From the filings

+25% units YoY

MACU INTERNATIONAL

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing control at MACU INTERNATIONAL is not explicitly detailed in the 2026 FDD, with no HQ executives on file to identify a specific buyer. The franchise currently mandates its proprietary MACU® website, and the addressable market is limited to 5 franchised units. Vendors should note the brand's 25% year-over-year unit growth as a signal of expansion potential.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
5
5 franchised
Unit growth YoY
+25%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
2.5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
0%
national + local
Initial fee
$50K
per unit
Investment range
$380K–$622K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
3 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

2.5%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 2.5% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 2.5%, Ad fund 0%. Total 2.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 2.5%Ad fund 0%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

onsistent with these recommended prices (see section 8.1(b) of the Franchise Agreement). (4) Advertising Program for the Franchise System We intend to use digital media (Internet, Facebook, Twitter, e

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

with these recommended prices (see section 8.1(b) of the Franchise Agreement). (4) Advertising Program for the Franchise System We intend to use digital media (Internet, Facebook, Twitter, etc.) and t

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

19 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 13 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The franchisor will have independent access to all information generated and stored in the point of sale (POS) or computer systems used by the franchisee.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase all proprietary tea, fruit jams, and other raw materials to be used in MACU® products from us, our parent company, or our affiliates, as well as cups, uniforms, and any other items containing the MACU® logo.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

The franchisor did not derive any revenue from required purchases or leases.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor and its affiliated entities reserve the right to derive and receive revenues, rebates, or other material consideration due to the Franchisee's necessary purchases.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

45

Item 8

While operating the franchise business, we estimate that the proportion of required purchases and leases in relation to all of your purchases and leases will range from 45% to 55%.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

You must pay a charge not to exceed the reasonable costs of assessment and testing.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

Suppose you desire to purchase products other than those provided by approved suppliers. In that case, you must submit a written request for approval of the proposed supplier and such evidence of conformity with our specifications and program specifications as we may reasonably require.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At the time of termination or expiration of this Agreement, for any reason, Franchisee must transfer the telephone number for Franchisee’s Outlet to Franchisor or cancel them and de-list them from any applicable telephonedirectory or other telephone number listing service.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor or Franchisor’s designated agents also have the right at all reasonable times, upon 10 Business Days prior notice, to examine, copy and audit the books and records relating to the Outlet and Franchisee’s operation of the Franchised Business.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has the right to modify the Confidential Operations manual at any time by the addition, deletion or other modification of the provisions thereof.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Although we do not typically pre-select the site for your Outlet, we must give our final consent to the location before your Outlet can be placed there (see section 7.2(a) of the Franchise Agreement).

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

8.13 Web Site and Internet Marking (a) During the term of this Agreement, Franchisee will use the MACU website, and any other internet or social media only as specifically authorized by Franchisor in section 6.2(a) of this Agreement, the Confidential Operations Manual or otherwise in writing to market theFranchised…

Operations

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

After that, Franchisee must buy a replacement or additional Required Inventory ("Additional Required Inventory"), fixtures, equipment, accessories, and other authorized items only from Franchisor's affiliates or other designated or approved suppliers.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

transactions (or such other automatic payment mechanism Franchisor may designate) directly from Franchisee’s account into Franchisor’s operating account.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

Additionally, you must employ at least one designated Manager (if you are a sole proprietor, this will be you, and if you are an entity, this will be a Principal Equity Owner of at least 50% of the franchisees’ entity) who has successfully completed our initial training program.

Must employees wear uniforms specified by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to obtain such uniforms and attire only from an e-store set up by Franchisor’s affiliates or from other approved manufacturersor distributors.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

8.4 Point of Sale System (a) Franchisee is required to use and maintain the specific computerized point of sale cash collection system and integrated business computer (“POS System”) that Franchisor’s authorized supplier provides.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The franchisor will have independent access to all information generated and stored in the point of sale (POS) or computer systems used by the franchisee.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may, at our discretion, charge you an additional training fee for MACU® training courses, seminars, conferences, or other programs that we require you or your representatives to attend.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 20
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderSingle 1 19

The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.

