From the filings

+15.385% units YoYHQ-led decisions

Red's Savoy Pizza

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at Red's Savoy Pizza is controlled at the franchisor headquarters in Minnesota. The brand mandates a proprietary POS system and QuickBooks Online, creating a defined tech stack across its 17 locations. With 15 franchised units and a 15.4% year-over-year unit growth rate, the addressable market is small but expanding.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
17
15 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+15.385%
vs prior filing
AUV
$750K
Item 19, 2021
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$202K–$508K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 3%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

SpeedLineSpeedLine
Mandatory
POSItem 6

n. You must personally guarantee all PERSONAL Varies. Upon demand. obligations in the Franchise Agreement GUARANTY and Development Agreement. Payments must be made directly to our SPEEDLINE mandatory

QuickBooks OnlineIntuit
AccountingItem 11

purchased for $100 per year. You must begin paying the Technology Fee to us before you attend our initial training program. See Item 5. You will also need to obtain a license for QuickBooks Online, wh

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

30 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 1 question the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will provide Franchisor with electronic access to information from and about the Franchised Location, including monthly and other periodic financial and sales information relating to the Franchisee and the Franchised Location as Franchisor reasonably requires from time to time.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will provide Franchisor with electronic access to information from and about the Franchised Location, including monthly and other periodic financial and sales information relating to the Franchisee and the Franchised Location as Franchisor reasonably requires from time to time.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We and our affiliates currently are the only approved supplier of certain uniforms and branded apparel, promotional materials, menus, and other materials utilizing our Marks on an ongoing basis.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

We currently have formed an advisory council made up of franchisees and franchisor representatives.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We may, at any time, change, delete, add to or modify any of our standards and specifications.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

373082

Item 8

In 2021, we received $373,082 in revenues as the result of required purchases of products and services by franchisees, or approximately 24.2% of our total revenues in 2021 of $1,543,188.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

In addition to the above, we and our affiliates have the right to receive payments or other benefits like rebates, discounts and allowances from authorized suppliers based upon their dealings with you and other franchisees and we may use the monies we receive without restriction for any purpose we deem appropriate or…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

75

Item 8

Once you begin operating, we expect that these items will represent approximately 75% - 90% of your total annual expenses.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Franchise agreement

A charge equal to the reasonable cost of the evaluation and testing, which may include travel expenses incurred by Franchisor, shall be paid by Franchisee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Except for products and services available from mandatory vendors or a single designated source that we require, you may request that we consider approval of different or additional manufacturers, suppliers or products related to your Red’s Savoy Location.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the sole right to and interest in all telephone numbers, directory listings, and domain names associated with the Names and Marks, including any Electronic Media

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

Because you will accept credit cards, you will also have to comply with any general laws and regulations relating to the acceptance of credit cards, including Payment Card Industry (PCI) Data Security Standard (DSS).

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

(ii) Franchisee must participate in all customer surveys and satisfaction audits, which may require that Franchisee provide discounted or complimentary products or 18 ©2022 RSP Franchise, LLC d/b/a Red’s Savoy Pizza 2022-23 Franchise Agreement services, provided that such discounted or complimentary sales shall not…

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

representative may visit your Franchised Location to ensure compliance with Franchisor’s required standards, specifications, and procedures.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor specifically reserves the right to modify or change such rules, regulations, and directives including, but not limited to, changing the Franchised Location’s format, décor, or image.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

However, all sites must be approved by us.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Item 11

Unless we otherwise approve, you may not maintain a website or other Internet presence with respect to the operation or advertisement of your Red’s Savoy Location.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must spend at least Ten Thousand and No/100 dollars ($10,000) on grand opening advertising.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least one percent (1%) of your Gross Revenues annually on local advertising (e.g., marketing, promotions, publicity, social network).

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in all gift certificate, gift card, loyalty, promotional, and rewards programs sponsored at any time by us.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If Franchisor designates a specific supplier for any items, Franchisee must purchase the items from the specific, designated supplier.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

(5) You must contract with a credit card processor that we require;

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Item 6

For all amounts you owe to us or our affiliates, we have the right to collect these fees by EFT or ACH transfer from your designated account, or by pre-authorized check draft or pre-authorized credit card charge.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in all gift certificate, gift card, loyalty, promotional, and rewards programs sponsored at any time by us.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Your Operating Partner or, if we approve, a General Manager who has successfully completed the initial training program facilitated by us, must actively manage your Red’s Savoy Location and be on-premises at least an average of 32 hours a week

