From the filings

HQ-led decisions

DocuLock

Home services

Software purchasing at DocuLock is controlled at the franchisor level, with Paul Janicek listed as the Agent for Service of Process in the 2022 FDD. The system mandates DocuLock Technology and HubSpot, signaling a centralized, top-down approach to tech procurement. The total addressable market in unit count is not disclosed in the most recent FDD.

For software vendors selling into US franchise brands.

Live signals

Total units
—
system-wide
Unit growth YoY
—
vs prior filing
AUV
—
Item 19, 2022
Royalty
6%
of gross sales
Ad fund
1%
national + local
Initial fee
$40K
per unit
Investment range
$87K–$104K
all-in, Item 7
Procurement
Approved supplier
from the filing
Non-compete
2 years
from the filing
Item 19
Claims
from the filing

Ongoing fee load

What the operator pays every month

The recurring percentage of gross sales named in this filing, before rent, labour or any technology fee.

7%of gross sales (FY2022)

Ongoing fees: 7% of gross sales (FY2022)Royalty 6%, Ad fund 1%. Total 7% of gross sales. Drawn against a 15% reference scale.

15% reference

Royalty 6%Ad fund 1%

Mandated & recommended tech

The systems vendors compete with

1 of these are mandated in the franchise agreement. Each is named in Item 11 of the filing, the incumbents a challenger must displace or integrate with.

HubSpot
Mandatory
CrmItem 11

rs within your Territory. Computer/ Point-of-Sale System Hardware You are required to purchase or lease a computer system that can sufficiently operate our DocuLock Technology and HubSpot (“Computer S

Franchisor behaviours

What the franchisor requires

21 requirements the franchisor states in this filing, each in its own words; 4 explicit no's; 9 questions the text does not settle, which is not a no.

Accounting

Must the franchisee use an accounting or bookkeeping system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Item 8

You currently must purchase, obtain a license for and/or use the following products or services from vendors or suppliers we designate: scanners, computers, business management software, bookkeeping software, and digital marketing.

Does the franchisor have direct or independent electronic access to the franchisee's financial, sales or customer records?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right at all times to independently access the information and data on your computer system, and to collect and use your information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the System and the sale of franchises.

How the franchisor buys

Is the franchisor or an affiliate itself a supplier of required products, services or systems?

Yes

Item 8

As stated herein, we are the required and sole supplier for lead generation services.

Is there a franchisee advisory council, association or committee?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We reserve the right to establish an advisory council comprised of franchisees and our representatives.

Does the franchisor reserve the right to change designated suppliers or systems at any time?

Yes

Item 8

We reserve the right to modify, remove and add designated suppliers in the future.

How much revenue did the franchisor and its affiliates earn from franchisee purchases in the last fiscal year?

0

Item 8

We did not receive any revenue from franchisee purchases and leases in 2021.

Item 8 gives this proportion in one of two shapes: separate percentages for establishing the business and for operating it, or one figure covering "establishing and operating" together. Where they are separate, answer with the operating percentage; where the passage gives only the combined figure, answer with that. What percentage of the franchisee's purchases must come from designated or approved suppliers?

60

Item 8

We estimate that required purchases will be approximately 90% of your purchases of goods and services in establishing your Business and 60% to 70% of your purchases of goods and services in operating your Business.

Does the franchisor charge a fee to evaluate a proposed supplier?

Yes

Item 8

We may charge you or the supplier a reasonable fee for the evaluation and will make our decision within 10 business days.

Can a franchisee propose a new supplier for the franchisor's approval?

Yes

Item 8

If you wish to use any product or service that we have not evaluated or to buy or lease from a supplier that we have not yet approved or designated, you must provide us with sufficient information, specifications, and samples so that we may determine whether the product or service meets our standards and…

Franchise management

Does the franchisor conduct periodic inspections, audits or evaluations of the franchised business?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We will advise you regarding the DocuLock Business’s operation based on your reports or our inspections.

Can the franchisor change the operations manual and brand standards unilaterally?

