to advise us on various issues and strategies.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
We may, at any time, in our discretion, change, delete, or add to any of our specifications or quality standards.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
As we became the franchisor of the Brand in April 2025, in the 2024 fiscal year, neither we nor our affiliates derived any revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases by franchisees.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
We and/or our affiliates may derive revenue based on your purchases and leases, including from charging you for products and services we or our affiliates provide to you and from promotional allowances, volume discounts, and other payments made to us by suppliers and/or distributors that we designate or approve for…
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
30Item 8
We estimate that the cost to purchase and lease all equipment, inventory and other items and services that we require you to obtain from us or our affiliates, from designated suppliers, or in accordance with our specifications ranges from 75% to 90% of the total cost to purchase and lease equipment, inventory, and…
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
You will pay us a charge that is equal to the greater of $1,000 or our and our affiliates’ actual costs and expenses related to the inspection and/or testing the proposed product or evaluating the proposed service or service provider, including personnel and travel costs, whether or not the item, service, supplier…
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you would like to offer products or use any supplies, Operating Assets, or services that we have not approved or to purchase or lease from a supplier or service provider that we have not approved, you must submit a written request for approval and provide us with any information that we request.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
You acknowledge that as between any of the Franchisee Parties and us and our Affiliates, we and our Affiliates have the sole rights to and interest in all Identifiers.
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You also must comply with all laws and payment card provider standards relating to the security of the Technology System, including the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards.
Franchise management
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesItem 11
We may amend, modify, or supplement the Manuals at any time, so long as such amendments, modifications, or supplements will, in our good faith opinion, benefit us and our existing and future franchisees or will otherwise improve the System.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
Before you make a binding commitment to purchase, lease, or sublease a site, we must approve in writing the proposed lease or purchase agreement or any letter of intent between you and the third-party seller or lessor.
Marketing
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
In connection with the opening of the Studio, you must spend a minimum of $15,000 for grand opening advertising and promotion beginning at least 60 days before, and ending 30 days after, the opening of your Studio under the terms of a plan that you must submit to us for our approval.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
You must spend at least $1,500 per month on local advertising and promotional activities (the “Marketing Spending Requirement”).
Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?
YesItem 11
You must join and actively participate in any organizations or associations of franchisees or advertising cooperatives that we establish or approve for the purpose of promoting, coordinating, and purchasing advertising in local, regional, or national areas where there are multiple Studios (“Advertising Cooperatives”)…
Operations
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
Currently, we require you to purchase from suppliers or service providers that we have designated or approved (i) the Initial FF&E Package, (ii) certain other equipment and supplies, (iii) interior graphics and exterior signage, (iv) the Technology System, (v) music licenses, and (vi) payment processing services.
Payments
Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 8
We may require you to purchase merchant processing services from us, our affiliates or an approved or designated vendor.
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
We currently require you to make payment by electronic debit from your specified checking or savings account, and you must complete and sign an Authorization Agreement for Preauthorized Payments for this purpose.
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesItem 11
You must participate in all in-Studio promotional programs that we offer to franchisees.
People
Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You must display the Marks in a manner that we specify on signage at the Studio and on all written materials, forms, advertising, promotional materials, supplies, employee uniforms, business cards, receipts, letterhead, contracts, stationary, and other materials we designate.
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
Currently, all components of the Technology System must be purchased from our approved vendors.
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesFranchise agreement
In addition, we and our Affiliates may, through the Technology System or otherwise, have independent access to Customer Information.
Sales and CRM
Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You must obtain, maintain, and use the hardware, software, other equipment, and network connections that we specify periodically in the Manuals necessary to operate our point-of-sale system, the customer relationship management system, the online reservation system, and other technology systems that we designate…
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
We may charge a fee of up to $1,000 per trainer per day, plus their travel and living expenses, for each trainer assigned to your Studio and any remedial training.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesFranchise agreement
You, your Operating Principal, your Designated Managers, or any of your representatives that we designate must attend franchise conventions, meetings, product shows or demonstrations, and teleconferences (“Events”) that we may require periodically in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.
