From the filings

HQ-led decisions

PIP Printing

Professional services

Software purchasing at PIP Printing is controlled at the franchisor level, with mandated technology systems specified in the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document. The network consists of 55 franchised locations, all single-unit operators, concentrated in California, Florida, and Indiana. Vendors should understand the mandated tech stack and the executive team led by President and CEO Richard A. Lowe before engaging.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
50
50 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-3.846%
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
25%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
—
per unit
Investment range
$199K–$274K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

27%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 27% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 25%, Ad fund 2%. Total 27% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 25%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

Printer's PlanPrinter's Plan
Industry softwareItem 11

irements. You must have computerized pricing and estimating software and hardware (Franchise Agreement, Section 2.b.). The PIP selected software currently is the latest version of PrintersPlan manufac

PrintSmithPrintSmith
Industry softwareItem 11

rect or indirect payments (other than volume discounts for its Franchisees) for utilizing PrintersPlan in its equipment package. There is a similar pricing software program called PrintSmith (not avai

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

13 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 8 explicit no's; 13 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

PIP does not have independent access to the information and data maintained on your software, but it reserves the right to do so.

How the franchisor buys

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

PIP endorses a PIP Advisory Council made up of five to eight franchisees from different regions of the United States.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

In the year ending December 31, 2025, PIP’s revenues from several of the programs described above, including PIP’s trademark licensing program, were $0.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

0

Item 8

Thereafter, you have no required purchases from PIP, and the estimated proportion of required purchases during ongoing operations is 0%.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Except for items bearing the PIP trademarks, you may submit names of suppliers whom you would like PIP to approve.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Item 17

Your Obligations on Sections 12.2, Complete de- Section 7 Under the Termination/Non- 20.2, 20.3, 22.7, identification, transfer Amendment, upon Renewal 23.1, 23.2 center telephone & abandonment or facsimile number to termination of your PIP, assign customer Franchise Agreement, list to PIP and abide by you must…

Franchise management

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 17

the Brand Standards and Operations Manual may be amended upon 3 days' notice to you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 12

PIP will provide you with site selection approval.

Marketing

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

Upon a majority vote of all of the PIP franchisees to create a Co-Op, you and all of the other PIP franchisees in the Co-Op Territory (including all prospective and existing PIP franchisees who later establish or acquire PIP franchises in the Co-Op Territory) must participate in the Co-Op.

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all Tangible Property used in establishing and operating your PIP Center either through (a) PIP, (b) suppliers which have been selected by PIP, (c) suppliers selected by you and approved by PIP, or (d) in the case of items bearing PIP’s trademarks, PIP’s designated and approved suppliers.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You must staff your PIP Center by trained, competent and qualified personnel (including any manager).

Point of sale

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

PIP does not have independent access to the information and data maintained on your software, but it reserves the right to do so.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

PIP may or may not charge a registration fee 23 PIP Printing FDD 03/2026 of approximately between $15 to $100 to cover training materials, instructor fees or duration of the program.

The filing answers no to 8 questions
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?Item 5
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?Item 8
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at PIP Printing

PIP Printing operates a network of 55 franchised locations, all run by single-unit operators. The franchise is headquartered in California, with the densest operator footprints in CA (11), FL (6), IN (5), NC (5), and TN (3). No company-owned units are disclosed in the 2026 FDD, and year-over-year unit growth is not reported. Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed. The royalty rate is 25.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years.

For software vendors, the addressable market is 55 locations. Because all operators are single-unit franchisees, there is no multi-unit operator layer that might independently influence purchasing. The franchisor appears to maintain tight control over technology decisions, making HQ the essential point of contact for any software sale.

Who controls software purchasing

The executive team listed in Item 1 of the 2026 FDD includes Richard A. Lowe, President and Chief Executive Officer, and Don F. Lowe, Chairman. Operational leadership comes from David C. Rice, Chief Operating Officer, while marketing technology decisions likely involve David Robidoux, Executive Vice President and Chief Marketing Officer. Thomas Muller serves as Chief Financial Officer and Secretary. This group constitutes the buying center for enterprise software decisions affecting the franchise system.

Because the FDD mandates specific technology systems, any new software vendor must engage these executives to understand how their product fits within or alongside the mandated stack. The absence of multi-unit operators simplifies the sales process: there is one decision-making body, not a fragmented operator base.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD identifies two mandated systems: PIP selected and PrintersPlan. PrintSmith is also referenced in the technology documentation, though its mandatory status is less clear. These systems likely cover operational workflows, print job management, and possibly point-of-sale functions, given the professional services nature of the business.

Vendors offering complementary or replacement technology should map their capabilities against PrintersPlan and PrintSmith specifically. Integration with PIP selected—likely a proprietary or franchisor-designated platform—may be a prerequisite for any new software adoption.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no procurement extract, meaning the franchisor does not publicly disclose designated supplier lists or purchasing requirements in that section. In practice, this often means the franchisor exercises approval rights over major vendor relationships without publishing a formal approved-supplier roster.

Renewal terms, detailed in Item 17, offer two pathways. The standard renewal requires compliance with the franchise agreement, six months' advance written notice, and acceptance of a contract that may contain materially different terms—though territory boundaries remain unchanged and the continuing royalty will not exceed what similarly situated renewing franchisees pay. An amendment adds a requirement to bring the center to current appearance, equipment, and safety standards. Both pathways grant a 10-year renewal term.

These renewal windows create natural opportunities for technology evaluation. Franchisees approaching renewal must meet updated standards, which may include refreshed software or hardware. Vendors should monitor renewal cycles and align outreach with these compliance-driven upgrade moments.

How to read the PIP Printing FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the authoritative source for understanding PIP Printing's technology mandates, executive structure, and contractual terms. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (mandated systems), and Item 17 (renewal conditions). The embedded PDF viewer below provides full access to the document as filed with state franchise regulators.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems aligned with your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize outreach based on tech mandates, unit counts, and decision-maker access.

Questions vendors ask

PIP Printing, answered from the filing

President and CEO Richard A. Lowe leads the executive team. David Robidoux, EVP and Chief Marketing Officer, and David C. Rice, Chief Operating Officer, are likely involved in operational and marketing technology decisions.
The FDD mandates PIP selected and PrintersPlan systems. PrintSmith is also referenced in the technology documentation.
There are 55 franchised locations, all operated by single-unit franchisees, with no multi-unit operators. Company-owned units are not disclosed.
The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so designated supplier requirements are not publicly specified. Assume franchisor approval is required for major software purchases.
Franchise agreements run 10 years. Renewal requires six months' prior written notice and compliance with current standards. Renewal terms may differ materially from original agreements.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

PIP Printing2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment PIP Printing files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

55 operators run 55 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit55

Top states by locations

CA11
FL6
IN5
NC5
TN3

Ownership

The portfolio behind PIP Printing

strategic_multibrand of Franchise Services.

Sibling brands

Related Professional services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.