ervices and electronic cash register/point-of- sale system (i.e., the “POS System”) we require, which we have the right to change at any time. Currently, our designated POS System is Clover POS; howev
From the filings
Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart
Retail foodSoftware purchasing decisions at Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart rest with its small leadership team at the New Jersey headquarters, notably President Mark Zhang. The most recent 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document does not disclose any mandated technology systems, presenting a greenfield opportunity. The addressable market is extremely concentrated, with only three company-owned units in operation.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
6%of gross sales (FY2023)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 3 explicit no's; 6 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 6
You must install and use, at your expense, the pre-authorized payment, point of sale, credit card processing, automatic payment, automated banking, electronic debit and/or electronic funds transfer systems that we designate and require in the operation of your Shop.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesFranchise agreement
Hokkaido has the right to independently access any and all information on your POS System, at any time, without first notifying you.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall submit to Hokkaido, on or before the 15th day following the end of each month, financial reports on the income and expenses of the Hokkaido Store in the format specified in the Manual.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
As of the date of this disclosure document, our affiliate, Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart USA LLC (described in Item 1 and owned by Mark Zhang and Fan Zhang) is the sole Approved Supplier for the Hokkaido Proprietary Products.
Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?
YesItem 11
We have the right to change at any time.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
As of the date of issuance of this FDD, we received $0 in revenue from all required purchases and leases of products and services by franchisees, including purchases of items to be resold in the Shop, and rebates we receive from third-parties.
Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
We and/or our affiliate(s) may receive payments or other compensation from Approved Suppliers or any other suppliers on account of these suppliers’ dealings with us, you, or other Franchised Businesses in the System, such as rebates, commissions or other forms of compensation.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
85Item 8
We estimate that your Required Purchases, purchases and leases from Approved Suppliers and purchases that must meet our specifications in total will be about 85-95% of your total purchases to establish the Shop and about 85 to 95% of your purchases to continue the operation of the Shop.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
You must pay our then- current supplier or non-approved product evaluation fee when submitting your request, as well as cover our costs incurred in evaluating your request.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesFranchise agreement
If you want to purchase any item, product service, goods, equipment or supplies from a supplier or distributor who is not on our approved list, you may request our approval of the supplier or distributor
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesItem 11
You acknowledge and agree that we will own all rights and interest in each telephone number (regardless of whether such telephone number pre-existed any Franchise Agreement) and telephone directory listing, email address, domain name, social media platform, and comparable electronic identify that is associated in any…
Data and IT
Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You shall at all times be compliant with all Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards, any and all requirements imposed by all applicable payment processors and payment networks, including credit card and debit card processors, and any and all state and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to data…
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesItem 11
We have the right to review your business operations, in person, by mail, or electronically, and to inspect your operations and obtain your paper and electronic business records related to the Franchised Business and any other operations taking place through your Franchised Business.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
Hokkaido will revise the Manual periodically, at its discretion to conform to the changing needs of the Franchise Network and will distribute updated pages containing these revisions to You from time-to-time.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
We must approve your site before you open your Hokkaido Business franchise.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesFranchise agreement
Unless otherwise approved in writing by Hokkaido, You shall not establish a separate Website.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 7
You must spend a minimum of $500 prior to the opening your Shop to promote your grand opening.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 6
On an on-going monthly basis, you must spend not less than 2% of your monthly Gross Revenue on the local marketing of your Shop within your designated territory and in accordance with our standards and specifications.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesFranchise agreement
Payment of royalties and fees shall be made by electronic funds transfer or direct deposit.
Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?
YesItem 6
Currently we have not implemented a fee for these systems but require that you access and purchase these services as point of sale integrations from our currently designated point of sale vendor.
People
Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?
YesFranchise agreement
completed Hokkaido initial training program shall be present at the Shop whenever the Hokkaido Store is open for business.
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must purchase and use the complete computer software services and electronic cash register/point-of- sale system (i.e., the “POS System”) we require, which we have the right to change at any time.
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesFranchise agreement
Hokkaido has the right to independently access any and all information on your POS System, at any time, without first notifying you.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesItem 11
At our option, we may charge you a conference fee or a proportionate share of our out-of-pocket costs for each annual conference.
Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?
YesItem 11
If and when we do, you (or your Operating Principal) must attend a regional or national conference, which shall not occur more than one time per year.
The filing answers no to 3 questions
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
- Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Franchise agreement
The vendor opportunity at Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart
Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart is a niche retail food concept with a minimal physical footprint. According to its 2023 Franchise Disclosure Document, the brand operates exactly 3 total units. All three locations are company-owned, with the franchised count not disclosed. The unit geography is sparse but concentrated, with units operating in New York, New Jersey, and Wisconsin. No year-over-year unit growth rate was reported, indicating either a plateau in expansion or a strategic pause in franchising. For a software vendor, the total addressable market is extremely small at three units. However, the absence of a formalized tech stack can make this a strategic entry point with a single decision-making entity.
Who controls software purchasing
Purchasing power is centralized entirely at the headquarters level. There are no multi-unit franchise operators to influence, as the mapped operator data shows four operators across approximately four located units, all fall into the single-unit category. The executives on file are Mark Zhang, who serves as Chief Executive Officer and President, Fan Zhang as Vice President of Business Development, and Wei Wang as the Operations Manager. There is no dedicated Chief Information Officer or Technology lead named, which means a pitch would likely need to resonate with either operational efficiency gains for Wei Wang or growth and development strategies under Fan Zhang and Mark Zhang. The brand is independently owned with no parent company on file.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2023 FDD does not capture any mandated or recommended technology systems. This means there is no official point-of-sale vendor, no required inventory management platform, and no mandated loyalty or online ordering system disclosed to franchisees. For a vendor, this represents a blank slate where the company-owned locations may be using consumer-grade or legacy tools that the operations manager would be eager to replace. A pitch should focus on establishing standards before the franchisor grows or formalizes its tech requirements.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
Procurement signals from Item 8 of the FDD were not extracted, leaving the supplier approval process undefined. This likely means that any purchasing would be handled ad-hoc by the HQ team rather than through a preferred vendor program. Renewal terms from Item 17 offer more clarity. Franchise agreements are set for a 10-year initial term. To renew, a franchisee must be in good standing, provide timely advance notice, pay a then-current renewal fee, sign a new agreement that may contain materially different terms, be current on payments, sign a release, and modernize the shop to meet contemporary standards. The modernization clause is a natural trigger for technology adoption when a unit is up for renewal, though with no franchisees currently mapped, near-term triggers are likely absent.
How to read the Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart FDD
The 2023 FDD provides the legal and operational blueprint for the franchise, and it is the most factual source for understanding the brand's obligations and restrictions. The document reveals a 5.0% royalty fee and a standard 10-year term. Executive contacts are listed in Item 1, and while the procurement and tech mandates remain unspecified in captured data, the full document embedded below contains the complete legal text. Review Item 11 for any indirect references to software obligations and Item 8 for any supply chain language that might affect digital procurement. For a ranked list of target brands where your software fits, talk to FranCloud.
Questions vendors ask
Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Hokkaido Baked Cheese Tart files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Top states by locations
| WI | 1 |
|---|
Related Retail food brands
Primary franchise filings · updated August 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.