From the filings

+80% units YoYHQ-led decisions

True North

Home services

Software purchasing at True North is controlled by its small HQ leadership team, led by President and CEO Justin Donat and COO Raymond Donat. The most recent FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems, leaving the current tech stack undefined for outside vendors. With 18 franchised units and 80% year-over-year unit growth, the addressable market is compact but expanding rapidly.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
18
18 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+80%
vs prior filing
AUV
$985K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$137K–$231K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 1%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

AlbiwareAlbiware
Industry softwareItem 11

ters via the Intranet; scheduling and operating software customized for the True North Restoration system; GoogleDocs and related Google WorkSpace software for email and calendar; Albiware project man

QuickBooks OnlineIntuit
AccountingItem 11

tomized for the True North Restoration system; GoogleDocs and related Google WorkSpace software for email and calendar; Albiware project management software for Customer contacts; QuickBooks Online; F

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee shall establish and maintain, at its own expense, bookkeeping, accounting and data processing systems which conform to the specifications which the Franchisor may prescribe from time to time.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information and data that you collect electronically.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Financial statements, prepared in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”), and consisting of a quarterly profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the True North Restoration Business, electronically transmitted no later than the 20th day of each month after the end of…

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have a Franchise Advisory Council that includes five franchisees, three of whom are elected by other franchisees and two of whom are chosen by us, that advise us about advertising and marketing initiatives.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

Buying programs may change and we reserve the right to designate additional or different items which must be purchased through us or another designated source.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

For the year ended December 31, 2024, we did not have any revenue from purchases made by our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

20

Item 8

and 20% to 35% of your overall purchases in operating your True North Restoration Business after it has been established.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

A charge not to exceed the reasonable cost of investigation may be made by the Franchisor and shall be paid by the Franchisee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you propose to purchase or lease any equipment, products, supplies or services for use in or sale through your Business of a type not previously approved by us, or purchase or lease these items from a supplier we have not approved, you must notify us in writing and obtain our approval in advance.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee acknowledges that, as between the Franchisee and the Franchisor, the Franchisor has the sole rights to and interest in all telephone numbers associated with any Mark.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee shall permit the Franchisor to inspect and audit the books and records of the True North Restoration Business at any reasonable time, at the Franchisor’s expense.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisor reserves the right to revise the Operations Manual from time to time as it deems necessary to update or change operating and marketing techniques or standards and specifications.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You are responsible for selecting and acquiring the Business Location for your Business subject to our approval.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee shall not develop, create, distribute, disseminate or use any Internet communication, including, without limitation, any website, blog, instant messaging service, social media site or networking account or other electronic or other communication method now in existence or to be created (including…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

You are required to spend a minimum of $1,000 to $3,000 on grand opening marketing to promote the opening of your Business within 90 days of the opening of your Business.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend the greater of 2% of monthly Gross Revenue or $1,000 per month on average during a rolling 3-month period, for local promotion and marketing in your Territory.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase from approved or designated suppliers, certain equipment, cleaning products/supplies, inventory of tools, uniforms, computer hardware and access to software you will use in your Business

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You will purchase cleaning and restoration equipment, cleaning products, computer hardware and software, an opening inventory of cleaning supplies and tools, and uniforms from approved or designated True North – 10/25 IL-IN-MN-WI FDD 12 suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee authorizes the Franchisor and its affiliates to initiate debit entries and credit correction entries to the Franchisee’s checking, savings or other account for the payment of Royalties, Brand Fees, Electronic Mail Fees, National Account Fees, insurance premiums and any other amounts due from the…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

If you, or if you are a Business Entity, your officers, directors, shareholders, limited liability company managers, members or partners, do not personally supervise the day-to-day operation of your Business, you must appoint a General Manager (see Item 11) to be responsible for the direct on-premises supervision of…

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 5

You must purchase uniforms from our online store prior to opening at an estimated cost of $750 to $1,000.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Computer System hardware and software must be obtained from the Franchisor’s approved or designated suppliers.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have independent access to information and data that you collect electronically.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisor may require General Managers and employees of the Franchisee to complete additional training courses from time to time during the term of this Agreement.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Franchisee or the General Manager shall be required to attend any ongoing mandatory seminars, conventions, programs or meetings as may be offered by the Franchisor.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at True North

True North is a home-services franchise with 18 franchised units and no disclosed company-owned locations. The brand reported average unit volume of $984,955.09 in its 2026 FDD and grew its unit count by 80% year-over-year. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is small—18 locations—but the rapid expansion trajectory signals a franchise system in active scaling mode. A vendor that establishes a relationship now could grow alongside the network if unit growth continues at this pace.

