From the filings

+100% franchised outlets YoYHQ-led decisions

Advantage College Planning

Education

Software purchasing at Advantage College Planning is controlled at the franchisor level, with the FDD mandating six specific technology platforms across all locations. The system consists of just 5 total units (4 franchised, 1 company-owned) as of 2024, but year-over-year unit growth of 100% signals a rapidly expanding footprint. For vendors, the addressable market is small today but the mandated tech stack creates a clear integration and replacement roadmap.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
4 franchised
Franchised outlet growth
+100%
Item 20, last two year-ends
AUV
—
Item 19
Royalty
7% component; full terms unconfirmed
percentage component
Ad fund
1%
percentage component
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$71K–$101K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ordinary royalty terms

7% component; full terms unconfirmed

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed for the selected filing.

Recorded percentage components

These are recorded percentage components. Each has its own base and conditions; the chart does not state the total payment or confirm ad-fund completeness.

1recorded components (FY2024)

Recorded percentage components (FY2024)Ad fund 1%. Components use their own filing bases and conditions. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

3 technology requirements are recorded in this filing. A required choice lists alternatives for one obligation. Read each cited clause for its conditions.

CollegePlannerProCollegePlannerPro
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 7

4089442v5.JLK.30901.G55641 13 Note 5. Your costs for signage will vary depending on the size of your façade. Our low estimate assumes that your Center will be in a shared services location with the door sign provided. Our estimates include wall signage for the exterior of the building, interior signage such as logo graphics for windows, and interior brand identification such as wall graphics. Note 6. The Technology Fee will include the costs for your right to use the approved software, which is currently CollegePlannerPro. Note 7. The computer equipment you must purchase includes an Apple computer or laptop and other specified hardware and software. See Item 11 for a complete list of the hardware and software you will need for your Center.

QuickBooksIntuit
Mandatory
AccountingItem 11

Currently, the required equipment consists of an Apple computer or laptop, an all-in-one printer/scanner/copier/fax machine, projector, and smart phone. Details are outlined in the Brand Standards Manual. We currently require you to purchase and use the following software: QuickBooks ($30 per month), QuickBooks Payroll ($50 per month), Zoom video conferencing ($15 per month), and Slack Collaboration Software, ($15 per month). Additionally, you must purchase student assessment software: You Science aptitude assessment ($10 per student beginning with first client) and Do What You Are personality assessment ($25 per student beginning with first client). We require you to purchase access for each of your students to the College Kickstart platform ($60 per student per year beginning with the first client). Finally, we require you to use CollegePlannerPro software. The current CollegePlannerPro Terms of Use are set forth in Exhibit L of this Disclosure Document. The cost of the software is currently included in your monthly Technology Fee, which is $150 per month, plus $100 per user. We estimate the annual expenses of your required hardware and software, including your Technology Fees, will be about $5,000 to $6,500. We estimate that the initial cost to purchase the software and hardware is between $1,965 and $3,975, plus the monthly Technology Fees. Currently the types of data generated and stored on the required Computer Systems includes client information, transaction information, financial information, operations and managerial information, communications with clients and staff, scheduling information, and substantive consulting materials.

QuickBooks PayrollIntuit
Mandatory
PayrollItem 11

Currently, the required equipment consists of an Apple computer or laptop, an all-in-one printer/scanner/copier/fax machine, projector, and smart phone. Details are outlined in the Brand Standards Manual. We currently require you to purchase and use the following software: QuickBooks ($30 per month), QuickBooks Payroll ($50 per month), Zoom video conferencing ($15 per month), and Slack Collaboration Software, ($15 per month). Additionally, you must purchase student assessment software: You Science aptitude assessment ($10 per student beginning with first client) and Do What You Are personality assessment ($25 per student beginning with first client). We require you to purchase access for each of your students to the College Kickstart platform ($60 per student per year beginning with the first client). Finally, we require you to use CollegePlannerPro software. The current CollegePlannerPro Terms of Use are set forth in Exhibit L of this Disclosure Document. The cost of the software is currently included in your monthly Technology Fee, which is $150 per month, plus $100 per user. We estimate the annual expenses of your required hardware and software, including your Technology Fees, will be about $5,000 to $6,500. We estimate that the initial cost to purchase the software and hardware is between $1,965 and $3,975, plus the monthly Technology Fees. Currently the types of data generated and stored on the required Computer Systems includes client information, transaction information, financial information, operations and managerial information, communications with clients and staff, scheduling information, and substantive consulting materials.

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You are required to purchase an accounting system, as specified in the Brand Standards Manuals, from an approved vendor and such related hardware and other software as we require from an approved supplier.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have the free and unfettered right to independently retrieve any data and information from your Computer Systems as we, in our sole discretion, deem appropriate.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

provided that Franchisor reserves the right to amend and/or modify such list(s) at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the last fiscal year (January 1, 2023 to December 1, 2023), neither we nor our affiliates received any revenue, rebates, or other material consideration from our franchisees’ required purchases or leases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

10

Item 8

The cost of the items that you must purchase from us, our affiliates or from suppliers designated by us represents between 10% and 15% of your total purchases in operating your Center.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Testing or Supplier Costs and expenses Upon request If requested by you, you will Approval Fee pay all fees and costs incurred by us to obtain the necessary information and evaluate suppliers, products, or services prior to giving approval for new suppliers, services, and products.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use goods, services, or suppliers that we have not approved, you must first submit to us certain information, including product or service specifications, product or service components, product or service performance history, product samples, supplier information, and any other relevant information.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

