From the filings

HQ-led decisions

My Favorite Muffin

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing at My Favorite Muffin is controlled at the headquarters level by a tight executive team led by President and CEO Michael W. Evans. The franchise system currently mandates MicroSale as its point-of-sale system alongside several BAB-branded platforms for gift cards, loyalty, and intranet operations. With 12 franchised units and an average unit volume of $784,815, this is a compact but specific addressable market for vendors offering compliance, integration, or adjacent operational tools.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
12
12 franchised
Unit growth YoY
0%
vs prior filing
AUV
$785K
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
7%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$30K
per unit
Investment range
$424K–$671K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

10%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 10% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 7%, Ad fund 3%. Total 10% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 7%Ad fund 3%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

DoorDashDoorDash
DeliveryItem 6

stomer prior to disbursement of the funds by the Third Party Delivery Service to the Franchisee. Examples of Third Party Delivery Services include, but are not limited to Grubhub, DoorDash, UberEats,

ezCaterezCater
DeliveryItem 6

ursement of the funds by the Third Party Delivery Service to the Franchisee. Examples of Third Party Delivery Services include, but are not limited to Grubhub, DoorDash, UberEats, ezCater Marketing Fu

GrubhubGrubhub
DeliveryItem 6

om the customer prior to disbursement of the funds by the Third Party Delivery Service to the Franchisee. Examples of Third Party Delivery Services include, but are not limited to Grubhub, DoorDash, U

MicroSaleMicroSale
POSItem 11

software maintenance. The hardware and software manufacturers have no obligation to provide ongoing maintenance, repairs, upgrades or updates. The cost of the BAB arrangement with MicroSale includes t

Uber EatsUber
DeliveryItem 6

or to disbursement of the funds by the Third Party Delivery Service to the Franchisee. Examples of Third Party Delivery Services include, but are not limited to Grubhub, DoorDash, UberEats, ezCater Ma

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

26 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

BAB reserves the right to access information and data pertaining to your Store produced by and/or stored on your computer system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall furnish to Franchisor the following: (i) on or before 5:00 p.m. on Monday of each week, an electronic (email) report of the Gross Revenues of the MFM Store for the preceding week, (ii) on or before 5:00 p.m. on Monday of each week, a mailed or faxed copy of the MFM Store’s register tape or report (as…

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

Prior to December 2017, our designated supplier for these same items was BAB Operations, Inc., an affiliate of BAB, which derived revenue from franchisee purchases of said services.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

However, BAB reserves the right to require you to purchase additional items from BAB or its designated source in the future.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

BAB, Inc. will derive revenue in the form of a license fee on your purchases of coffee from the designated source under a trademark licensing agreement between BAB, Inc., an affiliate of BAB, and the designated source.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

BAB can charge you a fee between $1,000 to $5,000 to cover its expenses in testing or inspecting any item.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

BAB will consider any request by you for approval of a potential supplier or modification of a standard or specification.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must also at its own expense comply with security standards established by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council, in connection with credit card transactions.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor shall have the right at any time, and without prior notice to Franchisee, to examine or audit or cause to be examined or audited the business records, bookkeeping and accounting records, bank statements, sales and income tax records and returns, POS System tapes or reports, and other books and records of…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor may make reasonable modifications to the MFM Operations Manual from time to time to reflect changes in the specifications, standards and operating procedures of MFM Stores.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The location of Franchisee's Store must be approved by Franchisor.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is strictly prohibited from establishing or maintaining any websites, social media accounts or domain names which incorporate any of the Marks, name or initials into its web address.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must conduct a Grand Opening marketing campaign that meets Franchisor’s prior written approval.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On an ongoing basis, Franchisee will spend not less than two percent (2%) of Franchisee's Gross Revenues on local advertising and promotion.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You must offer for sale BAB Gift Cards and the Loyalty Program, which must be in the form and version we designate and approve.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If at the time you sign a Franchise Agreement, a local or regional advertising cooperative is in existence, or if after you sign a Franchise Agreement, a local advertising cooperative is formed in the area where your MFM Store is to be located, you must participate.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all your coffee, which is branded in your store as Brewster's, from our designated supplier.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to obtain all his coffee, muffin mix and cream cheese from Franchisor or Franchisor's designated supplier.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

For each Store you own, you must purchase a POS System, credit card processor, computer, monitor and Internet service provider that meet BAB's standards and specifications.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall execute such documents as may be required from time to time by Franchisor to permit Franchisor to withdraw from Franchisee's general operating checking account the amounts due Franchisor.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees: i to offer for sale gift cards and/or the loyalty program, which must be in the form and version designated by Franchisor ("Official Gift Card/Loyalty Program"), as it may be amended from time to time;

People

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall require all employees to maintain a neat and clean appearance and to conform to the employee uniform requirements as specified by Franchisor from time to time.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

For each Store you own, you must purchase a POS (Point-of-Sale) System, credit card processor, computer, monitor, printer and Internet service provider that meet BAB's standards and specifications.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

BAB has the right to independently poll your POS System (via modem, the cloud, or any other Internet-based technology available to BAB) at any time to obtain sales data, in order to gather sales trend data, product mix information, or any other purpose BAB in its sole discretion deems appropriate.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

BAB may also provide refresher and supplemental training programs; however, none is planned at this time.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

You must attend such regional or national conventions.