The royalty rate is 7.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. These economics suggest franchisees have meaningful revenue to invest in operational tools, though no technology mandates are currently in place to force standardization. That absence is itself a signal: the system may still be forming its tech stack preferences, creating an opening for vendors who can demonstrate clear ROI to both the franchisor and individual operators.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority at True North sits with a compact leadership team. The FDD lists Justin Donat as President and Chief Executive Officer and Raymond Donat as Chief Operating Officer. No other executives, technology officers, or procurement personnel are named. In a system of this size, those two individuals likely make or approve all major vendor decisions, including any technology that would be recommended or mandated to franchisees.

For a vendor entering this account, the path is direct: engage the CEO and COO. There is no layer of middle management or specialized IT procurement to navigate. The conversation must connect software capabilities to the franchisor’s top priorities—unit economics, franchisee satisfaction, and scalable operations—because those are the metrics a small HQ team cares about.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD does not disclose any mandated or recommended technology systems. No POS provider, scheduling platform, CRM, field-service management tool, or back-office system is named. This does not necessarily mean the franchise operates without technology; it means the franchisor has not formalized technology requirements in the disclosure document.

For a vendor, this lack of mandate cuts two ways. On one hand, there is no incumbent to displace at the system level. On the other hand, individual franchisees may have adopted their own tools, creating a fragmented environment that is harder to sell into with a single system-wide deal. The practical next step is to map what franchisees are actually using in the field—information not available in the FDD itself.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

True North’s FDD does not include an Item 8 extract, so the formal procurement model is unknown. It is unclear whether the franchisor designates specific suppliers, maintains an approved vendor list, or allows franchisees to choose freely. Vendors should clarify this directly in discovery conversations.

On renewal timing, the franchise agreement runs for 10 years. Item 17 outlines renewal conditions: the franchisee must give notice, be in compliance with the agreement, pay a renewal fee, execute a new franchise agreement, execute a general release (unless prohibited by law), and upgrade the business and services. Critically, the franchisor may ask the franchisee to sign a contract with materially different terms than the original agreement. This clause creates a natural re-evaluation point where technology requirements could be introduced or changed. Vendors should monitor when the earliest cohorts of franchisees approach their 10-year renewal windows, as those moments may coincide with system-wide technology updates.

How to read the True North FDD

The True North franchise disclosure document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. It contains the standard 23 items required by the FTC Franchise Rule, including the franchisor’s background, fees, initial investment, territory rights, and obligations. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11 (franchisor’s assistance, advertising, computer systems, and training) and Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services). In this FDD, Item 11 does not list mandated technology, and Item 8 was not extracted, so direct review of the full document is advisable.

You can access the complete FDD through the embedded viewer on this page. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help prioritize accounts by growth rate, tech mandate status, and decision-maker accessibility.

Questions vendors ask

True North, answered from the filing

President and CEO Justin Donat and COO Raymond Donat are the named executives in the FDD. With no separate IT or procurement leadership disclosed, purchasing decisions likely rest with these two individuals.
The 2026 FDD does not list any mandated or recommended POS, operational, or other technology systems. The current tech environment is not publicly documented in franchise disclosure materials.
True North has 18 franchised units. The FDD does not report any company-owned locations. The brand operates in the home services segment and grew unit count by 80% year-over-year.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so it is unknown whether True North uses designated suppliers, an approved supplier program, or an open procurement model.
Franchise agreements run for 10 years. Renewal requires notice, compliance, a renewal fee, a new agreement, a general release, and a business upgrade. Materially different terms may apply, creating potential re-evaluation points.
The True North FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

True North2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment True North files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

2 operators run 2 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit2

Top states by locations

VA1
GA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind True North

unknown of spectrum cleaning and restoration network denver.

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.