From the filings

HQ-led decisions

Green Motion Car and Van Rental

Automotive services

Software purchasing at Green Motion Car and Van Rental is controlled at the headquarters level by a tight executive team including CEO Richard Lowden and Chief Product Officer Chay Lowden. The system currently mandates a reservation system, though the specific vendor is not named in the 2025 FDD. With only 6 company-owned units and no franchised locations mapped, the addressable market is small but concentrated, making a direct HQ pitch essential.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
6
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
Item 19, 2025
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
2%
national + local
Initial fee
$10K
per unit
Investment range
$168K–$1.55M
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Franchisor controlled
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
No claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

8%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 8% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 2%. Total 8% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 2%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

Systems named in Item 11 of this filing. None is recorded as mandated here, which is not the same as the filing mandating nothing. Read Item 11 before treating the category as open.

FacebookMeta
MarketingItem 6

u must furnish us with a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, I

InstagramMeta
MarketingItem 6

ith a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn,

LinkedInLinkedIn
MarketingItem 6

erly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, T

TikTokTikTok
MarketingItem 6

umentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok, blogs, and o

TwitterX
MarketingItem 6

nish us with a quarterly report and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,

YouTubeGoogle
MarketingItem 6

t and documentation of local advertising expenditures during the previous calendar quarter. You may not use social media platforms, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn, YouTube, TikTok, blo

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the internet.

Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Within thirty (30) days after the close of each calendar quarter and within ninety (90) days after the close of each fiscal year, Franchisee will furnish Franchisor a full and complete written statement of income and expense and a profit and loss statement for the operation of the Franchised Business during said…

How the franchisor buys

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor has full rights to vary standard specifications and practices for any other franchisee at any time without giving Franchisee comparable rights.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We received no revenue, rebates, discounts or other material consideration from suppliers during our fiscal year ending December 31, 2024.

Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

From time to time, we may receive revenue, rebates, discounts or other material consideration from suppliers based on your required purchases of products, supplies or equipment.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

35

Item 8

approximately 35% to 50% of your costs for ongoing operation.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

If you request that we approve a proposed item or supplier, we may charge you an evaluation fee.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like us to consider another item or supplier, you must make such a request in writing to us and have the supplier give us samples of its product or service and such other information that we may require.

Communications

Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Upon the expiration or termination of this Agreement, Franchisor may exercise its authority, pursuant to such documents, to obtain any and all of Franchisee’s rights to the telephone numbers of the Franchised Business and all related telephone directory listings and other business listings, and all internet listings…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Item 11

conduct inspections of your Franchised Business, at the frequency and duration that we deem advisable.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 17

Modification of the agreement Sections 9.4, 14.6 No oral modifications generally, but we 19.1.4 and 21.4 may change the Operations Manual and System standards at any time.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Franchise agreement

No site may be used for the location of the Franchised Business unless it is consented to in writing by Franchisor.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall not establish any website or other listing on the internet except as provided and specifically permitted herein.

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

We require you to spend at least $500 to $5,000 on opening advertising and promotional activities 30 days prior to and within the first 30 days following the opening of your Franchised Business.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

Thereafter you are required to spend a minimum of $5,000 annually on local marketing.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Accept and honor all loyalty cards, promotional coupons, or other System-wide offers, on a uniform basis, as accepted by other franchisees in the System.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You will be required to purchase all equipment, supplies and services from our designated suppliers and contractors or in accordance with our specifications as provided from time to time, unless we permit otherwise as further discussed below.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Item 8

You will be required to purchase all equipment, supplies and services from our designated suppliers and contractors or in accordance with our specifications as provided from time to time, unless we permit otherwise as further discussed below.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that Customer Payments shall be made through centralized payment processing systems maintained by Franchisor or Franchisor’s affiliate.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

At Franchisor’s request, Franchisee must execute documents that allow Franchisor to automatically take any sums due Franchisor, from business bank accounts via electronic funds transfers.

