From the filings

Mandated tech stackHQ-led decisions

Foundation Franchising

Retail non food

Software purchasing decisions at Foundation Franchising are directed from the headquarters level, where a mandated Management and Technology System governs operations. The brand currently operates a small, fully company-owned footprint of 3 units, generating an average unit volume of $659,239.67. For vendors, this represents a concentrated, high-value account with a single buying center.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
3
0 franchised
Unit growth YoY
vs prior filing
AUV
$659K
Item 19, 2024
Royalty
5%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$175K–$383K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

6%of gross sales (FY2025)

Ongoing fees: 6% of gross sales (FY2025)Royalty 5%, Ad fund 1%. Total 6% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 5%Ad fund 1%

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

25 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 5 explicit no's; 4 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees to record all of its receipts, expenses, invoices, member lists, class and employee schedules and other business information promptly in the computer system and use the software that Franchisor specifies or otherwise approves.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

You, at all times, must give us unrestricted and independent electronic access (including users IDs and passwords, if necessary) to the Management and Technology System for the purposes of obtaining the information relating to the Franchised Business.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor, or an affiliate of Franchisor, may be a designated or approved supplier of certain furniture, fixtures, equipment and supplies.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to designate ourselves or our affiliates as approved suppliers at any time.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

85

Item 8

85% to 90% of the total cost to purchase and lease equipment, inventory, and other items to operate a Franchised Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 6

Alternative Supplier $100 per product On demand If you ask us to evaluate Evaluation Fee evaluation any unapproved product or supplier for use in your Franchised Business, you must pay us our costs of performing such evaluation regardless of outcome.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you would like to offer products or use any supplies, Operating Assets, or services that we have not approved or to purchase or lease from a supplier or service provider that we have not approved, you must submit a written request for approval and provide us with any information that we request.

Data and IT

Must the franchisee comply with PCI, data-security or cybersecurity standards set by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You also must comply with all laws and payment card provider standards relating to the security of the Management and Technology System, including, without limitation, the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standards.

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisor reserves the right to supervise, determine and approve the standards of appearance, quality and service pertinent to the Franchised Business including, without limitation, the right at any reasonable time and without prior notice to Franchisee to: (1) inspect and examine the business premises, equipment…

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee acknowledges that Franchisor may from time to time revise its Systems as well as the contents of the Manual, and Franchisee agrees to comply with each new or changed standard and specification upon notice from Franchisor.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

Before opening, you must obtain our written approval for the Approved Location and lease.

Marketing

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must spend a minimum of Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000) in connection with the grand opening and initial launch marketing of the Franchised Business around the time the Franchised Business opens, as reasonably directed by Franchisor (the “Grand Opening Advertising Spend”).

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee must expend at least Five Hundred Dollars ($500) per month on approved local advertising and marketing activities designed to promote the Franchised Business within the Designated Territory.

Must the franchisee participate in a customer loyalty or rewards program?

Yes

Item 11

You must, at your expense, participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift certificate, gift card, stored value card, customer loyalty or customer retention program (e.g., customer e-mail program), and membership program that we or our affiliates implement

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee agrees that certain supplements, inventory, and food products must be purchased exclusively from approved suppliers and must be maintained according to Franchisor specifications, as applicable.

Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Equipment, furnishings, fixtures, surveillance cameras with audio, decor and signs for the Franchised Business shall be purchased from suppliers approved or designated by Franchisor.

Payments

Must the franchisee use a payment processor or merchant-services provider designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

We may require you to purchase merchant processing services from us, our affiliates, or an approved vendor we select.

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

The Royalty Fee, Technology Fee, and Brand Fund Contribution, as well as any other fees Francisor may designate from time to time in connection with the Franchised Business, will be automatically debited from Franchisee’s point-of-sale operating account administered by the designated supplier of point-of-sale…

Must the franchisee participate in a gift card program?

Yes

Item 11

You must, at your expense, participate in, and comply with the requirements of, any gift certificate, gift card, stored value card, customer loyalty or customer retention program (e.g., customer e-mail program), and membership program that we or our affiliates implement

People

Does the franchisor require minimum staffing levels or specific roles?

Yes

Item 15

If you or your Operating Principal do not participate in the day-to-day operation of the Franchised Business, you will need a Key Manager to be responsible for the direct on-premises supervision of the Franchised Business at all times during the hours of operation.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

Franchisee is required to use only the POS system provided by the designated supplier and will pay the designated provider directly for all fees associated with the use of the designated provider’s software.

