ns that can be accessed through electronic means, including but not limited to the Internet, World Wide Web, social media and social networking sites (including but not limited to Facebook, Twitter, L
From the filings
Matco Tools
Automotive servicesSoftware purchasing control at Matco Tools sits at the franchisor level, with multiple mandated technology systems specified in the 2026 FDD. The brand operates in the automotive services segment, though its total unit count and ownership split are not disclosed in the most recent filing. Vendors targeting this account must understand the mandated stack and the centralized procurement signals before engaging.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.
ipal amount and bearing interest at the rate of 2.950% per year. The Registered Notes are fully and unconditionally guaranteed (the "Guarantees"), on a joint and several basis, by Gilbarco Inc. and Ma
Distributor’s Potential Customers and Customers), (B) any current or future means of electronic commerce, including the Internet (such as websites like Amazon or social media like Instagram) and Matco
ssed through electronic means, including but not limited to the Internet, World Wide Web, social media and social networking sites (including but not limited to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Instagram
n be accessed through electronic means, including but not limited to the Internet, World Wide Web, social media and social networking sites (including but not limited to Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, I
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
13 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 16 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 8
The Distributor’s books, records and accounts will be in the form designated by Matco, and the Distributor will use the chart of accounts designated by Matco for all financial statements.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesItem 8
The Distributor will submit to Matco, on a weekly basis, such business reports as Matco may designate in writing.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
Matco, and any present or future affiliates of Matco, may manufacture and/or sell products that are the same as or similar to the Products, and Matco’s present or future affiliates may sell such products directly, or indirectly through wholesalers, suppliers, distributors or others, to potential customers who are the…
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 8
Matco has the right to modify its requirements and designate additional approved or required methods of payment
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesItem 8
The Distributor must comply with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (“PCI DSS”) as they may be revised and modified by the Payment Card Industry Security Standards Council (see www.pcisecuritystandards.org), or such successor or replacement organization, and/or in accordance with other standards as…
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesItem 8
permit Matco and its agents to inspect the Distributor’s Mobile Store and observe the Distributor’s business operations at any time during normal business hours
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesItem 8
We have the right to add to or modify the Manual from time to time to change operating procedures, maintain the goodwill associated with the Marks and to meet competition.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
All sales made by the Principal Owner, the Operator or any other employees of the Distributor within the List of Calls or from the Mobile Store must be Products purchased from Matco or its affiliates or designated suppliers, except for trade-ins, which are permitted to be re-sold by the Distributorship, if done so in…
Payments
Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 8
At all times, the Distributor must maintain credit- card relationships with the credit- and debit-card issuers or sponsors, check or credit verification services, financial-center services, and electronic-funds-transfer systems that Matco designates as mandatory, and the Distributor must not use any such services or…
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesItem 8
I (we) hereby authorize MATCO TOOLS CORPORATION, hereinafter called COMPANY, to process Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit or credit entries to my (our) account indicated below;
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 8
Data. The Distributor must purchase or lease a new computer system that complies with the specifications established by Matco (and that Matco may update periodically), must sign the Matco Distributor Business System Software License, Maintenance and Support Agreement (the “Software License Agreement”) (Exhibit O) as…
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 8
All data provided by the Distributor, uploaded to Matco’s system from the Distributor’s system, and/or downloaded from the Distributor’s system to the Matco system is and will be owned exclusively by Matco, and Matco will have the right to use such data in any manner that Matco deems appropriate without compensation…
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 8
Matco may provide additional training and certification for its distributors from time to time and the Principal Owner shall attend this training and complete the certification procedures designated by Matco.
The filing answers no to 5 questions
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 8
- Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 8
- Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 17
- Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 8
- Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?Item 8
The vendor opportunity at Matco Tools
Matco Tools operates in the automotive services segment, headquartered in Ohio. For software vendors, the opportunity hinges on a franchisor that mandates multiple technology systems, signaling centralized control over the tech stack. However, the total addressable unit count is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD, and no operator footprint data exists in our corpus. This lack of transparency means vendors must qualify the opportunity through direct engagement rather than relying on public unit counts.
The brand appears independently owned, with no parent company on file. This independence can mean a leaner decision-making structure, but without named executives in the FDD, identifying the right buyer requires additional research. The mandated systems—credit card processing, MDBS Software, and signature pad processing—indicate a franchise that has already made concrete technology choices, creating both a barrier and a roadmap for vendors offering adjacent or replacement solutions.
Who controls software purchasing
The 2026 FDD does not list HQ executives, leaving the specific buying center undefined in the public record. Given the presence of multiple mandated technology systems, purchasing authority almost certainly resides at the franchisor level rather than with individual franchisees. This is a classic HQ-controlled model: the franchisor selects, mandates, and likely negotiates software contracts on behalf of the system.
For vendors, this means your pitch must target the corporate office in Ohio. Without named decision-makers, you will need to identify the relevant titles—typically a VP of Operations, Director of IT, or CFO—through outbound research. The mandated nature of the tech stack suggests that any new software adoption will require franchisor approval, making the HQ relationship the single point of failure or success.
Mandated and current tech stack
Matco Tools' 2026 FDD explicitly mandates three technology systems. First, Credit Card Processing Software is required across the system, though the specific vendor is not named in the filing. Second, MDBS Software is mandated; MDBS is a known provider of distribution and business management software, often used in tool and equipment distribution. Third, Signature Pad processing software is required, indicating electronic signature capture is integrated into operations.
These three mandates paint a picture of a franchise that has digitized payment processing, operational management, and transaction documentation. Vendors selling POS, ERP, or e-signature solutions should note the incumbency of these mandated systems. Any pitch must address integration with or replacement of MDBS Software specifically, as it likely serves as the operational backbone. The absence of other named systems in the FDD does not mean they do not exist—only that they are not mandated at the franchisor level.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
The FDD provides no extract from Item 8 regarding procurement procedures. This means we cannot confirm whether Matco Tools uses a designated supplier model, an approved supplier list, or an open procurement process. However, the existence of mandated systems strongly implies a designated or approved supplier framework. Vendors should assume that getting onto an approved list is a prerequisite for doing business with the franchise.
Item 17, which typically covers renewal terms, also yields no extract. Without renewal data, initial term length, or recent unit growth figures, it is impossible to estimate when contract windows might open. The 2026 filing year suggests the FDD is current, but vendors will need to monitor for any public signals—such as RFP postings, leadership changes, or technology announcements—to time their outreach effectively.
How to read the Matco Tools FDD
The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the primary source for the facts presented here. It is filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and operational disclosures that govern the franchise system. For software vendors, the most relevant sections are Item 11 (franchisor's assistance, including mandated technology), Item 8 (restrictions on sources of products and services), and Item 17 (renewal, termination, and transfer).
You can view the full FDD in the embedded PDF viewer below. Pay close attention to any supplier lists, technology requirements, and the named executives in Item 1, even though none are currently in our database. The FDD is a living document updated annually, so the 2026 edition represents the most current public disclosure. For a ranked target list of franchise systems that match your software category, FranCloud can help you prioritize accounts based on tech stack, unit count, and procurement signals.
Questions vendors ask
Matco Tools, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Matco Tools files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
14 operators run 14 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| WI | 9 |
|---|---|
| WV | 2 |
| WA | 1 |
| AK | 1 |
Related Automotive services brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.