From the filings

HQ-led decisions

BALENSI SPA

Personal services

Software purchasing at Balensi Spa is controlled at the headquarters level by President/CEO Jean-Michel Balensi and Vice President Lorena Balensi. The 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document does not list any mandated or recommended technology systems, leaving the current tech stack undefined for vendors. With only one company-owned unit and no franchised locations reported, the addressable market is extremely small—a single location in California.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
1
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2023
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$39K
per unit
Investment range
$183K–$433K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2023)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2023)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

5 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Facebook
Mandatory
MarketingItem 10

e” includes: Internet and World Wide Web home pages, as well as other electronic sites (such as business citations, Google and Bing business listings, social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, L

LinkedIn
Mandatory
MarketingItem 10

et and World Wide Web home pages, as well as other electronic sites (such as business citations, Google and Bing business listings, social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest,

Pinterest
Mandatory
MarketingItem 10

ld Wide Web home pages, as well as other electronic sites (such as business citations, Google and Bing business listings, social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp, blo

Twitter
Mandatory
MarketingItem 10

s: Internet and World Wide Web home pages, as well as other electronic sites (such as business citations, Google and Bing business listings, social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, P

Yelp
Mandatory
MarketingItem 10

home pages, as well as other electronic sites (such as business citations, Google and Bing business listings, social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp, blogs and other

Instagram
MarketingItem 8

written permission, in any Social Media such as Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Yelp and others (currently franchisees are authorized to participate on Yelp, Facebook and Instagram). You must

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 10

We reserve the right to have independent access to all information that you store in any POS system, computer, laptop, tablet, social media platform, mobile app platform or software related to the Business (Franchise Agreement Sections X.E, XII.H, XII.I, XIV.A and XX.A).

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Balensi Spa, Inc. which is our affiliate, is currently the only approved vendor and supplier for all cosmetic tools to be purchased by you for the operation of your Business.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may change our standards and specifications, as a result of experience or changes in the marketplace and we will issue such changes to all franchisees.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

No such revenues were received from required purchases made by franchisees in the prior fiscal year.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may derive revenue through license fees, promotional fees, advertising allowances, rebates, commissions or other monies paid by approved suppliers.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

It is anticipated that during the operation of your Franchised Business, required purchases from us, our affiliates or the vendors that we specify or approve (not including rent, royalties or labor costs) are estimated to be approximately 75%-90% of your total monthly purchases in the continuing operation of your…

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

you will be responsible for paying us an assessment fee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

unless you first submit a written request to us for approval and agree to be responsible for all product, vendor and equipment assessment fees as described in Item 6.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 8

We will enforce these limitations by using “secret shoppers” or unannounced on-site visits to your Spa on a regular basis.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 10

We have the right to add to, and otherwise modify, any manual, including the Operations Manual, to reflect changes in authorized equipment, products and services, as well as changes in specifications, standards and operating procedures of a Balensi Spa™ Business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 10

Unless we approve otherwise in writing, you may not establish a separate Website and will only have one web page, as we designate and approve, within our website.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

Includes minimum amount of $6,000 for grand opening expenses, which must be spent one month prior and one month after the Business is open for operation.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 10

You spend a minimum of $1,500 per quarter on local advertising and promotion for your Business after your Business is deemed open for operation (as defined in Item 6).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate, gift card, rewards or loyalty program we establish.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You cannot purchase unapproved equipment, products, supplies and services from any vendors and/or suppliers that are not on our pre-approved list without our written permission.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You must purchase only approved technology items that meet our specifications, which may change from time to time.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Royalty fees shall be payable by direct deposit from franchisee’s account to us and all royalty fees are imposed by us only.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate, gift card, rewards or loyalty program we establish.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Your Office Manager must devote all of his or her time and effort to the personal supervision of the Business, must be present at the Spa whenever it is open for operation (within reason) and must use his or her best efforts in the operation of the Spa.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 7

You must purchase black logoed scrubs for your service providers and all other employees either from us, our affiliates and/or our approved vendors.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 6

You are required to use specific point of sale (“POS” or “POS system”) technology and software for the operation of your Business.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 10

We reserve the right to have independent access to all information that you store in any POS system, computer, laptop, tablet, social media platform, mobile app platform or software related to the Business (Franchise Agreement Sections X.E, XII.H, XII.I, XIV.A and XX.A).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 10

We will also provide you with access to additional or refresher training programs that may be conducted through the telephone, webinars or video training at no cost to you.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 10
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 10

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. With 298 active personal services brands, I can't see which ones are growing or have the tech gaps my product fills, so I waste weeks chasing the wrong targets.A rep burning 10 hours/week on manual research at $50/hr loses $26,000/year. FranCloud's fit_scoring and corpus_search surface high-fit brands in seconds, reclaiming that time for selling.
  2. 68.6% of brands mandate no accounting system, meaning 93 brands are ripe for displacement, but I lack the unit-count and financial context to prioritize them.Focusing on the wrong 10 brands costs a rep 2+ deals per quarter. FranCloud's fit_scoring layers AUV and unit growth onto tech gaps, so reps chase only the 93 with real revenue potential.
  3. Even when I know which brands to target, I can't get reliable decision-maker contacts for the 277 brands with disclosed unit counts.SDRs spend 5+ hours/week hunting contacts. FranCloud's contact_enrichment delivers verified contacts in-line, saving 260 hours/year per rep and adding 15% more meetings.

