From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Always Ice Cream

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing control at Always Ice Cream sits at headquarters, not with franchised operators: the 2025 FDD Item 1 lists Ross Cohen, Adam Cohen, and Mark Cohen as members and Mr. Cohen as manager, with no operators mapped in FranCloud's corpus. FranCloud has not captured any mandated or recommended technology systems or vendors from the filing. The addressable footprint is small—5 total units, 5 reported company-owned—making this a limited vendor target.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
$667K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$249K–$608K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Standards based
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

15 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 12 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 15

You must use the standard reporting forms and bookkeeping methods provided for in the Operating Manual.

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We intend to form an Advisory Council composed of franchisees to advise us on advertising and other issues.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to modify the Operating Manual at any time during the term of the franchise, including adding new or different mandatory and suggested specifications, standards, operating procedures, policies and rules, however, no such modification will conflict with the expressly enumerated terms of the…

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

As of December 31, 2024, we did not derive revenue, rebates or other material considerations based on required purchases or leases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 10% of purchases required to open your Always Ice Cream® restaurant and 50% of purchases required to operate your Always Ice Cream® restaurant will be from us or from other approved suppliers and in accordance with our specifications.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to charge fees for testing and evaluating proposed and approved suppliers and may impose limitations on the number of approved suppliers of any product.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Subject to the provisions of Paragraph 15 of the Franchise Agreement, you may purchase from any source ingredients, supplies and materials which conform to the specifications and quality standards established by us from time to time in our sole and absolute discretion.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee and Always Ice Cream Systems agree that Always Ice Cream Systems has the sole rights to and interest in all telephone numbers and directory listings associated with any Mark and the Franchisee authorizes Always Ice Cream Systems to direct the telephone company and all listing agencies to transfer any…

Franchise management

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to modify the Operating Manual at any time during the term of the franchise, including adding new or different mandatory and suggested specifications, standards, operating procedures, policies and rules, however, no such modification will conflict with the expressly enumerated terms of the…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to examine and approve as to conformity with the requirements of the Franchise Agreement, the lease, sublease or purchase agreement for the site of the restaurant, and you agree that you will not execute a lease which has for any reason not been approved in advance by us or which has been…

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 6

In addition to the advertising fee for “common” advertising conducted by us, you will be required to spend at least 1% of gross sales on individual franchise store advertising.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We require that all franchise royalty fees, advertising contributions and other amounts due from You be paid by means of electronic funds transfers (“EFT”) as may be further described in the Operating Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you buy or use a Toast POS system.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to retrieve any data and information from your Toast POS system that we deem appropriate, including electronically polling the daily sales and other data of Your Always Ice Cream® store.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

Provide ongoing and additional training to you (or, if applicable, your designated manager), if we decide to require and/or offer such training.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?Item 15
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 6
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Always Ice Cream

Always Ice Cream is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Maryland. The 2025 FDD in FranCloud reports 5 total units, with 5 reported as company-owned; the franchised unit count is not clearly disclosed in the extract. The reported average unit volume is $666,902, and the royalty rate is 6.0%. The initial term length and year-over-year unit growth are not disclosed. FranCloud has no parent company on file, which suggests the concept is independently owned.

Because the system is this small, software vendors should treat Always Ice Cream as a low-volume target. The total addressable unit count is only five, so a deal's value must come from product depth or an HQ relationship rather than a large rollout. That does not make the account irrelevant, but it changes how a vendor should rank it against larger franchise systems.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD Item 1 lists Ross Cohen, Adam Cohen, and Mark Cohen as members, and Mr. Cohen as manager. No dedicated chief information officer, chief technology officer, procurement officer, or other technology buyer is named in the extract. FranCloud has not mapped any franchise operators for Always Ice Cream in its corpus, which is consistent with a company-owned or nearly company-owned system where software purchasing authority sits at HQ.

A vendor pitching this brand should treat the Cohen ownership and management group as the buying center. However, the absence of a named functional IT or procurement leader means the first sales call may need to identify who at HQ owns operations, finance, and technology decisions in practice.

Mandated and current tech stack

FranCloud has not captured any mandated or recommended technology systems or vendors from the Always Ice Cream FDD. That covers POS, payroll, online ordering, delivery, loyalty, accounting, inventory, and related operational software in the current extract. There is no named incumbent to unseat and no stated technology mandate to align against.

For software sellers, the practical implication is that this is an unstacked or undisclosed environment. A pitch should first establish what the five company-owned locations run day-to-day, because the FDD data does not answer that question. If a vendor assumes a competitor is already installed, that assumption is not supported by the current FranCloud extract.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The 2025 FDD provides no Item 8 procurement extract in FranCloud. This means the filing does not currently identify a designated supplier model, an approved supplier model, or an open procurement model. Item 17 renewal detail is also not captured, and the initial term length is not disclosed. The royalty rate is 6.0%, but that does not create a technology contract window.

With only five company-owned units and no operator footprint mapped in FranCloud, there is little evidence of a franchisee-driven replacement cycle. The realistic opening for a software vendor is a direct HQ initiative—such as a new system project, an operational efficiency push, or a compliance need—rather than a system-wide renewal event. Vendors should monitor for signals from the Cohen management group rather than waiting for a franchisee base to hit a contract deadline.

How to read the Always Ice Cream FDD

The embedded PDF viewer below lets you read the Always Ice Cream FDD as filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. Focus on Item 1 for the decision-maker names listed above, Item 8 for any procurement restrictions, and Item 11 for any technology or equipment requirements that may be disclosed in the full filing but not captured in the structured FranCloud extract. The current extract does not show a mandated stack, so reading the full Item 11 is the fastest way to confirm whether the franchisor is silent on technology or simply not captured in this dataset. Talk to FranCloud when you need a ranked target list that tells you whether this account is worth the call.

Questions vendors ask

Always Ice Cream, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD Item 1 lists Ross Cohen, Adam Cohen, and Mark Cohen as members and Mr. Cohen as manager. No dedicated IT, CIO, or procurement officer is disclosed. With no franchised operators mapped, software buying appears concentrated at this small HQ ownership/management group.
FranCloud has not captured any mandated or recommended POS or operational tech from the 2025 FDD. Treat this as an open, unstacked account rather than a replacement sale; verify current systems directly with HQ before assuming a competitor is installed.
The 2025 FDD reports 5 total units, all reported as company-owned. It is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Maryland. The franchised unit count is not clearly disclosed in the FranCloud extract, so vendors should treat the addressable footprint as roughly five locations.
Item 8 procurement restrictions were not captured in FranCloud's extract, so the designated-supplier vs approved-supplier vs open model is not known. With no franchised operator base mapped, there is little evidence of a franchisor-controlled supply chain for technology; confirm directly with HQ.
Item 17 renewal detail, initial term length, and recent unit growth were not disclosed in the 2025 FDD extract. With only five company-owned units and no operator footprint mapped, trigger-based timing is weak. Treat inbound inquiries or HQ-led projects as the realistic opening.
The 2025 Always Ice Cream FDD has been filed with state franchise regulators. Use the embedded PDF viewer below to read the relevant Items, especially Item 1 (executives), Item 8 (procurement), and Item 11 (systems). FranCloud flags vendor-relevant language so you do not have to parse the full PDF manually.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Always Ice Cream2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Always Ice Cream files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Always Ice Cream’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.