Upon termination, expiration, or non-renewal, you may have to assign your lease, phone numbers, listings, and Online Presences to us without compensation.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 6

As incurred. If we implement a quality Review Services control program, you will pay your share of the costs and expenses of the program.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We may modify this material from time to time and its modified terms are binding on you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our acceptance of your site.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $3,000 on grand opening advertising, marketing, promotional items, and giveaways during the time period that begins 30 days before you open for business and ends 60 days after.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you spend at least $1,500 per year on local advertisement.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You will be obligated to offer and sell those new products and services and to participate in all local, regional, and promotional program initiatives and campaigns, including membership programs and loyalty programs, adopted by us in which we require you to participate.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase access for each of your students to access a college admissions tracking and planning platform from our approved supplier, which is currently College Kickstart.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Where we have designated an approved supplier, you must use that supplier.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require Franchisee to remit payment of the Royalty and other fees by electronic funds transfer (“EFT”).

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You are required to use the hardware and software approved by us and as discussed later in this Item 11.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the free and unfettered right to independently retrieve any data and information from your Computer Systems as we, in our sole discretion, deem appropriate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor also reserves the right to charge an additional fee and to require attendance at additional trainings, conferences, or conventions.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

Franchisees are required to attend all conferences and other required training courses.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 15

The vendor opportunity at Advantage College Planning

Advantage College Planning is a small but fast-growing education franchise based in North Carolina. The 2024 Franchise Disclosure Document reports 5 total units — 4 franchised and 1 company-owned — representing 100% year-over-year unit growth. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is limited to these 5 locations, but the growth trajectory and centralized tech mandates make this a system worth watching.

Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. These economics suggest franchisees operate on a model where technology compliance is non-negotiable, creating a captive environment for the tools already embedded in the system.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD lists Brooke Daly as the Registered Agent, but no additional C-suite or technology leadership is disclosed in Item 1. In systems this small, the Registered Agent often serves as the de facto decision-maker or gatekeeper for vendor relationships. With only one company-owned unit and four franchised locations, purchasing authority is almost certainly centralized at the franchisor level rather than distributed to individual operators.

Vendors approaching Advantage College Planning should expect a single-threaded sales process. There is no parent company on file; the brand appears independently owned. No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, meaning every franchisee likely reports directly to the franchisor for technology decisions.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2024 FDD mandates six specific technology platforms across all units. College Kickstart and CollegePlannerPro form the core of the college planning workflow. Do What You Are and You Science handle student assessments and career alignment. Hive provides project management or collaboration capabilities. QuickBooks by Intuit Inc. and QuickBooks Payroll cover accounting and payroll functions.

This stack is notable for what it excludes: no CRM, no marketing automation, no LMS, and no traditional point-of-sale system are mandated. For vendors in those categories, the absence of a mandate represents a greenfield opportunity — if you can reach the decision-maker before a competitor becomes entrenched.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no extract regarding procurement restrictions. This means the franchisor has not publicly committed to a designated-supplier or approved-supplier model in the disclosure document. In practice, this could mean franchisees have some autonomy in non-mandated categories, or it could mean the franchisor controls purchasing informally without documenting it in Item 8.

Renewal terms are detailed in Item 17. Franchisees must be in good standing, exercise their option within a specified window, agree to the then-current Franchise Agreement, make required upgrades to their Center, secure a sufficiently long lease term, sign a release, and pay a renewal fee of 25% of the then-current franchise fee. For software vendors, renewal periods represent natural inflection points where new technology requirements may be introduced.

How to read the Advantage College Planning FDD

The full 2024 FDD is embedded below for your review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (Franchisor's Obligations), where the mandated technology stack is enumerated, and Item 17 (Renewal, Termination, Transfer), which governs when franchisees may be required to adopt new systems. Item 8 (Restrictions on Sources of Products and Services) should be checked for any procurement language not captured in our extract.

With 5 units and 100% growth, Advantage College Planning is at an inflection point where technology decisions made today will scale across future locations. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize where to point your outbound efforts.

Ordinary royalty terms

Complete royalty terms are not confirmed.

Questions vendors ask

Advantage College Planning, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Brooke Daly as Registered Agent; no additional executives are disclosed. Given the mandated tech stack, purchasing authority appears centralized at the franchisor level rather than with individual franchisees.
The 2024 FDD mandates College Kickstart, CollegePlannerPro, Do What You Are, Hive, QuickBooks by Intuit Inc., QuickBooks Payroll, and You Science. No traditional POS is specified; operations run on this education-focused suite.
As of the 2024 FDD, there are 5 total units: 4 franchised and 1 company-owned. The system saw 100% year-over-year unit growth, indicating active expansion.
Item 8 of the FDD provides no extract on procurement restrictions. Without explicit language, the model is not publicly defined as designated-supplier, approved-supplier, or open.
Initial franchise terms run 10 years. Renewal conditions require agreement to then-current terms, potential system upgrades, and a 25%-of-franchise-fee renewal payment. Contract windows may align with renewal cycles or new unit openings.
The 2024 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below for full Item 11 tech disclosures, Item 17 renewal terms, and executive listings.
Source

Read the filing itself

Read the original document for the filing figures and their terms, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Advantage College Planning2024 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

Request an email alert when a newer filing for Advantage College Planning is available.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Related Education brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Read the original filing for definitions, conditions, and qualifications.