From the filings

HQ-led decisions

La Madeleine

Quick service restaurant

Software purchasing decisions for La Madeleine are controlled at the corporate headquarters in Texas, where CEO John Dillon and VP of Operations Chad Hawkes oversee a system of 86 total units. The brand currently mandates Olo for online ordering, and with 59 franchised locations operating under a 10-year initial term, vendors have a defined addressable market to target.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
86
59 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-4.839%
vs prior filing
AUV
$2.31M
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2.25%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$1.23M–$2.25M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
1 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7.25%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 7.25% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 2.25%. Total 7.25% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 2.25%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

7 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

DoorDashDoorDash
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, Favor (if applicable), and DoorDash and other i

EcolabEcolab
Mandatory
Industry softwareItem 8

interior and exterior pest service by a certified (licensed and bonded) company and purchase all cleaning chemicals in your restaurant from our approved vendor, which is currently Ecolab (not an affil

GrubhubGrubhub
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

ty delivery service providers including Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub, Uber Eats,

OloOlo
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

d-party delivery service providers including Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub, Uber E

PostmatesUber
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

providers including Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, Favor (if

ThanxThanx
Mandatory
LoyaltyItem 11

ct third-party delivery service providers including Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub,

Uber EatsUber
Mandatory
DeliveryItem 11

ry service providers including Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates, and DoorDash (where available or supported by the vendor). You must pay service fees directly to Thanx, Olo, Grubhub, Uber Eats, Postmates

CrunchTimeCrunchTime
InventoryItem 7

s the Technology Suite (including Managed Infrastructure, NCR Aloha Point of Sale and Kitchen Display System Platform, Digital Menu Board, FreedomPay Credit Card Payment Platform, CrunchTime Back Offi

DinovaDinova
LoyaltyItem 19

very (including GrubHub, Uber Eats, Favor, and Doordash), from catering if the Bakery & Cafés provide the product, by online, internet or phone-app ordering (including ezCater and Dinova) if picked up

ezCaterezCater
DeliveryItem 19

ses, by delivery (including GrubHub, Uber Eats, Favor, and Doordash), from catering if the Bakery & Cafés provide the product, by online, internet or phone-app ordering (including ezCater and Dinova)

FreedomPayFreedomPay
PaymentsItem 7

00 to $120,000. (8) This estimate includes the Technology Suite (including Managed Infrastructure, NCR Aloha Point of Sale and Kitchen Display System Platform, Digital Menu Board, FreedomPay Credit Ca

NCR AlohaNCR Voyix
POSItem 7

re required when operating an Express Bakery & Café with an average cost of $80,000 to $120,000. (8) This estimate includes the Technology Suite (including Managed Infrastructure, NCR Aloha Point of S

SyscoSysco
InventoryItem 7

ENT – “Full Bakery & Café” Prototype Type of Expenditure(1) Amount Method of When Due To Whom Payment is Payment to be Made Start-up Inventory & $31,700 to As Arranged As Incurred Sysco and Various Su

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 2 explicit no's; 5 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

You must transmit data to us at the times we specify and give us independent access to your systems (and provide us with any usernames and passwords necessary for that purpose).

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

require; 13.2.2 By the 15th of each month, an unaudited income statement for the prior month and year to date, specifically reflecting, among other things, cost of goods sold and labor costs for the Bakery & Café;

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

As of the issuance date of this disclosure document, except for LDAMC, Bridor, and GCI as described below, neither we nor any of our affiliates is an approved supplier of any products or services to our franchisees.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 20

We have created a Franchisee Advisory Council associated with the franchise system.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may unilaterally supplement, improve, and modify the System from time to time.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Currently, approved suppliers pay us and our affiliates sales incentives and payments for food and beverage items as either (i) a flat amount per pound, gallon or case (or other specified measure) purchased by franchisees or (ii) a flat amount based on increases to sales volume percentages of the suppliers’ total…

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

65

Item 8

We estimate that 90% to 100% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Bakery & Café and 65% to 80% of your total purchases and leases in operating the Bakery & Café will be subject to at least one of the restrictions described in this item.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may require you to reimburse us for our costs of reviewing a proposed supplier, which you must pay whether or not we approve the supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

you may submit a written request for approval of the supplier or distributor, unless it is an item for which we have designated a specific vendor.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

If we elect not to exercise our option to acquire the lease or sublease, you must make such modifications or alterations to the Premises (including changing the telephone number) as may be necessary to comply with Section 18.1 and to distinguish the Premises from those of a Café.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must comply with the then-current Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards (PCI/DSS) as those standards may be revised by the PCI Security Standards Council, LLC (see www.pcisecuritystandards.org) or successor organization.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must comply fully with our quality assurance program.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may, but shall not be obligated to, and you must permit us and our agents to, enter the Bakery & Café at any time during normal business hours to conduct inspections and audits of the Bakery & Café operations, to determine if you are complying with your obligations under this Agreement and to interview employees…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 1

We may change the Manuals and the elements of the System at any time without consultation with you.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Before acquiring a site by lease or purchase and within 60 days of signing the Franchise Agreement, you must submit any information that we reasonably request LA MADELEINE® FDD – 2026 33 1628271852.4 to evaluate the proposed site.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend a minimum of $10,000 ($5,000 for an Express Bakery & Café located at a Non- Traditional Facility) to conduct grand opening marketing activities.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

As part of the WAO, franchisees must spend weekly an amount we require up to 2% of Gross Sales (currently, 1% of Gross Sales) for local advertising and promotion of the Bakery & Café (“Local Store Marketing” or “LSM”) consistent with our requirements and exclusions.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 16

You must also participate in any “frequent guest” or customer loyalty programs we prescribe.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If a Cooperative is applicable to the Full Bakery & Café, you must become a member and begin contributing (in addition to the Brand Marketing Fund contribution).

