From the filings

+100% units YoYHQ-led decisions

85C Bakery Cafe

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions at 85C Bakery Cafe are controlled at the corporate headquarters in California, where the executive team manages a predominantly company-owned system of 88 US locations. The brand mandates Clover by Fiserv, Inc. as its point-of-sale system, creating a known tech environment for vendors offering adjacent or complementary solutions. With only 6 franchised units and 82 company-owned stores, the addressable market for franchisee-focused software is extremely limited, making a direct HQ sales strategy essential.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
88
6 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+100%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
6.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$819K–$1.77M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
3 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6.5%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6.5%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Clover
Mandatory
POSItem 11

pdate the required hardware or software. As of the date of this Franchise Disclosure Document, the only required hardware and software is the POS System. Currently, we utilize the Clover Mini POS Syst

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall establish and maintain at its own expense a bookkeeping, accounting, and record keeping system conforming to the requirements prescribed by Franchisor from time-to-time

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right under the Franchise Agreement to have independent access to all of the information generated and stored in your POS Systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

10.02 Monthly Profit and Loss Statement and Balance Sheet. By the fifteenth (15th) day of each month, a profit and loss statement for the preceding calendar month and a year-to-date profit and loss statement and balance sheet in comparative format, along with any other supporting documentation requested by the…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, our affiliates, Perfect is the sole supplier of certain items such as premixes, pre-packed products, packaging materials, frozen dough and semi-finished products.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may modify the list of approved brands, products and suppliers, and will notify you, in writing, of any modification.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to affiliate ourselves with suppliers or become an approved supplier or the sole supplier, and/or receive revenues, rebate, commissions or other benefits from purchases made by our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

95

Item 8

The purchase of products from approved sources will represent approximately 95% of your overall purchases in opening the franchise and 95% of your overall purchases in operating the franchise.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Supplier Evaluation Our costs As incurred Payable if you request to utilize a supplier that is not already approved by us.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisee proposes to sell any food product or beverage, or use any ingredients, flavorings, garnishes, or containers, cartons, bags, boxes, paper or plastic goods, packaging supplies or other materials, or Materials of any type, or to purchase such items from a distributor or other supplier who has not been…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that as between Franchisor and Franchisee, Franchisor has the sole right to and interest in all telephone numbers, directory listings, and web addresses used to promote the Franchised Restaurant and/or associated with any of the Proprietary Marks.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall present to its customers such customer evaluation forms as are periodically prescribed by Franchisor and shall participate and/or request that its customers participate in all marketing surveys performed by or on behalf of Franchisor.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

we have the right at any reasonable time and without prior notice to inspect the Franchised Restaurant, observe the Franchised Restaurant operations and interview employees and customers.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve each site for your Franchised Restaurant in writing prior to your signing a lease or a purchase agreement for the property.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee may not establish any Social Media Sites without Franchisor’s prior written consent.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You have to conduct a grand opening campaign and spend a minimum of $10,000 for such campaign within 30 days of opening your Franchised Restaurant to the general public.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

We require you, if permitted by applicable law, to participate in various programs and activities with other 85°C Bakery Cafes, including programs in which customers place orders via the Internet or cellular telephone “text messaging” and any gift card or loyalty program we or our affiliates may establish from time…

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

Therefore, you are required to purchase all products, services, supplies, inventory, equipment, materials, computer systems (including POS System) and other items required for the operation of the Franchised Restaurant from manufacturers, suppliers, or distributors we approve, or from other suppliers who meet our…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Therefore, you are required to purchase all products, services, supplies, inventory, equipment, materials, computer systems (including POS System) and other items required for the operation of the Franchised Restaurant from manufacturers, suppliers, or distributors we approve, or from other suppliers who meet our…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Accordingly, you must purchase at least one POS System from our approved supplier.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to allow Franchisor to automatically debit all Continuing Royalties (as defined by Section 6.02) and other fees, including but not limited to the Marketing Fee (as defined by Section 9.01) and the IT Support Fee (as defined by Section 6.04) from the bank account designated on the ACH Authorization…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

We require you, if permitted by applicable law, to participate in various programs and activities with other 85°C Bakery Cafes, including programs in which customers place orders via the Internet or cellular telephone “text messaging” and any gift card or loyalty program we or our affiliates may establish from time…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchised Restaurant must at all times be directly supervised by Franchisee or by a designated restaurant general manager (“Restaurant Manager”) acceptable to Franchisor in Franchisor’s reasonable discretion.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall require all employees to maintain a neat and clean appearance and to conform to the standards of dress and uniforms specified by Franchisor from time-to-time for the Franchised Restaurants.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Accordingly, you must purchase at least one POS System from our approved supplier.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right under the Franchise Agreement to have independent access to all of the information generated and stored in your POS Systems.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you, any previously trained Restaurant Manager, or any current Restaurant Manager to attend periodic refresher courses at a location selected by us.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at 85C Bakery Cafe

85C Bakery Cafe operates 88 quick-service restaurant locations in the United States, with a footprint that is overwhelmingly company-owned. Of the total units, 82 are corporate stores and only 6 are franchised, according to the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. This structure fundamentally shapes the software sales opportunity: the addressable market for tools sold to individual franchise operators is negligible. Instead, a vendor’s path to revenue runs through a single, centralized buyer at the brand’s California headquarters.