The vendor opportunity at Balensi Spa

Balensi Spa operates a single company-owned location in California, according to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document. The FDD reports no franchised units, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. For software vendors, the addressable market is limited to this one corporate spa. The brand sits in the personal services segment, with a royalty rate of 6.0% on gross sales. Average unit volume is not reported in the FDD, and the initial franchise term length is also not disclosed.

Because the business is entirely corporate-owned, any software sale would be a direct-to-HQ engagement. There is no franchisee network to sell into, no multi-unit operators mapped in our corpus, and no parent company on file—Balensi Spa appears independently owned. Vendors should weigh the small footprint against the potential for a deep, relationship-driven account if the HQ team invests in technology.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2023 FDD lists five individuals in Item 1. Jean-Michel Balensi serves as President and CEO, and Lorena Balensi is Vice President. The remaining three executives hold training roles: Maria Gonzalez (Training Coordinator), Catherine Almirol (Massage Training Coordinator), and Ciara Steven (Esthetician Training Coordinator). With no CIO, CTO, or IT director named, software purchasing authority most likely rests with the President/CEO and Vice President. In a single-unit operation, these executives are the de facto buying center for any operational or back-office technology.

Vendors should prepare for a direct conversation with ownership. The absence of a franchised network means no field-level influencers or franchisee advisory councils exist to complicate or accelerate a sale. The decision-making chain is short, but the budget may be constrained by the scale of a one-location business.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2023 FDD does not identify any mandated or recommended technology vendors. There is no mention of a specific point-of-sale system, spa management platform, online booking tool, payment processor, or CRM. Item 11, which typically lists required technology purchases, contains no extract in our data. This does not mean Balensi Spa uses no software—it means the franchisor has not disclosed any mandatory systems to franchisees, likely because there are no franchisees to mandate them for.

For a vendor, this is a blank slate. The spa may be using off-the-shelf tools or manual processes. Discovery calls should probe for current pain points in scheduling, client management, inventory, and payment processing. Without a legacy system to displace, the sales motion may be shorter, but the lack of a tech mandate also means there is no forced upgrade cycle to exploit.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which covers procurement restrictions, contains no extract in our data. It is unknown whether Balensi Spa requires franchisees—if any existed—to buy from designated suppliers or allows open-market purchasing. For a corporate-owned unit, procurement is likely informal and managed by the executives named above.

Item 17, covering renewal, termination, and transfer, also provides no extract. The initial term length is not disclosed, and there is no information on when contract windows might open. Without a franchise network or a disclosed renewal cycle, software vendors cannot time their outreach around FDD-driven events. The best approach is a direct, value-led pitch to the HQ team, focusing on how technology can support any future franchising ambitions or improve the single-unit operation.

How to read the Balensi Spa FDD

The Balensi Spa Franchise Disclosure Document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. It is the primary legal document governing the franchise offering and contains critical details for vendors: executive names, unit counts, financial performance representations (if any), and technology or procurement mandates. The embedded PDF viewer below hosts the full FDD. Review Item 1 for leadership, Item 11 for tech obligations, Item 8 for supplier rules, and Item 17 for renewal timing. If you sell software into personal services brands, FranCloud can help you build a ranked target list based on real FDD data.

Questions vendors ask

BALENSI SPA, answered from the filing

President/CEO Jean-Michel Balensi and Vice President Lorena Balensi are the named executives in the 2023 FDD. With a single corporate unit, purchasing decisions likely route through them directly.
The 2023 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended POS, booking, or operational technology systems for Balensi Spa.
The 2023 FDD reports one company-owned location. No franchised units are listed, making this a single-unit personal services operation in California.
Item 8 of the 2023 FDD provides no extract on procurement restrictions. It is not disclosed whether Balensi Spa uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement model.
The 2023 FDD does not include renewal terms or contract windows in Item 17. With no franchised units and a single corporate location, standard sales-cycle timing is unpredictable.
The Balensi Spa FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2023. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to read the full disclosure document directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

BALENSI SPA2023 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment BALENSI SPA files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

CA1

Related Personal services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.