From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

SealMaster

Home services

Software purchasing decisions at SealMaster are controlled at the headquarters level in Ohio, where President David L. Thorson and CFO Larry Mullins are the key executives to know. The franchise currently operates 47 total units (43 franchised, 4 company-owned) and its most recent FDD confirms the use of Sage by Sage Group plc as a mandated or recommended technology. For a software vendor, the immediate addressable market is 47 locations, with the franchisor serving as the primary gatekeeper for new technology adoption.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
47
43 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$35K
per unit
Investment range
$580K–$925K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1.5%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

23 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 8 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will establish and maintain a record keeping system conforming to the requirements prescribed by Franchisor, including the use and retention of sales tickets, purchase orders, invoices, payroll records, check stubs, sales tax records and returns, cash receipts and disbursements journals and general ledgers.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have full access to all of your computer data, systems and related information and there are no contractual limits on our right to access such information.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On the twenty-fifth (25th) day of each month, Franchisee will submit electronically to Franchisor using the SealMaster reporting software, a correct statement of financial data for the preceding month just ended.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our Affiliate are approved suppliers.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

We have created the SealMaster Advisory Committee (“SMAC”).

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

9. MODIFICATION OF THE SYSTEM Franchisee recognizes that Franchisor periodically may change the System presently identified by the Marks, including the adoption and use of new or modified Marks or Copyrighted Works, new computer programs and systems, new types or brands of merchandise and products, new inventory…

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We did not receive revenues from franchisee purchases or leases in the last year.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

We also reserve the right to receive commissions or rebates of 1% to 10% or more from your purchases from approved suppliers of the following: Proprietary Products, tools and accessories, pavement maintenance equipment, asphalt emulsions, asphalt cements, fibers, packaging materials, fillers and pigments, emulsifiers,

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that approximately 80% to 85% of your initial investment and 90% to 95% of your ongoing costs will be subject to sourcing restrictions (that is, for which suppliers must be approved by us, or which must meet our standards or specifications).

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee or the proposed supplier will pay Franchisor the reasonable cost of the inspection and evaluation and the actual cost of the test.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to sell or use any product, material or supply or purchase any products from a supplier not on either of these lists, you must notify us and may need to submit samples and other information to us so that we can make an informed decision as to whether the product or supplier meets our standards and…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon termination or expiration of this Agreement, Franchisee will assign to Franchisor or its designee, all of Franchisee’s right, title and interest in and to the telephone numbers and facsimile numbers and Internet addresses associated with the Franchised Business

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor or its designated agents will have the right at all reasonable times to examine and copy, or require that Franchisee copy and deliver to Franchisor, at its expense, the books, records, and tax returns of Franchisee.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor will have the right to add to and otherwise modify the Manual periodically to reflect changes in the specifications, standards, operating procedures and rules Franchisor prescribes for SEALMASTER businesses.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Our approval of the site is required.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

During the first 3 months of operation of the Franchised Business, you must spend $2,000 for approved grand opening advertising, marketing and promotional activities, although you may spend more.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 6

You must spend at least 1% of your Gross Sales on local advertising.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the Proprietary Products from our authorized suppliers which may include us or our Affiliates.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase the Proprietary Products from our authorized suppliers which may include us or our Affiliates.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may require Franchisee to sign electronic transfer of funds authorizations and other documents as Franchisor periodically designates to authorize Franchisee’s bank to transfer, either electronically or through some other method of payment designated by Franchisor, directly to Franchisor’s account and to…

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

must have a minimum of two (2) such outside sales persons.

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have full access to all of your computer data, systems and related information and there are no contractual limits on our right to access such information.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may provide and may require that previously-trained and experienced franchisees, or their managers or employees attend and successfully complete refresher training programs or seminars to be conducted at such location as Franchisor designates.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at SealMaster

SealMaster operates a compact network of 47 total units, with 43 of those being franchised locations and 4 run directly by the company. For a software vendor, the addressable market is these 47 units, all of which fall under the purchasing influence of the headquarters team in Ohio. The franchise operates in the home services segment, and while the average unit volume is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, the royalty rate sits at 5.0%. Year-over-year unit growth figures are not available in the current filing, suggesting a stable rather than rapidly expanding footprint. This makes SealMaster a targeted, relationship-driven sales opportunity rather than a high-volume land grab.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD Item 1 lists the key executives you need to engage. President David L. Thorson is the top authority, and CFO Larry Mullins is the financial decision-maker who will scrutinize any software investment. Franchise Director Richard G. Simon and Franchise Field Representative Brian T. Coles are also on file and may serve as influencers or operational stakeholders for tools that touch franchisee workflows. Jeff Gearheart is listed as a Sales Representative for SportMaster, a related product line, and could be a secondary contact if your software intersects with that specific business unit. The decision-making level is firmly at headquarters, not at the multi-unit operator level, as our corpus contains no mapped operators for this brand.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD confirms that Sage by Sage Group plc is a mandated or recommended technology within the SealMaster system. This is the only named vendor in the available data, and it likely serves as the accounting or ERP backbone. No other point-of-sale, payroll, inventory, or CRM systems are disclosed in the filing. For a vendor selling complementary or replacement software, this presents a clear integration or displacement target. Your pitch should acknowledge the existing Sage investment and position your solution either as an enhancement to that ecosystem or as a superior alternative with a compelling migration path.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Procurement signals are thin in the available data. The Item 8 extract, which would typically outline designated versus approved supplier rules, is not present in our corpus. Similarly, the initial franchise term length and Item 17 renewal conditions are not disclosed. This lack of visibility means you cannot rely on predictable contract cycles to time your outreach. Instead, a direct engagement with President Thorson or CFO Mullins is the most reliable path to understanding their current vendor evaluation process and any upcoming technology refresh initiatives.

How to read the SealMaster FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below for your review. Focus your reading on Item 1 to verify the executive team and their roles, Item 11 to audit the franchisor's obligations around technology and the specific mention of Sage, and Item 8 if you can obtain a complete copy to clarify supplier restrictions. The document was filed with state franchise regulators in 2026 and represents the most current legal representation of the franchise system's operations and requirements. For a ranked target list of similar home services franchises with clearer tech mandates and procurement windows, FranCloud can help you prioritize your outbound efforts.

Questions vendors ask

SealMaster, answered from the filing

The buying center includes President David L. Thorson and CFO Larry Mullins. Franchise Director Richard G. Simon may also influence operational tools. Pitch at the HQ level, as the franchisor controls technology mandates.
The 2026 FDD specifically names Sage by Sage Group plc. No other mandated POS or operational systems are disclosed in the filing.
SealMaster has 47 total units, comprising 43 franchised locations and 4 company-owned outlets. This represents a small, concentrated footprint in the home services segment.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The Item 8 extract is unavailable, so it is unknown if suppliers are designated, approved, or open.
Contract renewal timing is unclear. The initial term length and Item 17 renewal signals are not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, making it difficult to predict specific windows.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 technology disclosures and Item 1 executive listings directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

SealMaster2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment SealMaster files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.