The filing answers no to 3 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at My Favorite Muffin

My Favorite Muffin is a quick-service restaurant franchise headquartered in Illinois with 12 franchised units and no company-owned locations disclosed in the 2026 FDD. The system reports an average unit volume of $784,815 and charges a 7.0% royalty on a 10-year initial term. Year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. For software vendors, the addressable market is small—just 12 locations—but the centralized purchasing model and mandated technology stack create a clear path to the decision-makers. The operator footprint is thin: three mapped operators control approximately three located units, all single-unit franchisees, with a geographic split favoring California (2 units) and Illinois (1 unit). No multi-unit operators exist in the current data, meaning every technology decision flows through the franchisor, not a sophisticated franchisee group.

Who controls software purchasing

The FDD lists five executives in Item 1. Michael W. Evans serves as President, Chief Executive Officer, and Director. Brian J. Evans is the Chief Operating Officer, and Geraldine Conn holds the Chief Financial Officer role. Two additional directors—Steven G. Feldman and James A. Lentz—round out the leadership group. No chief information officer, chief technology officer, or VP of technology is named. In a system this size, the CEO and COO likely own operational technology decisions, while the CFO controls budget approval. A vendor pitch should address operational efficiency and financial return directly to this group. There is no parent company on file; the brand appears independently owned, so no external corporate procurement layer exists above this team.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates several specific systems. MicroSale is the required point-of-sale platform. Franchisees must also use BAB Gift Cards, a BAB loyalty program, BAB's intranet, and vendor online ordering systems. These are not optional—they are mandated investments. For a software vendor, this means the core operational stack is locked. Opportunities exist in areas that integrate with or supplement these mandated tools: reporting layers, labor scheduling, inventory management, or customer engagement platforms that sit atop the BAB ecosystem. The absence of a named back-office or accounting system in the mandate leaves a potential opening, though any pitch must acknowledge the existing BAB intranet as the likely hub for franchisee communications and compliance.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 procurement signals are not available in the provided extract, so the formal supplier approval process remains unknown. Vendors should inquire directly about designated versus approved supplier requirements during discovery. Renewal timing offers a structural window: franchisees can renew for two additional 10-year terms provided they are in good standing, pay a $2,500 renewal fee, and agree to upgrade to then-current standards of decor, equipment, and product offerings. The renewal agreement may contain materially different terms, though the royalty fee will not exceed the rate imposed on similarly situated renewing franchisees. These upgrade clauses are natural triggers for technology re-evaluation. Tracking franchise agreement origination dates across the 12-unit system would reveal when renewal-driven tech decisions are likely.

How to read the My Favorite Muffin FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Focus on Item 11 for the complete list of mandated technology and equipment, Item 1 for executive and ownership structure, and Item 19 for financial performance representations that contextualize the $784,815 AUV. Item 17 contains the renewal conditions quoted above. Because the system is small and independently owned, the FDD is the single most important document for understanding the franchisor's control points and the franchisees' obligations. Use it to map every mandated system and identify gaps where your software can add measurable value.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

My Favorite Muffin, answered from the filing

The buying center sits with C-suite executives named in the FDD: Michael W. Evans (President & CEO), Brian J. Evans (COO), and Geraldine Conn (CFO). No dedicated CIO or CTO is listed, so operational and financial leadership likely drive technology decisions.
The 2026 FDD mandates MicroSale for point-of-sale, BAB Gift Cards, a BAB loyalty program, BAB's intranet, and vendor online ordering systems. These are required investments for franchisees, creating a locked-in tech environment.
There are 12 total units, all franchised. The system is small and concentrated, with operators mapped in California (2 units) and Illinois (1 unit). No multi-unit operators are recorded in the current FDD.
The FDD does not disclose a specific procurement model in the provided extract. Item 8 signals are absent, so it is unclear whether the franchisor uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement framework.
Franchise agreements run for 10 years, with two additional 10-year renewal terms available. Renewals require upgrades to then-current standards of decor, equipment, and product offerings, which may trigger technology refresh cycles tied to renewal dates.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 tech mandates, Item 19 financials, and executive disclosures directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

My Favorite Muffin2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment My Favorite Muffin files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

3 operators run 3 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit3

Top states by locations

CA2
IL1

Ownership

The portfolio behind My Favorite Muffin

unknown of bab.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.