From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Smooth Transitions

Home services

Software purchasing at Smooth Transitions is controlled at the corporate level, with Chief Executive Officer Holly Swisher and Chief Marketing Officer Brian Greenwood listed as key executives in the 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document. The brand operates only 2 company-owned units and mandates a specific ERP system alongside STWare, creating a narrow but clearly defined addressable market for vendors. No franchised units are confirmed, making this a compact target for software sales.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
2
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$49K
per unit
Investment range
$65K–$109K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

dvertising council we form will serve in only an advisory capacity. 19 /2 System Website and Social Media We may provide you with materials for use on social media sites such as a Facebook page. You m

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 11

the public that contains or is associated with your Smooth Transitions business or our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, Instagram®, Threads®

TikTokTikTok
MarketingItem 11

ur registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, Instagram®, Threads®, Myspace®,Youtube®, Vimeo®, Snap Chat®, X (formerly Twitter)®, TikTok® or similar p

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

siness or our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, Instagram®, Threads®, Myspace®,Youtube®, Vimeo®, Snap Chat®, X (formerly Twitter)®, TikTok® o

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 11

associated with your Smooth Transitions business or our registered trademarks without our prior written approval. You may not establish a Facebook®, Instagram®, Threads®, Myspace®,Youtube®, Vimeo®, Sn

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 7 explicit no's; 2 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that Franchisor has the right to remotely access Franchisee’s point-of- sale system to calculate Gross Sales.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall provide such periodic financial reports as Franchisor may require in the Manual or otherwise in writing, including: (i) a monthly profit and loss statement and balance sheet for the Business within thirty (30) days after the end of each calendar month; (ii) an annual financial statement (including…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

As of the date of this Disclosure Document, our affiliate is a supplier of some items that you must purchase.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may periodically change any such requirement or change the status of any vendor.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

Therefore, our total revenue in the prior from all required purchases and leases of products and services by franchisees was $0.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may receive rebates, payments or other consideration from vendors in connection with purchases by franchisees.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

We estimate that items purchased or leased from us, our affiliates or our other designated or approved suppliers, or in accordance with our specifications will represent approximately 50% to 80% of total purchases you will make to begin operations of your business, and approximately 50% to80% of the ongoing costs…

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

We permit you to contract with alternative suppliers who meet our criteria only if you request our approval in writing, and we grant approval.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must at all times comply with payment card industry data security standards (PCI-DSS).

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall participate at its own expense in programs required from time to time by Franchisor for obtaining customer evaluations, reviewing Franchisee’s compliance with the System, and/or managing customer complaints, including without limitation a customer feedback system, customer survey programs, and…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor inspect the operation of the Business from time to time during normal business hours.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may supplement, revise, or modify the Manual, and Franchisor may change, add or delete System Standards at any time in its discretion.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

We must approve the location for your business.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not conduct any marketing, advertising, or public relations activities, including without limitation, marketing materials, websites, online advertising, social media marketing or presence, and sponsorships, which have not been approved by Franchisor.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend not less than five percent (5% ) of your gross sales each month on promotional activities during each calendar year, in such types as we approve or as described in the Operations Manual or otherwise in writing.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in and contribute to any local or regional advertising cooperative we form or approve in the area where your business is located.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase equipment, inventory and supplies from Approved Vendors.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase equipment, inventory and supplies from Approved Vendors.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall accept payment from customers in any form or manner designated by Franchisor (which may include, for example, cash, specific credit and/or debit cards, gift cards, electronic fund transfer systems, and mobile payment systems).

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

We currently require you to pay royalty fees and other amounts due to us by pre- authorized bank draft and billed automatically through our proprietary ERP system.

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall cause its personnel to comply with any dress attire, uniform, personal appearance and hygiene standards set forth in the Manual.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require that you use an Apple branded laptop and phone no more than 4 years old, and our proprietary subscription-based software, STWare.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must give us independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in these systems.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

You may be required to attend periodic refresher or update training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Principal Executive shall use reasonable efforts to attend all in-person meetings and remote meetings (such as telephone conference calls) that Franchisor requires, including any national or regional brand conventions.

The filing answers no to 7 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 11
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Franchise agreement
  • Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.
  3. With median unit growth of only 2.62% YoY across 323 disclosed brands, you need to find the outliers poised for expansion before they hit the market.Using growth signals to identify high-velocity brands lets you engage them during expansion phases, capturing deals 2x faster than reactive competitors who wait for public announcements.

The vendor opportunity at Smooth Transitions

Smooth Transitions operates just 2 company-owned units, with no franchised locations disclosed in the 2025 FDD. The brand is headquartered in Ohio and provides home services, though its average unit volume is not reported. For software vendors, the addressable market is limited to these two corporate locations and any future expansion, which the FDD does not quantify through year-over-year unit growth data. The royalty rate sits at 6.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years, with two possible 5-year successor renewals. This structure means any software sale must align with a very small, centralized decision-making process.

Who controls software purchasing

According to Item 1 of the 2025 FDD, the executive team includes Holly Swisher as Chief Executive Officer, Brian Greenwood as Chief Marketing Officer, and Richard Miller as Franchise Development Officer. With no franchised operators mapped in our corpus and no separate IT or procurement executive named, software purchasing authority almost certainly rests with Swisher and Greenwood at the corporate level. Vendors should direct outreach to these individuals, framing solutions around operational efficiency for a compact, company-owned network. The absence of a parent company suggests independent ownership, further concentrating decisions at HQ.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates two systems: an ERP system and STWare. No other named vendors or platforms appear in the disclosure, leaving the full technology landscape partially opaque. The ERP mandate signals a need for integrated back-office functionality, while STWare likely handles operational or service-management workflows specific to the home-services vertical. Vendors offering complementary tools—such as CRM, field-service management, or analytics—should assess compatibility with these mandated systems, as any new software would need to integrate without disrupting existing mandates.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD provides no procurement extract, so the brand’s supplier qualification process—whether designated, approved, or open—is not publicly known. Renewal terms under Item 17 allow two successor 5-year agreements after the initial 10-year term, but these require signing a materially different contract, renovating to current standards, and executing a general release. With only 2 company-owned units and no disclosed growth rate, software contract windows are not tied to a predictable franchisee lifecycle. Vendors should monitor any expansion announcements or leadership changes at HQ for potential openings.

How to read the Smooth Transitions FDD

The full 2025 Smooth Transitions Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below for your review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (mandated tech systems), Item 1 (executive decision-makers), and Item 17 (renewal and contract timing). Because the brand does not disclose unit-level economics or a detailed procurement policy, the FDD serves primarily as a map of the corporate structure and existing tech mandates. For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize opportunities based on real FDD data.

Questions vendors ask

Smooth Transitions, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD lists Holly Swisher (CEO) and Brian Greenwood (CMO) as key executives. Given the small unit count, purchasing decisions likely route through these individuals, with no dedicated IT or procurement officer named.
The FDD mandates an ERP system and STWare. No specific POS or additional operational platforms are disclosed, leaving the full tech stack partially undefined for outside vendors.
The brand reports 2 total units, both company-owned. No franchised locations are disclosed in the 2025 FDD, indicating a very small operational footprint.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so whether the brand uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement model is not publicly disclosed.
Initial franchise terms run 10 years, with two optional 5-year renewals requiring a new agreement. With only 2 company-owned units and no franchised growth disclosed, contract windows are unpredictable and likely tied to internal HQ cycles.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the embedded PDF viewer below for the full document, including Item 11 tech mandates and Item 17 renewal conditions.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Smooth Transitions2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Smooth Transitions files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Smooth Transitions’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.