The system posted 100% year-over-year unit growth, a signal of active expansion and potential greenfield implementations. However, the absolute number of new units remains small relative to larger chains. The initial franchise term is 10 years, and the royalty rate is 6.5% of gross sales. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD lists five executives in Item 1, providing a clear map of the buying center. Ming Hua Kuo serves as Chief Executive Officer. For a technology vendor, the CEO is the ultimate economic buyer in a system of this size, where major operational tools are likely approved at the top. The business development function is supervised by Keshia Panganiban and Simone Davis, either of whom may serve as a champion or gatekeeper for solutions that promise to improve unit economics or operational efficiency.

On the franchise relations side, Raul Garcia holds the title of Director of Franchise Relations, supported by Multi-Unit Manager Jeffrey Louie. While the franchisee base is tiny, these individuals are the primary points of contact for the few independent operators and would likely be involved in any technology rollout that touches franchised locations.

Mandated and current tech stack

Item 11 of the FDD reveals a hard technology mandate: the point-of-sale system is Clover by Fiserv, Inc., and the specific hardware required is the Clover Mini POS System. This is a critical piece of intelligence for any software vendor. If your product integrates with or depends on the POS, you must be compatible with the Clover ecosystem. If your product competes with or replaces the POS, you face a mandated incumbent and will need to build a compelling displacement case for the CEO and operations leadership.

No other mandated or recommended technology systems are named in the available data. The procurement restrictions from Item 8 were not extracted in our corpus, so it is not possible to confirm from this dataset whether the brand forces purchases through a designated supplier or allows operators to source from approved vendors.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Because the Item 8 procurement signal is absent from our extract, vendors should consult the full FDD directly to determine whether 85C Bakery Cafe uses a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open purchasing environment. This distinction determines whether you sell to the franchisor’s preferred vendor program or directly to the corporate entity.

The renewal structure offers a potential trigger for technology conversations. Item 17 specifies that a franchisee may renew for a successive term of 5 years, provided they give notice, sign the then-current Successor Franchise Agreement, complete a remodel, and reimburse the franchisor for related expenses. The requirement to sign a new agreement—which may contain different terms than the original—creates a contractual moment when technology mandates can be updated. For a system with 100% unit growth, new store openings represent the most immediate implementation windows.

How to read the 85C Bakery Cafe FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. When reviewing it, focus on Item 11 to confirm the full extent of technology mandates beyond the Clover POS. Cross-reference Item 8 for procurement and sourcing restrictions that will dictate your sales motion. Item 19 may contain financial performance representations that help you build an ROI model, though AUV is not disclosed in the summary data. Finally, Item 1 provides the complete list of executives and their backgrounds, which is essential for mapping the organizational chart before you begin outreach.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize accounts by tech stack compatibility, decision-maker accessibility, and unit growth trajectory.

Questions vendors ask

85C Bakery Cafe, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Chief Executive Officer Ming Hua Kuo and the business development supervisors, Keshia Panganiban and Simone Davis. For operational technology, Director of Franchise Relations Raul Garcia is a key stakeholder given the franchise system's structure.
The 2026 FDD mandates the Clover platform by Fiserv, Inc., specifically naming the Clover Mini POS System as required hardware. This is a hard mandate for the system.
There are 88 total units in the US, comprising 82 company-owned locations and just 6 franchised outlets. The system is classified as a quick-service restaurant.
The specific procurement restrictions from Item 8 were not extracted in our corpus. Vendors should verify directly with the FDD whether a designated supplier, approved supplier, or open purchasing model applies.
The initial franchise term is 10 years. Renewal is for 5 years, contingent on signing a successor agreement, remodeling, and reimbursing expenses. The recent 100% unit growth suggests active system development, which can create new implementation opportunities.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 technology mandates and Item 8 procurement restrictions in detail.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

85C Bakery Cafe2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment 85C Bakery Cafe files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

11 operators run 11 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit11

Top states by locations

HI2
UT2
CA2
TX1
IL1

Ownership

The portfolio behind 85C Bakery Cafe

unknown of gourmet master.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.