From the filings

+6.897% units YoYHQ-led decisions

16 Handles Store

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at 16 Handles Store is controlled at the franchisor level, with Neil Hershman (CEO) and the leadership team listed in the 2026 FDD as key decision-makers. The brand mandates Facebook, QuickBooks, Snapchat, and TikTok, and lists DoorDash, Grubhub, Instagram, and LinkedIn as recommended or current systems. With 31 franchised units, all operated by single-unit franchisees, the addressable market is concentrated but offers a clear entry point through HQ.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
31
31 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+6.897%
vs prior filing
AUV
$805K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$250K–$657K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

4 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

Facebook
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

diately. You must comply with our System standards regarding the use of social media in your Store’s operation (“social media” includes personal blogs, common social networks like Facebook and profess

QuickBooks
Mandatory
AccountingItem 7

gencies Professional Fees $500 to $5,000 As arranged As arranged Accountant; (Note 13) Attorney; Architect © 2025 16 Handles Franchising, LLC 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document 12 QB\95667075.1 To Who

Snapchat
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

absolute discretion, you may promote your Store and/or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on social and/or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Yelp, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok and

TikTok
Mandatory
MarketingItem 11

iscretion, you may promote your Store and/or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on social and/or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Yelp, Instagram, Snapchat, TikTok and X, withou

DoorDash
DeliveryItem 19

e sold and delivered by the same vendor) used in the operation of the Affiliate Stores. This also includes expenses related to delivery of first party orders through services like Doordash Drive. The

Grubhub
DeliveryItem 12

ns, including toll-free numbers, directed to or received from customers or prospective customers located anywhere. This excludes using online third-party delivery channels such as Grubhub, UberEats, a

Instagram
MarketingItem 11

r sole and absolute discretion, you may promote your Store and/or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on social and/or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Yelp, Instagram, Snapchat,

LinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

determine in our sole and absolute discretion, you may promote your Store and/or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on social and/or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Yelp, Insta

Uber Eats
DeliveryItem 12

ding toll-free numbers, directed to or received from customers or prospective customers located anywhere. This excludes using online third-party delivery channels such as Grubhub, UberEats, and Doorda

Yelp
MarketingItem 11

in our sole and absolute discretion, you may promote your Store and/or using the Proprietary Marks in any manner on social and/or networking Websites, such as Facebook, LinkedIn, Yelp, Instagram, Snap

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

24 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to download sales, other data and communications from your Computer System.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall: 12.2.1 Prepare by the tenth (10th) day of each calendar month an income statement and an activity report for the preceding calendar month, which shall be in the form prescribed by Franchisor.

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to change our specifications in the future to take advantage of technological advances or to adapt the system to meet operational needs and changes.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

175021

Item 8

During our fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, we derived $175,021 from required franchisee purchased and leases, which is 9.3% of our total revenue of $1,883,161.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay a charge of the greater of $1,000 or the actual cost of the evaluation and testing.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you desire to purchase unapproved products or Store Items from other than approved suppliers or unapproved products from approved suppliers, you must submit to us a written request to approve the proposed product or supplier, together with evidence of conformity with our specifications as we reasonably require.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee hereby authorizes Franchisor to instruct issuers of any telephone and internet domain name services, and other providers to transfer any such telephone numbers, domain names, websites, addresses, and any other identifiers to Franchisor upon termination of this Agreement, without need for any further…

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in all customer surveys and satisfaction audits, which may require that Franchisee provide discount or complimentary Products.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We may conduct, as we deem advisable, periodic inspections of the Franchised Store and may provide evaluations of the Products sold and services rendered at the Franchised Store.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may from time to time revise the contents of the Manual, and Franchisee expressly agrees to comply with each new or changed standard.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No site shall be deemed approved unless it has been expressly approved in writing by Franchisor.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

A minimum of $10,000 must be spent to conduct the grand opening marketing.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall spend on a yearly basis a minimum of Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate in promotional programs developed by Franchisor or a third party for the System, in the manner directed by Franchisor in the Manual or otherwise in writing.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Immediately upon Franchisor’s request, the Franchisee must become a member of the Cooperative Fund for the area in which some or all of Franchisee’s Designated Territory is located.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a single supplier, which may be us or one of our affiliates, for any products, equipment, supplies, or services, and you must purchase these items exclusively from the designated supplier.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We may designate a single supplier, which may be us or one of our affiliates, for any products, equipment, supplies, or services, and you must purchase these items exclusively from the designated supplier.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

You must pay your royalties and marketing fund contributions by EFT (electronic funds transfer).

