From the filings

+24.359% units YoYHQ-led decisions

World of Sourdough Virginia

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at World of Sourdough Virginia is controlled by its principals, Jatinder (Nick) Singh and Lowell Steven Presson, as disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The franchise already mandates a specific tech stack including Como and Heartland systems across 99 total units (97 franchised, 2 company-owned). This creates a narrow addressable market of 99 locations, but the mandated stack signals centralized decision-making for any vendor looking to displace or integrate with existing tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
99
97 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+24.359%
vs prior filing
AUV
$59K
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$330K–$589K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

5%+of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%. Total 5% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

3 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

ComoComo
Mandatory
LoyaltyItem 6

y us, our affiliates, or our approved vendors. In addition, you are required to purchase and use the App and Loyalty Program from our approved vendor, Heartland Loyalty Powered by Como. The fee is $10

HeartlandGlobal Payments
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 6

imposed and collected only by us, our affiliates, or our approved vendors. In addition, you are required to purchase and use the App and Loyalty Program from our approved vendor, Heartland Loyalty Pow

Heartland RestaurantGlobal Payments
Mandatory
POSItem 11

tware that we currently use is not proprietary to us but is proprietary property to the vendor. Currently, you must purchase a computer/POS system from POS Specialists, which uses Heartland Restaurant

DoorDashDoorDash
DeliveryItem 11

ing ordering, timekeeping, Heartland credit card processing, offline credit card processing, Cloud admin portal and reporting, Text to pay, QR code pay, Heartland Gift integrated, Doordash integrated,

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 16

any services on the Internet or in any other media, whether now known or hereinafter invented, unless we otherwise approve it (Currently, franchisees are allowed to participate in Facebook and Instagr

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 16

on the Internet or in any other media, whether now known or hereinafter invented, unless we otherwise approve it (Currently, franchisees are allowed to participate in Facebook and Instagram). You must

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

29 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 1 explicit no; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Use only the chart of bookkeeping accounts prescribed by Franchisor in the then- existing Manual and/or Written Standards or otherwise communicated to Franchisee;

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All data pertaining to the Franchised Restaurant, and all data created or collected by Franchisee in connection with the System, or in connection with Franchisee’s operation of the business (including without limitation data pertaining to or otherwise concerning the Franchised Restaurant’s customers) or otherwise…

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Submit to Franchisor, within ninety days after the end of each calendar year, an income statement certified by Franchisee or by the Designated Individual as accurately reflecting the results of operations of the Franchised Restaurant for the preceding calendar year, together with such other information as may be…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and/or our affiliate(s) are or may become a supplier of certain Products and Restaurant Items.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to change our specifications in the future to take advantage of technological advances or to adapt the system to meet operational needs and changes.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges and agrees that Franchisor and/or its Affiliate(s) may receive fees, commissions, rebates, or other consideration from approved suppliers based upon sales to Franchisee.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that your purchases from approved suppliers will represent approximately 90% to 100% of your total purchases in establishing the Franchised Restaurant, and approximately 90% - 100% in the continuing operation of the Franchised Restaurant.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You will reimburse us for the reasonable cost of all evaluation and testing of such suppliers and/or their products.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you desire to purchase any item from an unapproved supplier (except for Proprietary Products, which are discussed below), you must submit a written request for approval to us or shall request the supplier itself to do so.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Franchisor’s option, assign to Franchisor or Franchisor’s designee all of Franchisee’s right, title and interest in and to, or cancel any and all (i) telephone numbers used for the Franchised Restaurant or otherwise listed under the Trade Name or any of Franchisor’s other trademarks, trade names, service marks or…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may also, at all times during the term of this Agreement and for a period of three years after the termination or expiration of this Agreement, retain an independent party to audit Franchisee’s Business Records.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right, but not the obligation, to develop, add to or otherwise modify the Manual and/or any Written Standards from time to time to reflect changes in any of the System Standards provided that no such addition or modification shall alter Franchisee’s fundamental status and rights under this…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our written approval of your site, which we will not unreasonably withhold.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Except as we approve in advance in writing, you may not establish or maintain a separate website or otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the Internet or any 38 - P a g e other public computer network in connection with your Franchised Restaurant.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

Under the Franchise Agreement, you are required to expend at least $7,500 on grand opening marketing expenses.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, you must spend 1% of your Gross Revenues per month on your own local advertising.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate or gift card program or rewards program we establish.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If we have established a Cooperative applicable to your Franchised Location at the time you begin operation under the Franchise Agreement, you must immediately become a member of such Cooperative.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

you must purchase Proprietary Products only from the suppliers and distributors that we designate in our sole discretion, and you may not offer or sell any Proprietary Products that have not been purchased from us or our designated supplier at or from the Franchised Restaurant.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase all signs, equipment, food, non-alcoholic drinks, inventory, supplies, and other products, materials, and services required for the operation of the Franchise solely from suppliers (including manufacturers, distributors, wholesalers, and brokers) who have been approved or designated by…

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, you must purchase a computer/POS system from POS Specialists, which uses Heartland Restaurant POS System 2x Heartland Restaurant software licenses including ordering, timekeeping, Heartland credit card processing, offline credit card processing, Cloud admin portal and reporting, Text to pay, QR code pay…

