From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Studio 6 Plus

Lodging

Software purchasing at Studio 6 Plus is controlled at the corporate level, with mandates flowing from the HQ in Texas. The franchisor requires a specific cloud-based PMS, Medallia guest experience platform, electronic lock systems, and several proprietary tools including CorporatePlus@6 and My6 Members. The total number of franchised and company-owned units is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, making addressable market sizing dependent on direct discovery.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
0
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$622K–$16.16M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 8.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5.5%, Ad fund 3%. Total 8.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5.5%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

VersapayVersapay
Mandatory
PaymentsItem 6

on the applicable invoice or other demand, all invoices must be paid through, and any disputes of charges must be sent through, the designated electronic payment system (currently VersaPay) in complia

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 8

may not establish or operate your own website for the Studio 6 Plus Motel, and you may not conduct any e-commerce over the Internet, World Wide Web (including, but not limited to, Facebook, Twitter or

HotelKeyHotelKey
Industry softwareItem 3

The complaint generally alleges that we wrongfully suspended, restored, and/or threatened to suspend the plaintiffs’ access to certain operational systems and services (including Hotel Key and other r

MedalliaMedallia
MarketingItem 11

0 Plano, Texas Lightkeeper Service Culture Certification .75 0 Plano, Texas Living Our Values .50 0 Plano, Texas Guest Service .50 0 Plano, Texas Customer Care .50 0 Plano, Texas Medallia .50 0 Plano,

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

keting, promotional and public relations materials, programs and campaigns; creating and maintaining Internet advertising and marketing (through a Studio 6 Plus website, Facebook, Twitter, or other e-

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

This information is automatically transmitted to us throughout the day in real time, and summary data is transmitted to us when you perform the night audit.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(a) sales and/or occupancy tax returns within thirty (30) days of the filing of any such return and (b) within ninety (90) days following the end of each fiscal year in the form prescribed by Franchisor:

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We are the only Approved Supplier for the Computer System and Software.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We have an Owner Advisory Council (“Advisory Council”) that provides a forum for owners of U.S. Motel 6/Studio 6 Motels and senior management to discuss matters that directly impact the ownership, branding, franchising, and operation of U.S. Motel 6/Studio 6 Motels.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to change or modify the IT Services provided to Franchisee at any time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We did not receive any revenues from franchisees for required products and services.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliates may receive rebates or payments related to specific items that are purchased directly from suppliers by franchisees or that we purchase for our franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

20

Item 8

For ongoing operation of your Motel, we estimate 20% to 40% of your products or services are from Required or Approved Suppliers, but you could choose to purchase 100% of products and services from Required or Approved Suppliers.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

you propose a different vendor or product, we may charge you a fee to review and evaluate the alternative vendor, product, or service.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want us to consider other suppliers, then you must submit a request to us in writing, together with any evidence of conformity to our specifications or Standards that we may reasonably require.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

Your Motel must comply with the current version of the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI-DSS).

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Conduct inspections or evaluations of your facilities and services to evaluate adherence to the Standards and Manuals.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

We or our affiliates may revise the contents of the Manuals at our sole discretion, without prior notice, and you must comply with each new or changed standard when you receive notice of the change.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

If we do not approve your site/Motel or if you do not agree to the PIP for a conversion property, we will not sign an Agreement.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

You may not advertise, promote, post or list information relating to the Motel on the Internet (including, but not limited to, Facebook, Twitter or any other e-commerce, digital marketing platforms, or social media sites), through the creation of a website or otherwise (see Item 8).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must participate in any loyalty program or centralized billing program required by Franchisor and pay the associated fees as specified by Franchisor in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, you must purchase hardware and Software for your Computer Systems, RFID/Bluetooth-enabled electronic lock systems, keycard systems, smart access hardware, approved guestroom furnishings, signage, casegoods, interior design packages, and other brand-specific items for the Studio 6 Plus Motel through the G6…

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, you must purchase hardware and Software for your Computer Systems, RFID/Bluetooth-enabled electronic lock systems, keycard systems, smart access hardware, approved guestroom furnishings, signage, casegoods, interior design packages, and other brand-specific items for the Studio 6 Plus Motel through the G6…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Before the Opening Date and always during the Term, Franchisee shall designate a General Manager who must devote his or her full time, best efforts to managing the Motel and who shall have authority over the day-to-day operations of the Motel.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase, install, and use certain brands, types, makes, and/or models of hardware, software, peripheral equipment, and support services to such hardware, software, and peripheral equipment that we designate in the Manuals or otherwise in writing.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

