From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Interstate Battery Franchising & Development

Retail non food

Software purchasing at Interstate Battery Franchising & Development is controlled at the headquarters level in Iowa, where President Ben Facer and VP Lain Hancock oversee a mandated, tightly integrated tech stack. The system comprises 170 total units—157 franchised and 13 company-owned—all running on required platforms including Oracle America, Inc. Software, X STORE, Dashboard, Fairway, and the All Battery Intercom. For software vendors, this represents a concentrated, single-buyer opportunity with a modest but uniform addressable base of 157 franchised locations.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
170
157 franchised
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1.5%
national + local
Initial fee
$38K
per unit
Investment range
$179K–$438K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6.5%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6.5% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1.5%. Total 6.5% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1.5%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 11

e All Battery Center trademarks (including logos, brand names and slogans) in establishing your own social media accounts. These accounts include, but are not limited to, those on Facebook, X (formerl

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 11

g logos, brand names and slogans) in establishing your own social media accounts. These accounts include, but are not limited to, those on Facebook, X (formerly known as Twitter), LinkedIn, and Pinter

OracleOracle
POSItem 11

ad of purchase the hardware, you will pay a monthly lease fee to be determined. The cost of purchasing the software ranges from $13,000 to $15,000. The supplier of the Software is Oracle America, Inc.

PinterestPinterest
MarketingItem 11

names and slogans) in establishing your own social media accounts. These accounts include, but are not limited to, those on Facebook, X (formerly known as Twitter), LinkedIn, and Pinterest. You are en

TwitterX
MarketingItem 11

(including logos, brand names and slogans) in establishing your own social media accounts. These accounts include, but are not limited to, those on Facebook, X (formerly known as Twitter), LinkedIn, a

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

27 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 3 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase from a vendor other than Franchisor and install (or, at Franchisor’s option, deliver to Franchisor for installation by Franchisor) such other software, including, without limitation, a financial accounting system, as Franchisor may specify from time to time in the Manuals or otherwise in…

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to independently access and download information from your Center; typically we do so nightly.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall, at Franchisee’s expense, submit to Franchisor, in the form prescribed by Franchisor, a monthly income statement, balance sheet, and aged trial balance, all prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (the “Monthly Financials”).

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

We or our affiliate may be an approved or sole supplier.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Item 11

However, we do have a Franchise Forum comprised of franchisees that serves as an additional connection point between us and franchisees on various topics, including marketing.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We have the right to change our specifications and standards for suppliers and distributors at any time, and we may revoke approval of a supplier or distributor that no longer meets them.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

90

Item 8

We estimate that about 95% of your total purchases and leases in establishing the Center and 90 to 95% of your total purchases and leases in operating the Center will be subject to the restrictions described above.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you for the cost of these tests, whether or not we approve the supplier.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you propose to purchase any items from a manufacturer, distributor or other supplier that we have not previously approved, you must notify us and submit, at your expense, all information, specifications and samples that we request for testing.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall immediately discontinue all use of the Proprietary Marks and of any and all items bearing the Proprietary Marks; remove the Proprietary Marks from clothing, signs, materials, motor vehicles and other items owned or used by Franchisee; cancel all advertising that contains the Proprietary Marks…

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to install and maintain a hardware and software firewall device on your point-of-sale network that follows closely to the Payment Card Industry (PCI) DSS merchant requirements as stated on the http://www.pcisecuritystandards.org.

Franchise management

Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall present to its customers such evaluation forms as may be periodically prescribed by Franchisor and shall participate and/or request its customers to participate in any surveys performed by or on behalf of Franchisor.

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

Periodically inspect your Center and its operations.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, in its sole discretion, shall be entitled to change or modify the System from time to time, including modifications to the Manuals, the required equipment, the signage, the building and premises of the Interstate All Battery Centers (including the trade dress, decor and color schemes), the presentation of…

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

In no event may you acquire the Center site or open the Center without our express written authorization.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You will conduct the ramp up marketing campaign developed by IBFAD or Interstate’s endorsed third party LSM agency that you advise and collaborate with and we approve, in connection with the opening of your Center and at your expense (at least $25,000).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend specified amounts on Local Store Marketing (“LSM”) for your Center each year.

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

If such marketing cooperatives are established in your area, you must participate.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall purchase all products, equipment, signs, fixtures, furnishings, and supplies only from distributors and suppliers approved for Franchisee by Franchisor, which approved (or sole) supplier may be Franchisor or Franchisor’s affiliate.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You must purchase your entire inventory of products from sources that we designate or approve in writing.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

On each Due Date, Franchisor will transfer from the Account the amount due as reported to Franchisor in Franchisee’s remittance report or as determined by Franchisor from the records contained in the cash registers/computer terminals of the Center.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

you must, at all times, employ at least one general store manager and one dedicated B2B salesperson in the Center who has completed our initial training program to our satisfaction, as described in Item 11.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall: (1) use the proprietary software program prescribed by Franchisor, including system documentation manuals and other proprietary materials now and hereafter developed by Franchisor, in connection with the operation of the Center;

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right to independently access and download information from your Center; typically we do so nightly.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You must also purchase from a vendor other than us and install (or, at Franchisor’s option, deliver to Franchisor for installation by Franchisor) other software, including, but not limited to, a financial accounting system or a CRM system as we may specify.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We may charge a fee for any mandatory or optional additional training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

We also require that you or your approved store operator attend our annual or other periodic conventions at your own expense, including travel, lodging and any convention fees.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 11
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?Item 8

The vendor opportunity at Interstate Battery

Interstate Battery Franchising & Development operates 170 total locations, of which 157 are franchised and 13 are company-owned. The system is entirely single-unit: all 144 mapped operators run exactly one location, with no multi-unit operators recorded in the 2025 FDD. This structure concentrates software purchasing authority at the franchisor level in Iowa, where a small executive team makes binding technology decisions for the entire network.