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

You, at all times, must give us unrestricted and independent electronic access (including users IDs and passwords, if necessary) to the Management and Technology System for the purposes of obtaining the information relating to the Franchised Business.

Sales and CRM

Must the franchisee use a CRM system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 11

You must obtain, maintain, and use the hardware, software, other equipment, and network connections that we specify periodically in the Manuals necessary to operate our customer relationship management system and other technology systems that we designate (collectively, the “Management and Technology System”).

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Item 11

We reserve the right to require you to pay our then-current cost for the training in addition to all expenses your trainees incur while attending refresher training, including travel, lodging, meals, and wages.

Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?

Yes

Item 6

If we organize a convention for franchisees and your Operating Principal is required to attend and you must pay our then-current Convention Fee for each attendee, even if you choose not to attend.

The filing answers no to 5 questions
  • Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?Item 11
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Item 11
  • Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?Item 13
  • Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?Item 11

The vendor opportunity at Foundation Franchising

Foundation Franchising is a retail non-food concept headquartered in Delaware. According to its 2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, the system consists of just 3 units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised locations is not disclosed, which may indicate the brand is in a very early stage of franchising or operates primarily through corporate stores. For software vendors, the immediate addressable market is small but concentrated: 3 locations generating an average unit volume of $659,239.67. The royalty rate is set at 5.0%, though the initial term length is not disclosed in the most recent FDD. Year-over-year unit growth data is also unavailable. Despite the small footprint, the presence of a mandated technology system signals a centralized, process-driven operation where a single software sale could cover the entire brand.

Who controls software purchasing

The 2025 FDD identifies two executives at the headquarters level: Anthony Bisignano, holding the title of Chief Operations Office, and Matthew Carroll, serving as Director of Marketing. In a system of this size with a mandated technology stack, the operations function typically owns the vendor evaluation and purchasing process. Bisignano is the most likely point of contact for an initial pitch. No parent company is listed, and the brand appears to be independently owned. The operator footprint in our corpus shows no additional multi-unit operators mapped, reinforcing that all purchasing authority is consolidated at the Delaware HQ.

Mandated and current tech stack

Item 11 of the FDD confirms that Foundation Franchising mandates a Management and Technology System. The specific vendor or platform name is not disclosed in the filing. This is a critical gap for any vendor to investigate during discovery. The mandate means that whatever system is in place has franchisor-level buy-in and is required for all units. A vendor pitching a replacement or complementary tool must be prepared to demonstrate clear superiority over the incumbent, whose identity must be uncovered through direct conversation with the operations team.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not provide an extract from Item 8 regarding procurement restrictions or designated suppliers. Similarly, Item 17 renewal terms are not disclosed. Without visibility into the initial franchise term or renewal windows, it is impossible to map a predictable contract cycle. The absence of this data means vendors must rely on proactive outreach to the HQ executives to understand when the current tech agreements might be up for review. The small unit count suggests that any software contract is likely a single, enterprise-level agreement rather than a fragmented set of location-by-location deals.

How to read the Foundation Franchising FDD

The Foundation Franchising 2025 FDD is the primary source for the data points above. It was filed with state franchise regulators and contains the legal and operational disclosures required for franchise sales. For a software vendor, the most relevant sections are Item 11 (the mandated tech system), Item 1 (the executives and ownership structure), and Item 19 (financial performance, which gives the AUV cited here). The full document is embedded below for your review. When you are ready to build a ranked list of franchise targets, FranCloud can help you prioritize systems based on tech mandates, decision-maker signals, and unit economics.

Questions vendors ask

Foundation Franchising, answered from the filing

The FDD lists Anthony Bisignano (Chief Operations Office) and Matthew Carroll (Director of Marketing) as key executives. Given the mandated tech system, purchasing authority likely sits with operations leadership at the Delaware HQ.
The 2025 FDD mandates a 'Management and Technology System' for all units. The specific vendor or platform name is not disclosed in the filing, requiring direct discovery during a pitch.
The system consists of 3 total units, all of which are company-owned. The number of franchised units is not disclosed, suggesting the brand may be in a pre-franchise or early growth phase.
The FDD does not contain an extract detailing whether suppliers are designated, approved, or open. The procurement structure is not disclosed in the most recent filing.
The initial franchise term and renewal signals are not disclosed in the 2025 FDD. Without term data or recent activity markers, contract windows are unpredictable and require direct outreach to the HQ team.
The Foundation Franchising FDD was filed with state franchise regulators in 2025. You can review the full document using the embedded PDF viewer below.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

Foundation Franchising2025 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment Foundation Franchising files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

WI1

Related Retail non food brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.