OwnerCEOPresidentPrincipal
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
  3. 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.

The vendor opportunity at MACU INTERNATIONAL

MACU INTERNATIONAL presents a small but growing target for software vendors, with 5 total franchised units as reported in the 2026 FDD. The quick-service restaurant brand operates out of its Washington headquarters and has no company-owned locations. The addressable market is concentrated in just three states: California with 3 units, Washington with 2, and Texas with 1. Despite the small current footprint, the system posted a 25% year-over-year unit growth rate, signaling active expansion. Vendors evaluating this account should weigh the limited immediate revenue potential against the opportunity to establish a relationship early in a growth phase. The average unit volume is not disclosed in the FDD, and the royalty rate is a modest 2.5%.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2026 FDD does not list any executives in its Item 1 disclosure, leaving the software buying center undefined. With an operator footprint of 6 mapped operators, all of whom are single-unit franchisees, there is no multi-unit operator concentration to leverage. This structure suggests that technology decisions are likely made at the franchisor level, but without named decision-makers, vendors must conduct direct discovery to identify the appropriate contact. The lack of a parent company and the brand's apparent independent ownership further centralize control at the HQ level in Washington.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology mandate disclosed in the 2026 FDD is the MACU® website. No point-of-sale system, back-office platform, or other operational software is listed as required or recommended. This narrow mandate leaves significant whitespace for vendors offering complementary solutions, but it also means there is no documented tech stack to integrate with or displace. The absence of a mandated POS is notable for a quick-service restaurant concept and may indicate an opportunity for a vendor to become a preferred provider if they can demonstrate value to the franchisor.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

MACU INTERNATIONAL's procurement model is not described in the FDD. Item 8, which typically details whether the franchisor designates suppliers or maintains an approved vendor list, provided no extract. This opacity means vendors cannot assume a closed or open procurement process without further investigation. The franchise agreement has a short 4-year initial term, and renewal is available for an additional 3 years provided the franchisee delivers written notice at least 90 days before expiration. These short cycles create frequent natural inflection points for software evaluation. Combined with the 25% unit growth, new store openings represent another potential entry point for technology sales.

How to read the MACU INTERNATIONAL FDD

The full 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is available for review below. The FDD is the foundational document for understanding the legal and operational constraints of this franchise system. Key items for software vendors to scrutinize include Item 8 for supplier restrictions, Item 11 for the franchisor's obligations regarding technology, and Item 19 for any financial performance representations, though none are summarized here. The document was filed with state franchise regulators and serves as the definitive source for the facts cited in this analysis. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help prioritize your outbound efforts.

Questions vendors ask

MACU INTERNATIONAL, answered from the filing

The 2026 FDD does not list any HQ executives, so the specific buying center is unknown. With only 5 single-unit operators, purchasing authority likely rests with a small, centralized leadership team at the Washington-based headquarters.
The only mandated technology disclosed in the 2026 FDD is the MACU® website. No point-of-sale or other operational systems are listed as required or recommended for franchisees.
There are 5 total units, all of which are franchised. The footprint is concentrated in California (3), Washington (2), and Texas (1), with no company-owned locations reported.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the 2026 FDD. Item 8, which typically outlines designated or approved supplier requirements, provided no extract, so the restrictions on vendor selection remain unknown.
With a short 4-year initial term and a 3-year renewal requiring 90 days' written notice, contract review windows are frequent. The 25% unit growth rate may also create new-location implementation opportunities.
The 2026 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below to conduct your own detailed analysis of the franchise system.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

MACU INTERNATIONAL2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment MACU INTERNATIONAL files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

6 operators run 6 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit6

Top states by locations

CA3
WA2
TX1

Ownership

The portfolio behind MACU INTERNATIONAL

single_brand_holdco of Macu.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.