The filing answers no to 2 questions
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?
- Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 16
Who buys here
The buyer at this brand
The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.
The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.
- 78.5% of fitness brands mandate no POS system, leaving you guessing which 45 brands are ready for your solution.Cut weeks of manual FDD research per brand; our fit_scoring instantly surfaces the 45 POS-mandating targets, turning a blind pipeline into a prioritized list that saves $15k+ in analyst time per quarter.
- 87.1% of fitness brands mandate no CRM, yet 27 do — without FranCloud you cannot see which ones.Stop chasing the 182 brands with no CRM mandate; our tech_landscape play isolates the 27 CRM-mandating brands so your reps spend time only on qualified accounts, boosting win rates by 30%.
- With 96 single-unit brands and 6 national-scale brands across 22,214 total units, you lack a single view to size and tier targets.Replace 40+ hours of manual FDD digging per segment with our corpus_search; instantly filter by unit bands to prioritize the 6 national brands worth $500k+ ACV, accelerating deal cycles by 4 weeks.
The vendor opportunity at Body20
Body20 is a fitness franchise headquartered in California with 62 total units as of the 2025 FDD—61 franchised and one company-owned. The system reported average unit volume of $469,629 and year-over-year unit growth of 35.6%, signaling a rapidly expanding footprint. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is the 61 franchised locations, though the growth trajectory suggests that number will rise. The operator base is small and concentrated: only two mapped operators appear in the FDD, both single-unit, with locations in Washington and Illinois. No multi-unit operators are on file, meaning every sale is likely a direct conversation with the franchisor or a single-location owner following HQ’s lead.
Who controls software purchasing
The 2025 FDD lists five executives in Item 1: Lindsay Junk (Chief Executive Officer), Ryan McEvoy (President), Trevor Lucas (Chief Financial Officer), Bob McQuillan (Chief Development Officer), and Anthony Geisler (Chief Executive Officer of Sequel Brands). No dedicated CIO or VP of Technology is named, so software purchasing authority likely sits with the CEO and President, with the CFO involved in budget approval. Because Body20 mandates a core operational system, the franchisor clearly exerts top-down control over technology decisions. Vendors should expect to engage at the HQ level rather than selling location by location.
Mandated and current tech stack
Body20 mandates Mindbody by Mindbody, Inc. across all units. Mindbody is a well-known platform in the fitness industry, handling scheduling, point-of-sale, and client management. The FDD does not disclose any other mandated or recommended systems, which leaves room for complementary software in areas like payroll, accounting, marketing automation, or specialized fitness tracking—provided those tools integrate with or sit alongside Mindbody. Vendors offering direct replacements for Mindbody face a high barrier, as the mandate is explicit and system-wide.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so Body20’s procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known. Similarly, Item 17 renewal signals and the initial franchise term are not disclosed in the available data. This lack of visibility makes it difficult to predict contract cycles. However, with 35.6% unit growth, new franchisees are onboarding regularly, and each new location represents a fresh software decision point under the franchisor’s guidance. Vendors should monitor new openings and be prepared to align with HQ’s technology roadmap.
How to read the Body20 FDD
The Body20 franchise disclosure document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. It contains the legal and operational details that govern the franchise system, including the mandated technology stack, executive team, and unit economics. For software vendors, the FDD is the most reliable source of truth on who controls purchasing and what systems are already in place. Review the embedded PDF below to examine the full document, and use the data points here to qualify Body20 as a target account. For a ranked list of franchise systems that match your software category, reach out to FranCloud.
Questions vendors ask
Body20, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Body20 files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| WA | 1 |
|---|---|
| IL | 1 |
Ownership
The portfolio behind Body20
strategic_multibrand of Sequel Brands.
Sibling brands
Related Fitness brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.