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee will require all employees to wear uniforms meeting Franchisor’s specifications and present a neat and clean appearance while working at the Franchised Location.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must use the POS system and we will not approve any other POS system for use in your Red’s Savoy Location.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must grant our agents and us access to all of the records and information on your computerized point-of-sale system by direct access, by Internet access, or by such other means as we may 27 ©2022 RSP Franchise, LLC d/b/a Red’s Savoy Pizza 2022-23 Franchise Disclosure Document require.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

If you elect to participate in those additional training programs or refresher courses, or if we require you to do so, you must pay us our then-current fees and reimburse us for our costs for providing additional training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we choose to hold a convention, you (or your Operating Partner) and your General Manager must attend, or you must send a representative that we approve before the convention.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at Red's Savoy Pizza

Red's Savoy Pizza operates 17 locations—15 franchised and 2 company-owned—all concentrated in Minnesota. The brand reported a 15.4% year-over-year unit growth rate in its 2022 FDD, signaling a modest but active expansion trajectory. Average unit volume sits at $750,000, with a 5.0% royalty rate and a 7-year initial franchise term. For software vendors, the total addressable market is small, but the centralized purchasing structure means a single deal with HQ can cover the entire system.

The operator footprint consists of 14 mapped operators, all single-unit franchisees with no multi-unit operators on file. This fragmented operator base reinforces that technology decisions are not made at the unit level—there is no large franchisee group with independent purchasing power.

Who controls software purchasing

Technology purchasing authority rests with the franchisor's leadership team in Minnesota. The 2022 FDD Item 1 names Reed Daniels as Chief Executive Officer and President, Shelley Knaeble as Director of Operations, and Renee Weston as Director of Franchise Support. For a software vendor, the likely buying center includes Daniels for strategic decisions and Knaeble or Weston for operational tools that affect franchisee support and day-to-day restaurant operations.

Because all 14 operators are single-unit owners with no multi-unit presence, there is no alternative path to adoption through a large franchisee. A vendor must sell into the corporate office.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2022 FDD mandates two specific technology systems. The Red’s Savoy Pizza POS system is required for all franchisees, covering in-store transaction processing and likely some operational workflows. QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. is also mandated, standardizing accounting across the system. No other mandated or recommended technology vendors are disclosed in the FDD.

This narrow tech stack creates both constraints and opportunities. A vendor selling a POS-adjacent product—such as online ordering, loyalty, or labor scheduling—must integrate with or replace the proprietary POS. A vendor selling accounting-adjacent tools must coexist with QuickBooks Online. The absence of other mandated systems (e.g., payroll, inventory, delivery management) suggests open greenfield for complementary software, provided it aligns with HQ's operational priorities.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2022 FDD contains no extract regarding procurement policies. The brand does not disclose whether it uses designated suppliers, approved supplier programs, or an open procurement model. Vendors should approach the sales process assuming a centralized, relationship-driven evaluation rather than a formal RFP process.

Renewal timing offers a potential entry point. The initial franchise term is 7 years, and franchisees must give written renewal notice between 6 and 9 months before expiration. Renewals require signing a new Franchise Agreement, which may contain materially different terms—including updated technology requirements. This creates periodic windows where HQ may reevaluate its mandated tech stack. With the most recent FDD filed in 2022 and unit growth at 15.4%, new franchise agreements are being signed regularly, each representing a fresh mandate cycle.

How to read the Red's Savoy Pizza FDD

The 2022 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for understanding Red's Savoy Pizza's technology mandates, procurement rules, and corporate structure. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team and ownership), Item 8 (procurement restrictions, though none are disclosed here), Item 11 (mandated technology systems), and Item 17 (renewal conditions and term length).

The embedded PDF viewer below contains the full FDD text. Focus on the mandated systems in Item 11 and the renewal conditions in Item 17 to identify when and how technology decisions are revisited. For a ranked target list of franchise brands aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Red's Savoy Pizza, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Reed Daniels (CEO/President), Shelley Knaeble (Director of Operations), and Renee Weston (Director of Franchise Support), as listed in the 2022 FDD.
The 2022 FDD mandates the Red’s Savoy Pizza POS system and QuickBooks Online by Intuit Inc. for accounting.
There are 17 total units: 15 franchised and 2 company-owned, all concentrated in Minnesota.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD; Item 8 contains no extract regarding designated or approved suppliers.
With a 7-year initial term and renewal notice required 6–9 months before expiration, windows align with franchise agreement cycles. The 2022 FDD shows 15.4% unit growth, suggesting new openings may create additional opportunities.
The FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2022. You can read it using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Red's Savoy Pizza2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Red's Savoy Pizza files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

14 operators run 14 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit14

Top states by locations

MN14

Ownership

The portfolio behind Red's Savoy Pizza

unknown of rs holdings.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.