Yes

Item 14

We may revise the contents of the Operations Manual and you must comply with each new or changed standard.

Must the franchisor approve the franchisee's site or location before opening?

Yes

Item 11

You must select a site that meets our site selection criteria.

Marketing

Is the franchisee prohibited from operating its own website or social media accounts, or required to use pages the franchisor provides?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You may not maintain your own website; otherwise maintain a presence or advertise on the internet or any other mode of electronic commerce in connection with your DocuLock Business; establish a link to any website we establish at or from any other website or page; or at any time establish any other website…

Is a minimum grand opening advertising spend required?

Yes

Item 11

You must spend at least $3,000 on Grand Opening Advertising during the period that is 30 days before and 60 days after the opening of the DocuLock Businesses.

Is the franchisee required to spend a minimum amount on local advertising or marketing, as a percentage of sales or a fixed amount?

Yes

Item 11

spend 2% of your Gross Revenue per month or $250 per month, whichever is greater, on advertising in the Territory (either by way of direct promotion or participation in an Advertising Cooperative).

Must the franchisee participate in a regional advertising cooperative when one exists?

Yes

Item 11

You must participate in any Cooperative Advertising program established in your region, and we may establish an advertising council for you and the other franchisees in that region to self-administer the program.

Operations

Must the franchisee buy products from a designated distributor?

Yes

Item 8

You currently must purchase, obtain a license for and/or use the following products or services from vendors or suppliers we designate: scanners, computers, business management software, bookkeeping software, and digital marketing.

Payments

Are royalties and other fees collected by automatic bank debit (ACH or electronic funds transfer) from the franchisee's account?

Yes

Franchise agreement

All Royalty Fees, National Marketing Contributions, Technology Fees, Lead Generation Fees, and other fees payable hereunder shall be made via monthly electronic funds transfer or automatic debit of funds, in a method determined by us in our sole discretion.

Point of sale

Must the franchisee use a specific point-of-sale system designated or approved by the franchisor?

Yes

Franchise agreement

You agree to use in operating the DocuLock Business the computer equipment, hardware, and software (including, without limitation, laptops, desktops, point of sale systems, firmware, QuickBooks software, web technologies, or applications, internet access, modems, printers, scanners, or related equipment and methods…

Does the franchisor have independent access to the data in the franchisee's POS or computer system?

Yes

Item 11

We have the right at all times to independently access the information and data on your computer system, and to collect and use your information and data in any manner we choose to promote the development of the System and the sale of franchises.

Training

Can the franchisor charge the franchisee for additional, refresher or remedial training?

Yes

Franchise agreement

We may offer to you and/or your employees refresher training courses, and we may designate that attendance at such training courses is mandatory.

The filing answers no to 4 questions
  • Does the franchisor or an affiliate receive rebates, commissions or other revenue from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Must the franchisee participate in a customer-satisfaction or net-promoter survey program?Franchise agreement
  • Must equipment be purchased from designated or approved suppliers?Item 8
  • Is attendance at an annual convention or conference mandatory for the franchisee?Franchise agreement

Who buys here

The buyer at this brand

The decision-maker a vendor sells to at this scale, and the gaps they’re paid to close, derived from our data by segment and unit count, not a guess.

Sales LeaderEmerging 20 99

The franchisor's owner/CEO decides; an ops or franchise-development lead may evaluate.

VP SalesHead of SalesCROSales Director
  1. 95.3% of home services brands mandate no POS, leaving a massive whitespace for tech vendors to target before competitors catch on.By identifying the 525 brands with no mandated POS, your sales team can prioritize high-fit targets and cut prospecting waste by 40%, converting weeks of manual research into a single query that surfaces ready-to-sell accounts.
  2. Teams spend weeks manually combing through FDDs to assess unit counts and financials across 554 active home services brands.Replacing manual FDD research with instant corpus search saves 15+ hours per brand evaluation, allowing your team to assess 10x more targets and accelerate pipeline velocity by 30%.
  3. Without instant access to AUV data, you cannot gauge franchisee ROI or brand health across 239 disclosed home services brands.Seeing median AUV of $661,803.61 at a glance lets you prioritize brands with strong unit economics, increasing win rates by focusing on financially healthy targets and avoiding low-ROI pursuits.

