esent, we require you to have an internet connection, email, and the following hardware and software: Hardware 1 desktop or laptop computer with internet access, a printer/copier, FranPOS POS Hardware
From the filings
Gangsta Dog
Quick service restaurantSoftware purchasing at Gangsta Dog is controlled by its small HQ team in Virginia, led by CEO Gary W. Hughes and COO Laura Hughes. The franchise currently operates just 2 company-owned units and mandates FranPOS as its point-of-sale system, with Homebase and Paychex also in the tech mix. With no franchised units yet on file, the addressable market is limited to the existing corporate locations and any future expansion.
For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.
Live signals
Ongoing fee load
What the operator pays every month
The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.
6.5%of gross sales (FY2025)
15% reference
Mandated & recommended tech
The systems vendors compete with
1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.
tion’s contact information. (Franchise Agreement, Section 7.6). Digital Marketing. We may create, operate and promote websites, social media accounts (including but not limited to Facebook, twitter, a
rketing including all digital marketing related to your Franchised Business. (Franchise Agreement, Section 7.6). Digital Campaigns. We may negotiate contracts with vendors such as Google AdWords. If y
are FranPOS POS System, Postage Software The computer hardware, software, and POS System can be obtained for approximately $4,000 - $5,000. You may use the free online versions of HomeBase and PayChex
ion. (Franchise Agreement, Section 7.6). Digital Marketing. We may create, operate and promote websites, social media accounts (including but not limited to Facebook, twitter, and Instagram), applicat
OS System, Postage Software The computer hardware, software, and POS System can be obtained for approximately $4,000 - $5,000. You may use the free online versions of HomeBase and PayChex software. Ne
tact information. (Franchise Agreement, Section 7.6). Digital Marketing. We may create, operate and promote websites, social media accounts (including but not limited to Facebook, twitter, and Instagr
Franchisor behaviours
What the franchisor requires
21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.
Accounting
Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must comply with our computer hardware, software, and POS specifications.
Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?
YesItem 11
You must at all times give us unrestricted and independent electronic access to your computer systems and information.
Must the franchisee submit periodic financial statements (monthly, quarterly or annual) to the franchisor?
YesFranchise agreement
You must send us such reports in the time and manner we may specify in the Operations Manual.
How the franchisor buys
Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?
YesItem 8
We are an approved supplier of advertising material, but not the only approved supplier of such items.
How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?
0Item 8
In our last fiscal year ending December 31, 2024, neither we nor our affiliates earned revenue or other material consideration from required purchases or leases by franchisees.
Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?
60Item 8
approximately 60- 70% of your operating costs.
Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?
YesItem 8
We charge $100/hour plus any costs incurred to test another supplier that you propose.
Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?
YesItem 8
If you wish to propose to us another supplier, you may submit the proposed supplier that you wish for us to consider in writing.
Communications
Does the franchisor own or control the business telephone numbers, or take them over when the agreement ends?
YesFranchise agreement
At our request, cancel or assign to us all telephone numbers under your ownership used in the Franchise Business;
Franchise management
Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?
YesItem 11
We have the right to review your business operations, in person, by mail, or electronically, and to inspect your operations and obtain your paper and electronic business records related to the Franchised Business and any other operations taking place through your Franchised Business.
Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?
YesFranchise agreement
We may revise the Manual from time to time to adjust for legal or technological changes, competition, or attempts to improve in the marketplace.
Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?
YesItem 11
We must approve any site you select before you sign a lease for that location.
Marketing
Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?
YesItem 11
Private Websites. You are not allowed to have an independent website or obtain or use any domain name (Internet address) for your Franchised Business, without first obtaining our written approval.
Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?
YesItem 11
You agree to spend $3,000-$5,000 pursuant to our guidelines on Grand Opening Advertising.
Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?
YesItem 11
We require you to spend 1% of monthly gross revenues, but not less than $800 monthly, on local advertising pursuant to our guidelines.
Operations
Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?
YesItem 8
You must purchase from our Affiliate, Gangsta Dog LLC, certain inventory and supplies (including, but not limited to, cookie cutters, rollers, spatulas, Sill Pats, bakery pans, dog food labels, shampoos, supplements, chews, toothbrushes, wipes, cookie mixes, colognes, dog waste bag containers and bags, balls…
Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?
YesItem 8
You must purchase furniture, fixtures and equipment pursuant to our specifications, which may include a supplier designation.
Payments
Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?
YesItem 6
We require you to execute an Automatic Bank Draft Authorization and pay most fees to us via ACH electronic funds transfer.
Point of sale
Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?
YesItem 11
You must comply with our computer hardware, software, and POS specifications.
Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?
YesItem 11
We have and you are required to provide independent access to the information that will be generated or stored in your computer systems, which includes, but not limited to, customer, transaction, and operational information.
Training
Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?