This information is automatically transmitted to us throughout the day in real time, and summary data is transmitted to us when you perform the night audit.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may require you or your employees to periodically attend additional or refresher training programs if, among other things, you fail to comply with Standards, fail an audit, or are placed in default.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

You, or your managing owner or Conference $5,000 per Motel for one executive, must attend our annual Fee attendee per Motel conference and pay an Annual Conference Fee for each Motel you own.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 6
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 7
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Studio 6 Plus

Studio 6 Plus operates in the extended-stay lodging segment, with its headquarters in Texas. The brand’s 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document does not disclose total unit counts, franchised versus company-owned splits, or year-over-year unit growth. For software vendors, this means the addressable market size must be validated through direct outreach or third-party location data. The absence of a disclosed average unit volume (AUV) further complicates ROI modeling, but the brand’s mandated technology stack signals a corporate-controlled environment where HQ-level relationships are essential.

The franchise agreement carries a 5.5% royalty and an initial term of 15 years. Renewals are available for 10-year periods, subject to strict conditions including compliance, payment of all obligations, a renewal application fee, a renewal franchise fee, training completion, a property improvement plan (PIP), and execution of the then-current franchise agreement—which may differ materially from the original. This renewal structure creates periodic touchpoints where technology re-evaluation could occur.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD’s Item 1 lists the executive team: Sonal Sinha serves as Chief Executive Officer, and Shubhankar Choudhary holds the title of Senior Vice President – Revenue Management. For software vendors, Revenue Management is the likely owner of property management system decisions, distribution technology, and revenue optimization tools. Samridh Bhardwaj (Vice President – Legal) and Vikalp Babelay (Head of Finance) are positioned to review contracts and approve expenditures. Rachita Behl (Head of Human Resources) rounds out the named leadership. No parent company is on file; the brand appears independently owned.

Because the franchisor mandates specific technology systems, purchasing authority is concentrated at HQ rather than distributed across multi-unit operators. Our corpus contains no mapped operators for Studio 6 Plus, reinforcing the HQ-centric buying model.

Mandated and current tech stack

Item 11 of the 2026 FDD mandates several technology systems. A cloud-based property management system (PMS) is required, though the specific vendor is not named in the extract. Medallia, provided by Medallia, Inc., is mandated for guest experience management. Electronic lock systems are required, as are mobile-enabled guest interface platforms. Proprietary systems include CorporatePlus@6, My6 Members, and a National Sales RFP Tool. These mandates mean any software vendor selling adjacent or replacement solutions must navigate an existing, deeply integrated stack.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 extract describing procurement or purchasing requirements. Without this signal, vendors cannot determine whether Studio 6 Plus uses a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement process. The renewal conditions in Item 17 are detailed: franchisees must submit an application, pay fees, complete training, agree to a PIP, sign the current franchise agreement (which may be materially different), and execute a general release. For dual-brand operations, both agreements must renew simultaneously with identical expiration dates and common ownership, though only one renewal franchise fee applies. These 10-year renewal cycles, combined with the 15-year initial term, suggest that major technology contract windows may align with property improvement plan cycles and renewal negotiations.

How to read the Studio 6 Plus FDD

The full 2026 FDD is embedded below. Vendors should focus on Item 11 for the complete technology mandate list, Item 1 for executive decision-makers, and Item 17 for renewal timing that may influence software evaluation periods. Because unit counts and AUV are not disclosed, supplement the FDD with location-level research to size the opportunity. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Studio 6 Plus, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Sonal Sinha (CEO) and Shubhankar Choudhary (SVP Revenue Management) as key executives. Revenue Management likely owns PMS and distribution tech decisions; legal and finance review contracts.
Mandated systems include a cloud-based PMS, Medallia by Medallia, Inc., electronic lock systems, mobile-enabled guest interface platforms, CorporatePlus@6, My6 Members, and a National Sales RFP Tool.
The total unit count, including franchised and company-owned locations, is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. No operator footprint data is available in our corpus.
The 2026 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract. The procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not publicly disclosed in the filing.
Initial franchise terms are 15 years. Renewal terms are 10 years, contingent on compliance, PIP completion, and signing the then-current agreement. Renewal cycles may create re-evaluation windows.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below for detailed Item 11 tech mandates and executive disclosures.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Studio 6 Plus2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Studio 6 Plus files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Studio 6 Plus’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Studio 6 Plus

strategic_multibrand of OYO.

Sibling brands

Related Lodging brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.