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You must use the foodservice distributors we periodically designate for most of your food, produce, and supplies.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

Equipment and Fixtures. We have identified specific brands and preferred suppliers for all of the foodservice equipment and fixture items required for a la Madeleine Bakery & Café.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must furnish us and the bank with authorizations as necessary to permit us to make withdrawals from the Account by electronic funds transfer.

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 16

You must participate in programs we establish relating to gift cards, gift certificates, stored value cards, online or mobile coupons or credits, online or mobile ordering systems, and other electronic money programs.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 11

We require that all la Madeleine Bakery & Cafés be staffed by at least 3 trained and certified individuals who have completed, to our satisfaction, our approved management training program (“Management Training”).

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You must acquire and install in the Bakery & Café, at your own expense, the point of sale (POS) system, back office computer, and other computer equipment, digital menu boards, communications devices, audio/visual equipment and software systems that we specify in writing from time to time.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You must transmit data to us at the times we specify and give us independent access to your systems (and provide us with any usernames and passwords necessary for that purpose).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may require your personnel to attend and complete, to our satisfaction, additional training programs as we may reasonably require from time to time.

The filing answers no to 2 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
  2. 82.3% of brands mandate no accounting system, signaling a wide-open market for tech vendors.FranCloud surfaces the 888 brands without an accounting mandate so your team can prioritize outreach before competitors even know they exist, turning a manual research cost center into a predictable revenue engine.
  3. Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.

The vendor opportunity at La Madeleine

La Madeleine operates 86 total bakery-cafés, with 59 franchised and 27 company-owned locations. The brand posted an average unit volume (AUV) of $2,308,167, positioning it as a substantial quick-service restaurant target for software vendors. However, the system contracted by 4.8% year-over-year, a signal that vendors should monitor when assessing total addressable market stability. The franchised footprint represents the primary sales target for third-party software vendors, as company-owned units typically fall under corporate IT mandates.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing authority sits at the corporate level. The FDD lists John Dillon as CEO and President, making him the ultimate decision-maker for enterprise-wide technology investments. Chad Hawkes, Vice President of Operations, is the likely operational buyer for systems touching store-level workflows. Sarah Morris, as CMO, controls the marketing technology stack. For financial and accounting platforms, Laurie Boudreaux, VP of Accounting and Finance, is the relevant stakeholder. General Counsel Lauren Fernandez will be involved in contract review and data privacy terms. No multi-unit operators are mapped in our corpus, reinforcing that purchasing power is centralized at HQ.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2026 FDD mandates Olo by Olo Inc. for online ordering. This is the only technology system explicitly named in the filing. For vendors selling POS, loyalty, catering, or back-of-house systems, this means Olo is the incumbent you need to integrate with or displace. The absence of other mandated systems in the FDD does not mean none exist—only that they are not disclosed as required or recommended in Item 11. A discovery call should probe for unlisted tools in use across the 86 locations.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

La Madeleine's procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8, which typically outlines designated supplier relationships and purchasing cooperatives, contains no extractable signal. This opacity means vendors must engage HQ directly to understand whether they face a closed, preferred, or open procurement environment. On renewals, the initial franchise term is 10 years. Item 17 specifies that franchisees in good standing can obtain a successor agreement for the lesser of 10 years or their remaining lease term, provided the brand is still franchising in that geographic market. These renewal events create natural windows for technology evaluation and vendor switching.

How to read the La Madeleine FDD

The 2026 FDD is the primary source for all data cited here. Item 1 identifies the executives listed above. Item 11 reveals the Olo mandate. Item 17 governs renewal conditions and term length. For vendors, the most actionable sections are Item 11 (tech mandates), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), and Item 17 (contract cycle timing). The full document is embedded below for your own analysis. When you are ready to prioritize franchise brands by tech-stack fit and decision-maker access, FranCloud can generate a ranked target list for your specific product category.

Questions vendors ask

La Madeleine, answered from the filing

The buying center includes CEO John Dillon and VP of Operations Chad Hawkes. CMO Sarah Morris likely influences marketing technology, while VP of Accounting Laurie Boudreaux is a key stakeholder for financial systems.
The 2026 FDD mandates Olo by Olo Inc. for online ordering. No other mandated POS or operational systems are disclosed in the current filing.
There are 86 total units, comprising 59 franchised and 27 company-owned locations. The brand experienced a -4.8% year-over-year unit decline.
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 does not specify whether the brand uses designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or an open procurement structure.
Renewal windows align with the 10-year franchise term. Franchisees in good standing can obtain a successor agreement for the lesser of 10 years or their remaining lease term, creating periodic tech evaluation points.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document in the embedded PDF viewer below to analyze Item 11 tech mandates and Item 17 renewal conditions directly.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

La Madeleine2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment La Madeleine files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

8 operators run 8 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit8

Top states by locations

TX5
PA1
MD1

Ownership

The portfolio behind La Madeleine

single_brand_holdco of la Madeleine.

Related Quick service restaurant brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.