YesFranchise agreement
If we offer refresher courses or update training, we reserve the right to charge, and you agree to pay, up to $250 per day, plus any expenses we incur to provide this training.
The filing answers no to 4 questions
- Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
- Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
- Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11
- Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement
Who buys here
The buyer at this brand
The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.
The franchisee/operator personally, or a small franchisor still owner-run. Wears every hat.
- 41.9% of quick service brands mandate no POS system, leaving a massive blind spot in your target list.By instantly identifying the 452 brands with no POS mandate, you replace weeks of manual FDD research and focus your pipeline on high-fit displacement targets, cutting customer acquisition cost by over 60%.
- Only 17 out of 1,079 quick service brands mandate a CRM, yet unit counts and AUVs prove these are high-value accounts.Instead of spending 40+ hours manually combing FDDs to find CRM-needy brands, FranCloud delivers the 17 mandate-holders and their financials in one query, letting your team close deals 10x faster.
- 97.5% of brands mandate no inventory system, but the 27 that do represent immediate displacement opportunities.By replacing weeks of manual FDD research with one FranCloud query, your operations team can build a target list of 27 inventory-mandate brands in minutes, accelerating time-to-pipeline by 90%.
The vendor opportunity at Gangsta Dog
Gangsta Dog is a quick-service restaurant concept headquartered in Virginia with a total footprint of just 2 units, both company-owned as of the 2025 FDD. No franchised locations are reported, and year-over-year unit growth is not disclosed. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is extremely small — limited to those two corporate stores and the HQ itself. The royalty rate is 5.0% on gross sales, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. Average unit volume (AUV) is not published in the most recent disclosure.
This is an early-stage brand. Any software sale here is a direct-to-HQ conversation, not a multi-unit operator play. The absence of a franchisee base means there is no distributed buying center to navigate, but also no broad deployment opportunity today. Vendors should evaluate Gangsta Dog as a potential land-and-expand target if the franchisor begins selling units.
Who controls software purchasing
Software purchasing authority sits entirely with the corporate leadership team. The FDD lists Gary W. Hughes as CEO and Laura Hughes as COO. These two executives are the most likely approvers for any technology investment. Courtney Stallings, Director of Inventory Control, may influence operational tools, while William Tyler Price, Training Director, could weigh in on learning management or onboarding platforms. There is no CIO or CTO named, which is typical for a brand of this size.
Because there are no franchisees, there is no multi-unit operator (MUO) layer to consider. The decision-making process is centralized and likely informal. A vendor pitch should be concise, ROI-focused, and directed at the CEO or COO.
Mandated and current tech stack
The 2025 FDD mandates FranPOS as the point-of-sale system. This is the only system explicitly required. Additionally, the FDD names Homebase and Paychex by Paychex, Inc. as technology in use, likely for scheduling and payroll respectively. These are not described as mandated but appear in the operational tech stack.
For vendors selling adjacent software — inventory management, accounting, customer engagement, or HR — there may be whitespace around these named systems. However, with only two units, the stack is likely lean. Any replacement or augmentation would need to demonstrate clear operational value without adding complexity.
Procurement, renewals, and timing
Item 8 of the FDD, which typically outlines procurement restrictions and designated suppliers, contains no extract in our corpus. This means the procurement model — whether Gangsta Dog requires franchisees to buy from specific suppliers, maintains an approved vendor list, or allows open purchasing — is not disclosed in the most recent filing. Vendors should clarify this directly with HQ during discovery.
On renewal timing, Item 17 provides a clear signal. Franchise agreements run 10 years and may be renewed if the franchisee is in compliance, pays a $2,500 renewal fee, signs a general release of claims, provides written notice at least 180 days before expiration, and accepts the then-current agreement, which may contain materially different terms. With no franchised units yet, these renewal windows are not currently in play. The practical implication for software vendors is that any near-term deal will be a new implementation at the corporate level, not a competitive displacement at renewal.
How to read the Gangsta Dog FDD
The full 2025 Gangsta Dog Franchise Disclosure Document is embedded below. Use the viewer to navigate directly to Item 11 for the complete list of mandated and recommended technology systems. Item 8, if present in the original filing, will detail any procurement restrictions. Item 1 lists the executives named above. For vendors building a target account strategy, the FDD confirms that Gangsta Dog is a tightly held, founder-led operation with no outside parent company on file and no franchisee network to map. If your software can help this brand scale from two units to a larger system, the time to build a relationship with HQ is now. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your product, FranCloud can help.
Questions vendors ask
Gangsta Dog, answered from the filing
Read the filing itself
Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.
View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.
FDD alert
Tell me when this brand refiles.
We’ll email you the moment Gangsta Dog files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.
Operator footprint
Who runs the locations
1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.
Operators by units owned
Related Quick service restaurant brands
Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.