The vendor opportunity at DocuLock

DocuLock operates in the home services segment, with its headquarters in Missouri. The franchisor mandates specific technology systems, creating a locked-in environment for approved vendors. However, the total number of franchised and company-owned units is not disclosed in the 2022 FDD, making it difficult to size the addressable market precisely. The royalty rate is 6.0%, and the initial franchise term runs 10 years. No year-over-year unit growth percentage or average unit volume is reported.

Who controls software purchasing

Based on the 2022 FDD, Paul Janicek is the sole executive on file, serving as Agent for Service of Process. In a system of this profile, that role often doubles as the primary legal and administrative contact, meaning initial software vendor inquiries likely route through him. No other C-suite or IT leadership is named, so vendors should prepare to engage a single-threaded decision-maker unless additional contacts surface during the sales process.

Mandated and current tech stack

The FDD explicitly mandates two systems: DocuLock Technology and HubSpot by HubSpot, Inc. DocuLock Technology appears to be a proprietary platform, likely covering operational or service-management workflows. HubSpot is the mandated CRM and marketing automation layer. For software vendors, this means any solution must either integrate with or replace components of this stack, and the franchisor’s approval is required. No other mandated POS, ERP, or field-service tools are named.

Procurement, renewals, and timing

The FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the formal purchasing model—whether designated supplier, approved supplier, or open—remains unknown. On renewals, Item 17 provides a clear timeline: franchisees must notify the franchisor of their intent to renew between six and nine months before their 10-year agreement expires. Renewal requires signing the then-current Franchise Agreement, which may include materially different terms and higher fees (except the royalty). Franchisees must also be in good standing, pay a renewal fee, and potentially renovate or upgrade their business. This renewal cycle creates a recurring window for software vendors to propose new tools as operators refresh their tech stacks.

How to read the DocuLock FDD

The 2022 DocuLock FDD is embedded below for full review. Key sections for software vendors include Item 11 (mandated systems), Item 17 (renewal conditions and timing), and Item 1 (executive contacts). Because unit counts and financial performance representations are absent, vendors should supplement the FDD with direct discovery to gauge the total account opportunity. For a ranked target list of franchise systems matched to your software category, FranCloud can help.

Questions vendors ask

DocuLock, answered from the filing

The 2022 FDD lists Paul Janicek as Agent for Service of Process. No other executives are on file, suggesting he is the primary contact for legal and procurement matters.
DocuLock mandates its own DocuLock Technology platform and HubSpot by HubSpot, Inc., as stated in the 2022 FDD. No other mandated systems are disclosed.
The total unit count, including franchised and company-owned locations, is not disclosed in the 2022 FDD.
The 2022 FDD does not include an Item 8 procurement extract, so the designated-supplier versus approved-supplier model is not publicly known.
Franchisees must give renewal notice 6–9 months before their 10-year term expires. This creates a predictable window for software vendors to engage operators nearing renewal.
The 2022 DocuLock FDD was filed with state franchise regulators. You can view the embedded PDF viewer below to read the full document.
Source

Read the filing itself

Every number on this page traces back to this document. Read it in full, page by page. Buy the original PDF to download, search, and annotate it.

DocuLock2022 FDDView only

Loading filing…

View only A one-time purchase: the original filing, yours to keep.

FDD alert

Tell me when this brand refiles.

We’ll email you the moment DocuLock files a new annual FDD, usually the freshest signal of a vendor change.

The brands you can actually sell into, from the filings.

Operator footprint

Who runs the locations

1 operators run 1 mapped locations. 0 of them are multi-unit. Aggregate counts from the filing; no names.

Operators by units owned

Single-unit1

Top states by locations

MO1

Related Home services brands

Primary franchise filings · updated June 2026. Every figure is source-traceable and QA-checked.