From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Valcourt Building Services

Home services

Software purchasing decisions at Valcourt Building Services appear to flow through a small corporate team led by Chairman Jonathan R. Capon, CFO Chris Howard, and President Patrick DeMarinis. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. With only 5 mapped operator locations across three states, the immediate addressable market is very small, but the brand's corporate structure may still present a centralized sales opportunity.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
system-wide
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
national + local
Initial fee
$10K
per unit
Investment range
$22K–$37K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing. It is a floor, not a total — the filing discloses one of the two headline fees.

5%+of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%. Total 5% of gross sales, from the fees this filing discloses. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

GenieGenie
Industry softwareItem 19

nitial Equipment Package INITIAL INDIVIDUAL EQUIPMENT – BUILDING CLEANING SERVICES 1 – Descender Devise 1 - 300' – ½” Solid Braid Nylon Rope 1 - 300' 7/16" Kernmantle Rope 1 - Sky Genie Bosuns Chair w

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

15 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 9 explicit no's; 10 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to reporting information generated by the computer systems.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Item 19

Within 90 days after the end of each calendar year, you must prepare a balance sheet for your Franchised Business (as of the end of the calendar year) and an annual statement of profit and loss and source and application of funds.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 7

As of the date of this disclosure document, you must purchase Valcourt-branded items, including shirts, jackets, hats, and equipment bags from us or our affiliate, Valcourt Building Services, LC, and we and our affiliate are the only Approved Suppliers for those items.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 19

We may designate one or more approved vendors (“Approved Suppliers”) that we determine meet the standards and specifications of quality that are necessary to protect the valuable goodwill and uniformity associated with the Marks and the System.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 7

In the fiscal year ended December 31, 2024, we did not derive revenue from purchases or rentals made by our franchisees.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 19

We have the right to receive commissions, rebates or other consideration based on purchases from Approved Suppliers made by you and other franchisees.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 19

We will approve or disapprove your specific requests to approve suppliers according to procedures found in the Manual or as required by us on a case-by-case basis.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

assign to us all telephone numbers used by you in association with the Marks

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 19

To ensure compliance with this Agreement, we or our representatives will have the right to enter any work site and/or your business, evaluate your operations, and inspect or examine your books, records, accounts and tax returns.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 19

We can modify the Manual at any time.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 19

We may require that you purchase certain equipment, supplies, products or services from a single source, and we or our affiliates may be that single source.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Item 15 OBLIGATION TO PARTICIPATE IN THE ACTUAL OPERATION OF THE FRANCHISED BUSINESS The Franchised Business must be under the supervision of your managing member or other principal owner who has completed and passed our training program.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 5

Before opening, you must purchase logo’d shirts and pants from us for your members at an estimated cost of $750.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 19

We will have independent, unlimited access to, and ownership of, the information and data generated and stored by the Computer System.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

There is no charge for initial or additional training.

The filing answers no to 9 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 19
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 19
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 7
  • Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 7
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 19

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at Valcourt Building Services

Valcourt Building Services is a home-services franchise with a very small, geographically dispersed footprint. The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document maps just 5 operator locations across three states: Michigan (2 units), Hawaii (2 units), and Minnesota (1 unit). All operators are single-unit owners; no multi-unit franchisees are recorded. This means the total addressable market for a software vendor is extremely limited at the unit level. However, the corporate entity—LJ Valcourt Holdings—may still represent a viable target for a centralized platform sale, particularly if the franchisor is seeking to standardize operations across its nascent network.

The brand charges a 5.0% royalty fee and operates under a 5-year initial term. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed in the available data, and no average unit volume (AUV) is published. For a software vendor, the pitch must focus on the franchisor's corporate needs rather than a large-scale franchisee rollout.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD lists five executives under Item 1, all associated with LJ Valcourt Holdings. Jonathan R. Capon serves as Chairman, Patrick DeMarinis as President, and Chris Howard as Chief Financial Officer. Kevin Cunningham holds the title of Regional Vice President, and Manuel Alfonso Duran is the Director of Operations. No Chief Information Officer, Chief Technology Officer, or VP of IT is named. This suggests that technology purchasing decisions are made within the existing finance and operations leadership group. A vendor's initial outreach should likely target the CFO or President, as they appear to control both the budget and operational strategy for the system.

Mandated and current tech stack

A critical finding for any software vendor: the 2025 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. There are no named POS providers, no required CRM or field-service management platforms, and no designated back-office software. This absence of Item 11 mandates means franchisees currently have full autonomy to choose their own tools—or may be operating with minimal tech infrastructure. For a vendor, this represents a greenfield opportunity to become the first standardized solution, but it also means there is no incumbent to displace and no immediate pain point tied to a failing mandated system.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD extract contains no Item 8 procurement signal, meaning there is no published list of designated or approved suppliers. The franchisor does not appear to exert purchasing control over technology through mandatory programs. Renewal terms under Item 17 offer a potential trigger for vendor conversations. Franchisees in good standing can renew for successive 5-year terms by signing a new agreement, which may contain materially different terms from the original. The renewal process requires 90 days' notice and a general release. These renewal inflection points could create natural windows for the franchisor to introduce new technology requirements, though with only 5 units, the volume of such events is minimal.

How to read the Valcourt Building Services FDD

The full 2025 FDD is embedded below for your review. When analyzing this document, pay close attention to Item 11, which details the franchisor's obligations regarding technology and software. Since no systems are currently mandated, any future amendments to this section would signal a shift toward standardization. Also scrutinize Item 8 for any undisclosed purchasing cooperatives or rebate programs that might influence software adoption. Finally, Item 19 may contain financial performance data not captured in this summary, which could help you model the ROI of your solution for individual operators. Use this primary source to validate your total addressable market assumptions before building a sales strategy for this brand.

For a ranked target list of franchise brands with stronger technology mandates and larger addressable unit counts, explore the FranCloud platform.

Questions vendors ask

Valcourt Building Services, answered from the filing

The buying center likely includes Chairman Jonathan R. Capon, CFO Chris Howard, and President Patrick DeMarinis. The FDD lists no dedicated CIO or CTO, so finance and operations leadership probably control vendor evaluation and procurement.
The 2025 FDD does not mandate or recommend any specific POS, operational, or back-office technology systems. Franchisees appear to have autonomy in selecting their own software tools.
The FDD maps 5 operator locations. The unit-band split shows all units fall in the '1' range, with zero multi-unit operators. Top states are Michigan (2), Hawaii (2), and Minnesota (1).
The procurement model is not detailed in the available FDD extract. There is no Item 8 signal indicating designated suppliers, approved supplier lists, or mandatory purchasing programs for technology.
Franchise agreements run for 5 years. Renewals require 90 days' notice and signing a new agreement, which could trigger re-evaluation of tech stacks. The FDD does not disclose recent unit growth or turnover rates to pinpoint volume windows.
The 2025 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 technology obligations and Item 19 financial performance representations directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Valcourt Building Services2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Valcourt Building Services files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

3 operators run 5 mapped locations. 2 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

2–9 units2
Single-unit1

Top states by locations

MI2
HI2
MN1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Valcourt Building Services

unknown of valcourt intermediate holdings.

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.