For a software vendor, the addressable market is 157 franchised units. The top states by unit count are Texas (10), Massachusetts (8), Illinois (8), New York (7), and Iowa (6). While the unit base is modest compared to large food-service chains, the mandated tech stack means a single HQ sale can deploy across the full system. Average unit volume is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. The royalty rate is 5.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD lists four executives in Item 1: Ben Facer (President and Director), Lain Hancock (Vice President), Linda Krier (Divisional Controller), and Rich Panek (Director, All Battery). President Facer and VP Hancock are the most likely decision-makers for enterprise software agreements. Divisional Controller Krier is the probable owner of financial and accounting system selection, given the mandate for a financial accounting system. Director Panek’s role over the All Battery concept suggests influence over operational tools tied to that brand segment.

Interstate Battery is part of Retail Acquisition and Development, Inc., the parent company. Any enterprise-level procurement may involve parent-level oversight, though the FDD does not detail that relationship’s impact on technology purchasing.

Mandated and current tech stack

The 2025 FDD mandates six named technology components. Oracle America, Inc. Software is a required system, likely covering enterprise resource planning or financial management. X STORE is mandated, pointing to a specific point-of-sale or retail management platform. Dashboard and Fairway are both listed as mandatory systems, suggesting separate operational or reporting tools. The All Battery Intercom is also required, indicating a proprietary or specified communication system for the All Battery concept. Additionally, a financial accounting system is mandated, though no specific vendor is named for that category.

This stack is prescriptive: franchisees do not have discretion to substitute. For vendors selling adjacent or replacement tools, the integration surface is well-defined. Any new software must coexist with or displace Oracle, X STORE, Dashboard, Fairway, or the All Battery Intercom.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the 2025 FDD contains no extract regarding procurement requirements. This absence means the franchisor does not publicly disclose a designated supplier list, approved vendor program, or centralized purchasing mandate in the FDD itself. In practice, this could indicate that procurement details are handled outside the disclosure document, or that the franchisor retains flexibility in supplier selection.

Renewal terms, detailed in Item 17, offer a potential window for technology changes. Franchise agreements run for an initial 10 years, with a 5-year renewal option. To renew, the franchisee must not be in default, must complete required renovations, must comply with current training requirements, must have the right to remain in possession of the location, must sign a general release (the current form is attached as Exhibit H), and must sign a renewal addendum. The renewal agreement will reflect the then-current Disclosure Document terms, which may differ materially from the original contract. For software vendors, renewal cycles every 5 years may coincide with system upgrades or re-evaluations, particularly if the franchisor updates its mandated stack at those intervals.

How to read the Interstate Battery FDD

The 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document for Interstate Battery Franchising & Development is the authoritative source for technology mandates, executive contacts, and contractual terms. Item 1 identifies the leadership team. Item 11 lists the mandated systems—Oracle, X STORE, Dashboard, Fairway, All Battery Intercom, and the financial accounting system. Item 8, while silent on procurement specifics, confirms the absence of a published supplier program. Item 17 outlines the 5-year renewal conditions that may influence technology adoption timing.

Review the embedded FDD below for the full text. When you are ready to prioritize franchise systems by technology fit and buyer access, FranCloud can provide a ranked target list tailored to your product.

Questions vendors ask

Interstate Battery Franchising & Development, answered from the filing

President Ben Facer and VP Lain Hancock are the named executives in the 2025 FDD. Divisional Controller Linda Krier likely influences financial system decisions, while Director Rich Panek oversees All Battery operations.
The 2025 FDD mandates Oracle America, Inc. Software, X STORE, Dashboard, Fairway, All Battery Intercom, and a financial accounting system. These are required for all franchised locations.
170 total units: 157 franchised and 13 company-owned. All 144 mapped operators are single-unit, with top states including Texas (10), Massachusetts (8), and Illinois (8).
The 2025 FDD does not disclose a designated supplier or approved supplier list in Item 8. The procurement signal is absent, suggesting either open purchasing or details provided outside the FDD.
Initial terms are 10 years, with 5-year renewals. Renewal requires no default, completed renovations, current training, and a signed general release. Contract cycles may align with these renewal windows.
The 2025 FDD is filed with state franchise regulators. You can review it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below for full Item 11 tech disclosures and executive contacts.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Interstate Battery Franchising & Development2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Interstate Battery Franchising & Development files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

144 operators run 144 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit144

Top states by locations

TX10
MA8
IL8
NY7
IA6

Ownership

The portfolio behind Interstate Battery Franchising & Development

unknown of battery patrol franchising.

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.