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

Royalty fees shall be payable only to us and collected by us through electronic transfer with direct deposit to us from your account.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in any gift certificate or gift card program or rewards program we establish.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

However, the Franchised Restaurant must at all times be under the on-site supervision of a manager.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 16

You must comply with all our standards and specifications relating to the purchase and/or lease, use and sale of all products, kitchen equipment, supplies, furnishings and fixtures, technology items, uniforms, software, signage, and décor items, printed advertising materials and other items to be used, sold, or…

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Currently, you must purchase a computer/POS system from POS Specialists, which uses Heartland Restaurant POS System 2x Heartland Restaurant software licenses including ordering, timekeeping, Heartland credit card processing, offline credit card processing, Cloud admin portal and reporting, Text to pay, QR code pay…

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall also afford Franchisor unimpeded access to Franchisee’s Computer System and Required Software as Franchisor may request, in the manner, form, and at the times requested by Franchisor.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

In very rare instances, we may periodically require that you or your Owners (if you are an entity) and/or manager to complete additional or refresher training programs to correct, improve or enhance the operations of your Franchised Business.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee (or if Franchisee is other than an individual, the Designated Individual), at least biennially, must attend a national meeting of SDCO Franchisees at a location designated by Franchisor.

The filing answers no to 1 question
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at World of Sourdough Virginia

World of Sourdough Virginia operates 99 total units, 97 of which are franchised and 2 company-owned. The brand posted 24.4% year-over-year unit growth, signaling expansion that could eventually widen the addressable market for software vendors. Average unit volume sits at $58,600, and the royalty rate is 5.0%. The initial term length is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. For a vendor, the immediate opportunity is narrow—99 locations—but the centralized tech mandate means a single HQ decision can unlock the entire system.

The operator footprint consists of 157 mapped operators, all single-unit operators. No multi-unit operators exist in the system. The unit-band split is 1:157 for single-unit operators, with zero operators in the 2-9, 10-24, or 25+ bands. This fragmentation among franchisees reinforces HQ's control over technology decisions, as no franchisee has the scale to independently influence procurement.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD names two principals: Jatinder (Nick) Singh and Lowell Steven Presson. These individuals represent the buying center for any software vendor targeting World of Sourdough Virginia. With no parent company on file and an apparently independent ownership structure, Singh and Presson are the de facto decision-makers for technology mandates, renewals, and new vendor evaluations.

Because all 97 franchised locations operate under a mandated tech stack, franchisees do not have autonomy to select their own POS, payment processing, or gift card systems. This makes the HQ relationship the sole path to adoption. Vendors should direct all outreach to Singh and Presson, framing value propositions around system-wide compliance, operational efficiency, and integration with the existing Heartland and Como ecosystem.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD mandates a specific set of technology systems. Como is mandated, though the exact module or function is not detailed in the extract. Heartland provides the operational backbone: Heartland Restaurant POS System, Heartland credit card processing, Heartland Gift, and Heartland Restaurant software licenses are all mandated. This stack covers point-of-sale, payments, and gift card operations across all units.

For a software vendor, this means any new tool must either integrate with Heartland and Como or displace them entirely. Integration is the lower-friction path, given the mandate. Payment processors, loyalty platforms, scheduling tools, or inventory management systems that can layer on top of Heartland's POS and payments infrastructure may find a receptive audience if they can demonstrate incremental value without disrupting the mandated core.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically discloses procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, provides no extract in the available data. This means the procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly known from the filing. Vendors should assume a closed or heavily influenced model given the mandated tech stack, but the exact constraints are not disclosed.

Item 17, covering renewal, termination, and transfer, also provides no extract. Without the initial term length or renewal conditions, it is impossible to estimate when contract windows might open. The 24.4% unit growth rate suggests the system is in an active expansion phase, which could create natural openings for new vendor conversations as new locations come online, but no specific timing signals are available from the FDD.

How to read the World of Sourdough Virginia FDD

The 2026 FDD is the primary source for understanding the franchise's technology mandates, executive structure, and operational footprint. It is filed with state franchise regulators and available for review in the embedded PDF viewer below. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (the principals), Item 11 (the mandated tech stack), and Item 20 (unit counts and geographic spread). Item 8 and Item 17 are not available in the current extract, limiting visibility into procurement rules and contract renewal cycles. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

World of Sourdough Virginia, answered from the filing

Principals Jatinder (Nick) Singh and Lowell Steven Presson are the named executives in the 2026 FDD. With a fully mandated tech stack and no multi-unit operators, purchasing authority is centralized at HQ.
The 2026 FDD mandates Como and Heartland systems: Heartland Restaurant POS, Heartland credit card processing, Heartland Gift, and Heartland Restaurant software licenses.
99 total units: 97 franchised and 2 company-owned. The footprint is concentrated in CA (80), with smaller presences in FL (5), NV (4), AZ (4), and TX (4).
The FDD does not disclose a designated supplier or approved supplier framework in Item 8. The procurement model is not specified in the available extract.
The initial term length and Item 17 renewal conditions are not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Without term or renewal data, contract windows cannot be estimated from the filing.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

World of Sourdough Virginia2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment World of Sourdough Virginia files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.