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 6

You must participate in the Gift Card program.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall have on duty at all times a minimum of one (1) certified manager, which may be Franchisee, and/or hourly employees trained in management activities who have completed all training and certifications required by Franchisor.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

comply with such uniforms and/or dress code as Franchisor may prescribe

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use our current designated supplier, Toast, for the POS System.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must provide us with independent access to your Computer System in the form and manner that we may request.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If the program is voluntary, Franchisor shall have the right to charge Franchisee a nominal fee for the program, which will be in addition to its attendees’ expenses.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at 16 Handles Store

16 Handles Store is a quick-service restaurant franchise with 31 total units, all franchised, and an average unit volume of $804,648. The brand operates in four states—New York (29 units), New Jersey (14), Connecticut (4), and Florida (2)—and grew unit count by 6.9% year-over-year. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is 31 locations, with no multi-unit operators on file. Every franchisee is a single-unit owner, meaning any technology rollout must be sold through and supported by the franchisor’s HQ team.

The franchise is independently owned, with no parent company disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Royalties run at 6.0% of gross sales, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. Renewal terms are 5 years, subject to signing a new franchise agreement that may contain materially different terms, though fees will not exceed those charged to similarly situated renewing franchisees.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD Item 1 lists the following executives at the franchisor level: Neil Hershman, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Member; Daniel Duncan, Chief Creative Officer; Lisa Mallon, VP of Operations and Training; Frederick Frey, VP of Franchise Development; and Edwina Arroyo, Controller. No CIO or CTO is named. For operational and training software, Lisa Mallon is the likely buyer. For marketing and social media tools, Daniel Duncan’s creative remit makes him the probable decision-maker. Financial and accounting platforms would fall under Edwina Arroyo’s purview. Because all 31 units are franchised and no multi-unit operators exist, there is no separate buying center at the franchisee level—HQ controls technology mandates and recommendations.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD explicitly mandates four platforms: Facebook, QuickBooks, Snapchat, and TikTok. These are non-negotiable for franchisees. Additionally, the brand lists DoorDash, Grubhub, Instagram, and LinkedIn as systems in use, though these are not described as mandated. Notably, no point-of-sale system is named in the available extracts, which may indicate an open or undisclosed POS environment. Vendors selling accounting, social media management, or delivery-integration tools should map their offerings against QuickBooks and the mandated social platforms. A vendor selling a POS or operations platform would need to displace an unknown incumbent or fill a gap not detailed in the FDD.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed. Vendors should approach HQ directly to understand the approval process. The renewal cycle offers a potential window: initial 10-year terms and 5-year renewal terms mean that a portion of the system is always approaching renegotiation. With 6.9% unit growth, new franchisees entering the system represent additional greenfield opportunities. The renewal conditions require franchisees to sign a new agreement, which could trigger technology reassessments if the new terms alter operational requirements.

How to read the 16 Handles Store FDD

The full 2026 FDD is embedded below. Focus on Item 1 for the executive roster and ownership structure, Item 11 for the complete list of mandated and recommended technology systems, and Item 17 for renewal conditions that may influence software switching cycles. The operator footprint data shows 49 mapped operators across approximately 49 located units, all in the single-unit band, confirming a centralized purchasing dynamic. For vendors building a ranked target list, FranCloud can help prioritize franchises like 16 Handles based on tech gaps, growth rates, and decision-maker accessibility.

Questions vendors ask

16 Handles Store, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD lists Neil Hershman (CEO), Daniel Duncan (Chief Creative Officer), Lisa Mallon (VP of Operations and Training), Frederick Frey (VP of Franchise Development), and Edwina Arroyo (Controller). Operations and marketing tech decisions likely route through Mallon and Duncan.
The FDD mandates Facebook, QuickBooks, Snapchat, and TikTok. No POS system is named as mandated. DoorDash, Grubhub, Instagram, and LinkedIn are also referenced as current or recommended platforms.
There are 31 total units, all franchised. The operator footprint shows 49 mapped operators, all single-unit, with locations concentrated in NY (29), NJ (14), CT (4), and FL (2).
The most recent FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not disclosed. Vendors should inquire directly about becoming an approved supplier.
Initial franchise terms are 10 years. Renewal terms are 5 years, contingent on signing a new agreement that may have materially different terms. With 6.9% YoY unit growth, new-unit openings may create near-term opportunities.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 tech mandates, Item 1 executives, and Item 17 renewal conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

16 Handles Store2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment 16 Handles Store files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

49 operators run 49 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit49

Top states by locations

NY29
NJ14
CT4
FL2

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.