From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Korean Red Ginseng

Retail non food

Software purchasing at Korean Red Ginseng is controlled at the headquarters level by executives including Sales & Business Innovation Director Sang Min Oh. The franchise currently mandates SkyMember, Inc. (dba SkySoft) for its technology platform. With 35 total units and a 3-year initial term, the addressable market for vendors is compact but concentrated.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
35
34 franchised
Unit growth YoY
-5.556%
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2026
Royalty
3%
of gross sales
Ad fund
3%
national + local
Initial fee
$15K
per unit
Investment range
$111K–$316K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2026)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2026)Royalty 3%, Ad fund 3%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 3%Ad fund 3%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

22 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 7 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain and maintain at your own expense accounting, sales, reporting and records retention systems conforming to the requirements set by us.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to information generated by you and stored in the POS System and related computer system.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within sixty (60) days after the close of each twelve (12) month period, an 17 annual profit and loss statement for the Store for such year and a balance sheet for the Store as of the end of such year, reviewed by an independent certified public accountant.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We serve as the sole supplier for purchases of Products sold to our franchisees.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee’s obligation under this Section shall be satisfied so long as Franchisee purchases the stated products from sources of supply approved by Franchisor, subject to the same meeting the strict specifications of Franchisor which may be changed, modified or updated from time to time.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

8428095

Item 8

In the year ending 2025, our total revenue from the sale of such required purchases was $8,428,095, which makes up 31.51% from our total revenue for 2025.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

50

Item 8

You can expect items purchased or leased in accordance with our specifications will represent approximately 90% to 100% of total purchases you will make to begin operations of the business and approximately 50% to 90% of the ongoing costs to operate the business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you or the supplier a reasonable fee for the evaluation (see Item 6) and will decide within a reasonable time, but no more than 30 days.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you want to use any item or service that we have not yet evaluated or to buy or lease from a supplier that we have not yet approved or designated, you first must send us sufficient information, specifications, and samples so that we can determine whether the item or service complies with System Standards or the…

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges and agrees that Franchisor will own all rights to and interest in each telephone number and telephone directory listing used by Franchisee that is associated in any manner with Franchisee’s Store and/or with any Mark (“Telephone Listing”).

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 1

You must ensure that your POS or your credit card processing terminals (whichever are responsible for processing credit card transactions) are in compliance with the most current Payment Card Industry (PCI) standards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

We will inspect and observe the operations of your JKJ Store from time to time to determine whether you and the Store are complying with the Franchise Agreement and all System Standards.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 11

We will update periodically the Operations Manual, as needed, to incorporate new developments and changes in the System, and will provide you a copy of all updates.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

We must approve any site selected, but our consent will not be unreasonably withheld.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not maintain a World Wide Website or otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the Internet or any other public computer network in connection with the Store without Franchisor’s prior written approval, which Franchisor may withhold for any reason or for no reason.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 7

You must spend this amount on your JKJ Store, including newspaper, direct mail advertising, and promotional items and food, such as brochures and promotional flyers.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

We serve as the sole supplier for purchases of Products sold to our franchisees.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall remit Royalty Fees, Marketing Fees, and/or any other monies owed to Franchisor under this Agreement via electronic funds transfer.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

You must staff your JKJ Store with at least 1 "Approved Manager" who has management responsibilities and who has successfully completed the initial training program.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We have presently approved SkyMember, Inc. dba SkySoft as the supplier for the POS system, and they are located at 1320 East Olympic Blvd., Suite 200, Los Angeles, CA 90021, and they can be contacted at 213-372-5938.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We will have independent access to information generated by you and stored in the POS System and related computer system.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge a reasonable fee for any training program, conference, convention or other events.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Franchise agreement

The vendor opportunity at Korean Red Ginseng

Korean Red Ginseng operates a small, 35-unit retail chain headquartered in California. The system is almost entirely franchised, with 34 franchised locations and a single company-owned unit. For software vendors, the total addressable market is exactly 35 locations. The franchise reported a year-over-year unit decline of 5.556%, signaling a contracting footprint. This makes every existing location critical for vendors seeking to displace or supplement the current mandated technology.