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee shall designate and retain at all times a general manager (“General Manager”) to direct the operation and management of the Franchised Business premises.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must purchase and use the point-of-sale system (“POS System”) we specify, and have the latest versions of hardware, software and applications to operate the POS System.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

The POS System allows us to independently and remotely access all of your sales data, including your Gross Revenue, through the internet.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 6

Remedial Training $600 per trainer, plus As incurred We may impose this fee, Fee our actual travel and payable to us, if you request living expenses. additional training at your premises from time to time, or if you are operating below our standards and we require you to have additional training.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 11

If we require it, you must attend mandatory training programs and/or an annual conference or national business meeting for up to five days each year, at a location we designate.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?Item 8
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?Franchise agreement
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Green Motion

Green Motion Car and Van Rental operates a compact US footprint of 6 locations, all company-owned as of the 2025 FDD. No franchised units are disclosed, and year-over-year unit growth is not reported. For software vendors, this means the total addressable market is small—just 6 outlets—but concentrated entirely under corporate control. There is no fragmented franchisee base to sell into; a single HQ relationship covers the entire system.

Average unit volume (AUV) is not disclosed in the FDD, so sizing revenue potential per location requires external estimates. The royalty rate is 6.0%, and the initial franchise term is 10 years. With no franchised expansion mapped and no parent company on file, Green Motion appears to be an independently owned, tightly held operation.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD Item 1 lists five executives at headquarters: Richard Lowden (Chief Executive Officer), Chay Lowden (Chief Product Officer), Naomi Suzuki (Chief Operating Officer), Brenda Azua (Chief Americas Officer), and Richard Bowden (Chief Commercial Officer). For a software vendor, the most direct path is through the Chief Product Officer, Chay Lowden, whose title suggests ownership of technology and operational tools. The CEO and COO are also likely involved in any enterprise-level purchasing decision given the small size of the organization.

There is no field operations layer or franchisee association to navigate. All purchasing authority sits at HQ, making this a straightforward—if narrow—sales target.

Mandated and current tech stack

The only technology mandate disclosed in the 2025 FDD is a reservation system. The specific vendor is not named, leaving open the possibility that the system is proprietary or that the franchisor has chosen not to disclose the provider. No POS, fleet management, telematics, or other operational software is mentioned as mandated or recommended.

For vendors selling complementary or replacement tools—such as fleet maintenance, customer relationship management, or digital check-in—this represents a greenfield opportunity, but one that must be validated through direct discovery. The absence of named vendors in the FDD means the current stack is largely unknown from public filings alone.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement obligations and designated suppliers, contains no extract in our corpus. This means the formal procurement model—whether Green Motion requires franchisees (if any existed) to buy from designated suppliers, approved suppliers, or allows open purchasing—is not publicly disclosed.

Renewal conditions, detailed in Item 17, are stringent. A franchisee in good standing may sign a successor agreement for one additional 10-year term, provided they have no more than three defaults during the current term, give six months’ written notice, pay a successor fee, upgrade equipment to then-current specifications, execute a general release, and complete additional training. The franchisor also reserves the right to decline renewal if it withdraws from the geographic area. Critically, the successor agreement may contain materially different terms.

For software vendors, these renewal triggers are less relevant given the all-corporate structure. Instead, the sales cycle is tied to HQ’s internal budgeting and technology refresh cycles, which are not disclosed in the FDD.

How to read the Green Motion FDD

The full 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and operational disclosures required under the FTC Franchise Rule. For software vendors, the most useful sections are Item 1 (executives), Item 11 (franchisor’s obligations and mandated technology), and Item 17 (renewal and transfer conditions). Item 8, if available in a future filing, would clarify procurement rules. Use the FDD to confirm the decision-maker names and any technology mandates before building a pitch.

For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

Green Motion Car and Van Rental, answered from the filing

The 2025 FDD lists Richard Lowden (CEO), Chay Lowden (Chief Product Officer), and Naomi Suzuki (COO) as key executives. The Chief Product Officer is the most likely software buyer.
The FDD mandates a reservation system. No specific vendor is named, and no other operational or POS technology is disclosed as mandated.
The 2025 FDD reports 6 total units, all company-owned. No franchised units are disclosed, and no operator footprint is mapped in our corpus.
The 2025 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract. The procurement model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—is not disclosed.
Franchise agreements run 10 years, with a single 10-year renewal possible if strict conditions are met. With only 6 company-owned units and no franchised growth disclosed, contract windows are likely infrequent and tied to HQ-driven refresh cycles.
The 2025 FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can read it directly in the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Green Motion Car and Van Rental2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Green Motion Car and Van Rental files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

No franchisee network yet. Green Motion Car and Van Rental’s latest FDD reports no franchised locations.

Ownership

The portfolio behind Green Motion Car and Van Rental

unknown of green motion of america.

Related Automotive services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.