From the filings

No mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Valentino's

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Valentino's is controlled by its HQ leadership, including President Anthony J. Messineo and EVP A. Michael Alesio. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated technology systems, presenting a greenfield opportunity for vendors. The addressable market consists of 31 total units, split between 16 franchised and 15 company-owned locations.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
31
16 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-5.882%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$15K
per unit
Investment range
$424K–$760K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

20 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 6 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

A balance sheet and a profit and loss statement reflecting the operation of the Restaurant for each calendar month shall be submitted to the Franchisor by the last day of the following month and shall be prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Though, currently, we offer limited supplies that are directly purchased from us, we reserve the right to offer additional products at a future time.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We formulate and modify specifications and standards you must comply with by monitoring and evaluating techniques, products, methods, materials and equipment used in the Valentino’s System and may change the specifications and standards used in the operation of your Restaurant.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

15952

Item 8

In VOA's most recent fiscal year which ended December 31, 2025, VOA's total revenues were $1,308,957, and VOA's total revenues from required purchases of products and services by franchisees were $15,952.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee acknowledges that Franchisor and/or its affiliates will have the right to 17 receive commissions, volume discounts, purchase discounts, performance payments, bonuses, rebates, marketing and advertising allowances, co-op advertising, administrative fees, enhancements, price discounts, economic benefits…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

These costs represent 75% to 85% of your overall purchases and leases in the ongoing operation of the Restaurant.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisor may charge the Franchisee a reasonable fee to cover the Franchisor’s costs incurred in making such determination.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

You may request approval by letter if you provide a sample of or the specifications for the item you would like us to consider.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

notify the telephone company and all listing agencies of the termination or expiration of the Franchisee’s right to use any telephone number and any classified and other telephone directory listings associated with the Marks and to authorize transfer of the same to the Franchisor or as it directs.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisor may inspect and audit all business, accounting and tax records and other forms and supporting records of the Franchisee and the books and records of any corporation, partnership or other entity which owns or operates the Restaurant.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to add to and modify the Operations Manual, and you must agree to comply with each new or changed section.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain our approval before entering into a lease.

Marketing

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall spend a minimum of two percent (2%) of Franchisee’s monthly Gross Sales on local advertising each month on a To-Go Location or Express Unit.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, where called upon by Franchisor, participate in regional, national and/or cooperative advertising designated, approved or established exclusively by Franchisor for the purpose of effectively advertising in certain market areas.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Only approved menu items and products from approved vendors are permitted.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will use the specified system[s] and/or vendor selected or approved by the Franchisor for the Restaurant, including all future updates, supplements, and modifications.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

The day-to-day operations of the Restaurant must be under the direct, full-time, on-premises supervision of a General Manager or Manager who has successfully completed our training program.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will use the specified system[s] and/or vendor selected or approved by the Franchisor for the Restaurant, including all future updates, supplements, and modifications.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will use the specified system[s] and/or vendor selected or approved by the Franchisor for the Restaurant, including all future updates, supplements, and modifications.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

VOA will provide training in addition to the initial training described at an additional charge.

The filing answers no to 6 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 13
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 7
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at Valentino's

Valentino's is a quick-service restaurant brand headquartered in Nebraska with a total footprint of 31 units. The system is composed of 16 franchised locations and 15 company-owned locations. The most recent Franchise Disclosure Document, filed in 2026, shows a year-over-year unit growth rate of -5.882%, indicating a contracting system. For software vendors, this signals a market where the primary opportunity lies in optimizing existing operations rather than onboarding new locations. The operator footprint is highly concentrated, with 18 mapped units in Nebraska and 1 in South Dakota. Of the 17 mapped operators, only 2 are multi-unit operators, with the vast majority running a single location.

Who controls software purchasing

Purchasing decisions are centralized at the brand's headquarters. The 2026 FDD lists the key executives who form the likely buying center. Anthony J. Messineo serves as President of VOA and Vice President for Val Limited. A. Michael Alesio holds the role of Executive Vice President and Director for both entities. The finance function is led by Shelly Falkinburg, the Director of Finance. Field operations are overseen by Matthew Alesio as Field Representative, while Michael Messineo is the President of Val Limited. With no parent company on file, this independent leadership team has direct authority over technology procurement for the entire system.

Mandated and current tech stack

A review of the 2026 FDD reveals no mandated or recommended technology systems for franchisees. No specific POS, back-office, or operational software vendors are named in the captured data. This absence of a mandated tech stack means the brand's 31 locations may be operating on a patchwork of legacy or independently chosen systems. For a software vendor, this represents a significant opportunity to pitch a unified solution directly to HQ, particularly one that can address the needs of both company-owned and franchised units.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not provide an extract from Item 8, leaving the formal procurement model—whether it relies on designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open market—undisclosed. The initial franchise term is 15 years. Renewal conditions, outlined in Item 17, require franchisees to give notice six months before expiration, complete a remodel, pay a fee, and be in substantial compliance. The renewal term is 10 years for To Go Locations and 5 years for Express Locations. Given the long initial term and the recent contraction in unit count, large-scale system-wide technology refreshes are likely tied to these infrequent renewal events or a strategic shift driven by HQ.

How to read the Valentino's FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document provides the legal and operational blueprint for the Valentino's system. It contains the audited financials, the full list of franchisees, and the unredacted franchise agreement that governs the relationship with operators. For a vendor, the FDD is the single most important document for understanding the contractual obligations that could affect technology adoption. You can review the complete filing using the embedded viewer below. For a ranked target list of franchise brands based on your specific software category, talk to FranCloud.

Questions vendors ask

Valentino's, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Anthony J. Messineo (President of VOA), A. Michael Alesio (EVP), and Shelly Falkinburg (Director of Finance), per the 2026 FDD.
The 2026 FDD does not list any mandated or recommended POS or operational technology systems for franchisees.
There are 31 total units: 16 franchised and 15 company-owned. The system saw a -5.9% unit growth rate, with 18 locations in Nebraska and 1 in South Dakota.
The procurement model is not specified in the available FDD extracts; no Item 8 signal regarding designated or approved suppliers was captured.
With a 15-year initial term and renewal terms of 5-10 years requiring 6 months' notice, windows are infrequent. The recent -5.9% unit decline suggests a focus on optimization over expansion.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can read the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Valentino's2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Valentino's files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

16 operators run 17 mapped locations. 1 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit15
2–9 units1

Top states by locations

NE16
SD1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Valentino's

unknown of val.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.