The franchise is independently owned, with no parent company on file. Its operator base consists of 19 mapped operators, none of whom are multi-unit owners. Every operator runs a single location. This fragmented ownership structure means that while the franchisor mandates core technology, individual franchisees are unlikely to have independent purchasing authority for systems that fall under the mandate.

Who controls software purchasing

Software purchasing decisions are centralized at the headquarters level. The 2026 FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Woo Sung Chung (President and CEO), Sang Min Oh (Sales & Business Innovation Director), Dochun Choi (Manager of Franchise Business), and Seungwan Lee (Account Manager of Franchise Business). The Sales & Business Innovation Director title is the most natural entry point for a software vendor. This role likely owns technology evaluation and process innovation, making Sang Min Oh the probable buyer or key influencer for any new platform.

The absence of a dedicated CIO or CTO in the filing suggests that technology decisions are managed within the business operations function. Vendors should prepare for a sales process that emphasizes operational ROI over deep technical integration, given the small size of the system and the business-oriented titles of the decision-makers.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology system named in the FDD is SkyMember, Inc., which does business as SkySoft. This system is mandated for franchisees. The FDD does not disclose whether SkySoft covers point-of-sale, inventory management, CRM, or other specific functions. However, the mandate means that any vendor selling a competing or adjacent product must be prepared to integrate with or replace SkySoft at the franchisor level.

No other vendors are named as recommended or required. This creates a blank-slate opportunity for vendors in categories like payroll, scheduling, loyalty, or analytics, provided they can demonstrate value to a small, non-food retail chain with a 3% royalty and a 3-year initial term.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD contains no extract, so the procurement model is not publicly disclosed. It is unknown whether Korean Red Ginseng uses designated suppliers, approved supplier lists, or an open procurement model. Vendors will need to discover this directly during the sales process.

Item 17 is explicit: franchisees have no contractual right to renew or extend their agreements. Before expiration, the parties may enter into a new franchise agreement on the terms and conditions then in effect for new franchisees. This means that every 3-year cycle is effectively a new deal. For software vendors, this creates a potential window to introduce new technology requirements at the point of re-agreement, though the declining unit count suggests that new agreements may be infrequent.

How to read the Korean Red Ginseng FDD

The 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document is the definitive source for understanding Korean Red Ginseng's operations, obligations, and technology mandates. The embedded viewer below contains the full filing. Key sections for software vendors include Item 1 (executive team), Item 11 (mandated systems), Item 8 (procurement restrictions), and Item 17 (renewal and termination). Review these sections to validate the decision-maker list and confirm whether any additional technology requirements have been added since this analysis. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Korean Red Ginseng, answered from the filing

The buying center includes Sang Min Oh (Sales & Business Innovation Director), Dochun Choi (Manager of Franchise Business), and Seungwan Lee (Account Manager of Franchise Business), led by President and CEO Woo Sung Chung.
The 2026 FDD mandates SkyMember, Inc., doing business as SkySoft. No other operational or POS systems are named as required or recommended in the disclosure.
There are 35 total units: 34 franchised and 1 company-owned. The footprint is concentrated in California (6), New York (3), Texas (2), and New Jersey (2).
The procurement model is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Item 8 contains no extract, so designated or approved supplier requirements are unknown.
There is no contractual right to renew. New 3-year agreements are negotiated before expiration. With 35 units and negative unit growth, churn may limit new openings.
The 2026 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below this section.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Korean Red Ginseng2026 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Korean Red Ginseng files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

19 operators run 19 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit19

Top states by locations

CA6
NY3
TX2
NJ2
WA1

Ownership

The portfolio behind Korean Red Ginseng

unknown of korea ginseng.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.